We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
53
95
68
46
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
95
68
46
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are decorated nicely campo de fiori trastevere area walls are thin main sights side street romans attractions europe
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Before going I had read many of the reviews on here about the alley and entrance and other aspects. We were a young couple so wanted a reasonably priced hotel in the center. It was exactly what we wanted. I was pleasantly surprised about the outside as I was expecting a dingy side alley from the reviews. It is just a normal side street with some graffiti on the door. The door of the hotel is well signed so it really didn't bother us that the outside wasn't all fancy. Our room was small as described but it was kept immaculate and the cleaners and staff were all very good and efficient. The location was also very good, a 5 minute walk across the river from a bustling area of bars and restaurants and a maximum 30 minute walk to the furthest away attractions (vatican).
My one bad point was that the rooms are spread up different floors of the building with 3 smaller rooms placed on the first floor with reception. Our room was one of these and the reception desk was practically a meter from our room door. The door was not sound proof at all and from 7.30 every morning there were people talking laughing, preparing and serving breakfast and checking in, all very noisy which meant we were just kept awake from then on. It was quite frustrating as we are lazy students that wanted a lie in, we almost went out one morning when the staff were just laughing for hours on end but it is reception after all so we didn't feel we could just shush everyone.
However, other than this point for the value and location, if you want a small afforable clean room in a good location I can't fault it. I feel the reception issue can be avoided by asking for a room away from reception when you book because there were plenty of other rooms on other floors, we were just unlucky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We had to haul our luggage down a dark alley and when we saw the entrance all covered with griffiti it was a true horrifying WTF moment. The driver opened the crooked door to reveal a dark hall with garbage cans and old warn stairs. He said up 4 flights. We are in our 70’s and had luggage. I went up and the young woman working there helped my wife with her luggage. The room was another two flights up. It had no closet, no hot water no breakfast or any food offered. The room itself was tolerable and The bed was reasonably comfortable but the lamp was hanging by wires where it had come loose from the wall. The toilet paper was on the floor because the holder was broken. The air conditioning did not function at all. The hotel is very badly located, because cab drivers and uber blacks could not find it. We had to go looking for them for pickups or they would have to park and come looking for us. When trying to return to the hotel cab drivers would try to drop us and say "it's somewhere in that direction" but they were often wrong and we had to wander around until we found something familiar. There was a club directly across from our window that was ridiculously loud until 3:00am. Lots of loud fights. The one and only good thing was the staff were kind and as helpful a possible, but l can not recommend this way over priced "bread and breakfast” in any way.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter_Plantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

While this is a good location the place is not a three star level - it is in a very run down state in the entry foyer and reeked of smoke when we entered- not a great welcome. When asked if this is smoke fee we were told yes but then to our shock as you go to your room there is a smoking table one flight down! On top of that the room is tiny and we were shocked as there is hardly any walking room. We were told wait till tomorrow and a free upgrade but the next day a different person said not happening and that manager will not allow her to change our room BUT she is very happy to show us an even smaller room to make us feel better but if you want the promised room now you have to pay! We are very upset about the inconsistent advice and game playing. The room has a NON WORKING safe that they said they will replace and did not - surprise surprise. They also want extra charges but the English is not good to explain why. I would not recommend and definitely will not return.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank juliehB5063NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Nice simple place, very sweet people, took care of our needs and even gave us an upgrade to a bigger room after seeing how much luggage we had.
Overall a very positive experience, beautiful location as well.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

As students ourselves my husband and I thought the heating was abysmal for a winter month. The air didn't feel clean. The entrance looks shady and the stairwell needs renovation.

All that said, the place is well located, you get a really decent breakfast, and it's okay for two young people on a budget.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews