We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic No Frills Warm Hospitality”
Review of Blackberry House

Blackberry House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackberry House
Ranked #2,243 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic No Frills Warm Hospitality”
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I stayed one night at the blackberry house. when i got there, the owner barbara came out to meet me and informed me that the place was full (even though I had made an online booking 4 weeks prior). She was really sweet about it though, and brought me to her place to stay at instead - which is just about 200 yards down the road.

There was one other room taken in her apartment, the room she gave me was big with two beds and a basic dresser. They beds had fresh clean white sheets which made it really easy for me to sleep (without worrying about germs). The bathroom, which is just down the hall, was clean and tidy too. Breakfast is nothing much, just pre-packaged pastries. But there's a nice little cafe on the corner of the street - so go there for a caffe and a fresh croissant instead. Standing at the bar, it'll only cost you about 1.20 euro.

Barbara IS really helpful, marking out interesting places for me to visit the moment I had checked in, showing me how to get around on a map, and she even called me a taxi to the airport the next day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    21
    2
    10
See reviews for
9
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at the Blackberry House in May for two nights. While the location is good and the rooms are very clean, we had a hard time sleeping on the spring mattresses. When I confirmed the reservation two days before, I was notified that I would be staying in the new rooms in a different location. I'm not sure what the other location is like, but in the new one the drywall was still dusty (came off on your hand if you touched it) and it lacked any ammenedites. We shared the two bathrooms with the three other rooms, but it was never an issue. We could also hear the neighbours on the floor above pretty easily even though the ceilings are 15ft high. Overall, the price was cheap, but the massages needed to fix us will cost even more.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItaliaTrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

While staying at The Blackberry House, I felt more like I was staying at my friend's apartment than in a b&b with a bunch of strangers. Without the hospitality of Barbara this accomodation might have been merely tolerable but her friendliness and desire to help really made the difference and caused any negatives about the place worth putting up with.

First the positives, the location is very near to a metro station, and while the neighborhood is not what I would call the best - I never felt unsafe. The beds are comfortable and rooms are fairly spacious. Breakfast is provided. There is 24 hour internet access. There was no problem with hot water (although you do have to make sure the water heater is turned on in the larger bathroom). There were no major cleanliness problems - the showers could have been a bit cleaner but it was nothing that couldn't be tolerated.

The only serious negative for me was noise in the morning from other guests who were getting their breakfast. The blackberry house is in an apartment - so it is kind of close quarters in the hallway and you could hear through the door and the wall when people were talking in the hallway. If you are an early riser then this would not be a problem - just be quiet for other guests.

The blackberry house is kind of like a first car (at least my first car). It's not perfect and certainly not without it's quirks but it has character, friendliness and is homelike in ways that perfectly maintained sterile hotels and B&B's could never achieve.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arend24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We arrived at the Blackberry via Taxi and Barbara, the manager, was waiting outside the door for us. From outside the massive door, I wondered what awaited us, but just inside, a beautiful spacious courtyard spanned the center of the building with colorful flowers and greenery. This was our first pleasant surprise.

We went up several floors via the stairs. There is an elevator, but we didn't use it. Inside the next door, several more surprises were to be found. The room was spacious and clean. The bed comfortable. A computer with internet connection available to guests was located in the hall. All in all, it was a nice, pleasant place.

Best of all was Barbara. Although she couldn't speak a lot of English, we were able to communicate quite well. She instructed us in the use of the Metro and gave us other helpful hints. She is very friendly and kind.

We stayed two nights and both mornings, a huge breakfast was laid out in the hallway. Some items were available all day, such as coffee.

Although the rooms are not en-suite, there are two bathrooms, one small and one large which are shared among the rooms. They are kept clean and tidy. It was very quiet there at night.

The B&B is very close to the Metro, so if you intend to use it a lot during your stay, this is definitely a plus for staying at the Blackberry. This part of the city is not my favorite so that was the only drawback to staying at this location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walklikeapenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Rome was the first stop on our girl's European holiday. There were three of us (26yos) and we booked a triple room at Blackberry House.

It is located incredibly close to the metro station... literally 50m away, which was very handy. It was a little difficult to find as there's no sign, just a street number so make sure you write down the address. We needed to go into a nearby shop to ask for directions. But once you find it that first time, it's very easy to get to.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was fairly basic but definitely sufficient. There is a water cooler so you can always fill up your water bottles (and you NEED them in hot, hot Rome).

Our room was incredibly spacious with a cupboard, queen size bed, a single bed and a table and chairs, bedside tables and a full length mirror. There was no air conditioner and the supplied pedestal fan didn't really do the job. It got pretty hot in there. We tried to sleep with the window open when we could but sometimes that made it noisy.

The beds were very comfy, and were made daily. We also got fresh towels every day which was nice.

The bathrooms were clean and the water pressure was great. I think there are only four rooms so you never really have to wait to use a bathroom.

Barbara owns the B&B and is lovely and always smiling but doesn't speak much English and isn't around all the time. If you do have a question, she calls an interpreter and gets you to speak to them. It's pretty cute.

  • Liked — The location, comfy beds and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — No airconditioning.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#382 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,202 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#277 of 1,256 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry House

Property: Blackberry House
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 233, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,243 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il nostro Bed & Breakfast e' situato nel centro di Roma a pochissimi passi dal Colosseo e da tre delle piu' importanti basiliche di Roma, quali, San Giovanni, Santa Maria Maggiore e Santa Croce in Gerusalemme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Blackberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing