We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!”
Review of Domus Ester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Ester
Ranked #886 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great location, very nice staff, clean rooms, silence.
Breakfast was too small for all day sightseing but restaurant at the bottom is very very good.
Price adequate to hotel!
if you go visit Rome you should choose this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lusdpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

A little gem in the heart of Rome, I was so pleased i found this little place, it is bookmarked for future trips. the hotel is a 10 min walk from the bus stops at Largo Argentina, walk down Via Arenula then right at Via Degli Specchi Campo San Salvatore is on the left, look for the brass sign of the hotel. The room was average size, larger than I imagined very basic but clean, bathroom small but also spotless.

Staff very friendly, breakfst is delivered to the room on time, basic but nice coffee, and service with a smile.

For the price paid the Domus Ester was perfect for me in the heart of Rome, will certainly stay again

Campo dei Fiori is a 5 minute walk, visiting the early morning market is a must

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Domus Ester is in the heart of historical Rome.When you arrive and see the facade you're shocked cause it really needs a makeover but then observing certain near buildings are all like that.When we went up a couple of stairways,it was another story.We were greeted by Ovidio,a very nice and helpful person and speaks quite good english.We checked in at 1.30 an the room was really clean,brillaint white linen and towels.The room was quite big,a desk,a television showing italian and english channels.Then there is a small refrigerator which was a God send cause Rome was so warm and we used to keep some things to find cool on our return.The room was fully airconditioned with no views.The bathroom was not big but a good size.The towels were changed everyday and being there for 8 days they even changed the linen.The breakfast was in the room from 7.30-10.00.and book any time you like.The breakfast was basic.A crossant,a big piece of bread,jam,nutella butter,orange juice and choose either tea or coffee.The staff are all very friendly and willing to help.There was Mary and the nice guy who does the night shifts cause the reception is always open.Hotel is in a very safe area and very good position for visiting Rome on foot.It's near Palazzo Farnese,Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona.Despar supermarket just around the corner.Very quiet area,no tram sounds and no siren sounds cause in Rome very common!

Room Tip: Domus Ester is a very clean bed and breakfast.Our room was big,quiet,airconditioned,clean and good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MalteseGudjaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great location however room was very small, considering what we paid compared to other places we stayed on our 7 week holiday, but reasonable for Roma. Taxi driver could not find place, but we did find it for him. No lift so vitial you have staff take your bags up, as my wife would not carry bags up 3 flights of stairs to Hotel. Staff very friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Pack light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xpisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

It seems a shame to condemn this hostel, because it is probably similar to many others in the heart of Rome, but there is a price to pay for such a central location. If you are claustrophobic, I would think about staying in a hotel outside of Rome and getting the train in every day. The rooms are small and I mean small. The bathroom was biggish with a bath and well stocked with freebies and the rooms were immaculately clean - you can't fault them for that. The landlady was very friendly and spoke better English than many Londoners. So if you can bear to have the walls coming in on you, its a great place to stop. Certainly for the price, you won't find better.

Room Tip: We booked the triple room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Small hotel located on the 2nd and 3rd floor of an old building in a quiet alley, in convenient walking distance of the river, Trastevere, the big shopping streets, and all the historic squares and cultural heritage sites. Taxi driver found the street without problems, there is a big brass plaque on the door with the name Domus Ester, and as the reception staff has the front door under video surveillance, he/she will buzz the front door open for you the minute you have arrived. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Top quality beds. Freshly brewed coffee and tea, warm rolls, slices of rustic fresh bread, butter and jam brought to your room every morning. Lots of space for clothes. Very small bathroom but nice and clean, with everything working perfectly. Only minus as I see it is the lack of a lounge and bar for a night cap, but then there are loads of cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood where you may hang out with your friends instead - or you may shop at the Spar supermarket just around the corner and bring the stuff to your room and store it in the mini fridge. At the price of EUR 110 for a double room in the heart of Rome at the beginning of the high season, this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vidosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Domus Ester is a small hotel in the center of Old Rome. We paid 60EUR a night for a double ensuite. The staff, especially Monica and Fakir were very helpful. If you call ask if the larger rooms are available. The rate included an typical Italian breakfast delivered to your room at your designated time. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#656 of 1,269 in Rome
491 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#981 of 1,269 in Rome
334 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#419 of 1,269 in Rome
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#525 of 1,269 in Rome
257 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Arenula
Hotel Arenula
#699 of 1,269 in Rome
445 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
#676 of 1,269 in Rome
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Ester

Address: Via di San Salvatore in Campo 38, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Ester 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domus Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Ester Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing