We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, characterful hotel at a bargain price!”
Review of Lucky House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky House
Ranked #2,522 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I looked long and hard for a hotel that would fulfil my usual criteria of interesting, local and affordable. Lucky House ticked all three with a great emphasis on the characterful. My boyfriend and I went to Rome for 4 nights and found it to be a really good base, it's not central but everything is within walking distance if you are happy to walk around, the 'centre' of Rome, near the Pantheon and Piazza Navone etc is about 20-30 mins walk away depending on pace, and walking in Rome is never boring or short on views so we generally walked everywhere.

The room we had was a lovely size with ensuite and was called the Trevi Fountain room (each room is named after a Rome sight), it had a comfortable double bed, plenty of storage, a balcony and a flatscreen tv with occasional English language programmes on. The reason I picked this hotel over all others was the style of the rooms, tasteful and good quality furniture very 'Room with a View' and if you're into a nice looking room I really recommend Lucky House. A lot of the budget hitels have that slightly Travelodgey feel about them with mdf beds built into the wall, bare walls and horrible orange sheets, this hotel had so much more character. The breakfast is self-service which is fine, plenty of coffee, tea, milk and jam, we just bought croissants (or cornettos as they're called in Italy) when we were out and ate them with tea and coffee on the balcony. I think we probably had the best room there, others were evidently a little smaller and not all with en-suite but for around £35 a night we were more than pleased, an absolutely bargain.

The only downsides are there is a shared hairdryer and considerate people would place it back in the kitchen for everyone to use but these crazy couple next door, aside from making the most hilarious animal noises, also pilfered the hairdryer for the entire stay which was a bit of a mare, so either bring your own or go knocking on doors. The other downside is it is hard to find, it's high up on the 4th floor of what looks like a gated apartment block with a green gate, we were wandering around for a good 10 minutes but once we'd called Quogol (the resident handyman) was there to greet us. The difficulty to find and the hairdryer situation are my only complaints. Nice people, nice place, lovely room, great views from the balcony, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request the room Fontana de Trevi if you like the sound of ours, balcony which gets the sun in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looseycaboosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great location enar the central train station. the room was large, clean and comfortable. the kitchen area for breakfast was a little bit cramped but as the room had a balcony we could eat our breakfast there instead. Great place for a short stay when you have an early train in the morning or arrive late in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Hi all,

I've been to Lucky house with my girlfriend for a week. The room was perfect, enough space for 2 and very clean.

I thought it would be at the home of someone, but it's like a hotel. You only share the bathroom and the kitchen for breakfast with other customers.

The information at the start was good. The man explained everything clearly. So nothing to complain about. You even got you're own key to enter and leave whenever you want.

Nothing is perfect and Lucky House is no exception. The breakfast is extreemly bad. You will have to buy you're own breakfast if you find small toast not enough. So that's a bit of a spoiler.

Overall good enough for the price at that location. You got everything on walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My wife and I (age late 20's early 30's) enjoyed our stay here. We got in by train to the Termini station and followed the directions to the guest house (~5 min walk). The guest house person was there to greet us with the keys. Nice clean room. Shared bathroom has a weak shower and some times no hot water. Good kitchen with free coffee and dry bread and jam. No internet. We walked everywhere in Rome and was very enjoyable and easy, it's also close to the Termini Metro station. The price is also one of the cheapest in Rome. Highly recommend to young couples.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had booked a double room with shared bathroom, and got it for just 38 Euro per night plus city tax of 2 euro per person. The room and the bathroom was very clean.
The neighborhood is also safe, we walked around and reached lucky house by 11.30PM and we didn't have any problems.
Its just 5 minutes walk from Termini(Main station). It takes around 25 Min to reach Trevi fountain/ Pantheon, etc by foot. So its quite nearby to some major tourist attractions and if you would like to walk around Rome and look around leisurely then this place is a good choice.
Only problem we had was we didn't get our breakfast during the stay. They keep the breakfast in the kitchen by 10AM and most of the days we were up early to visit tourist attractions.
IMPORTANT : Search for the Location on Google street maps before you go to Rome, otherwise it might be bit difficult to find this place. It is on a residential apartment and there is no sign board anywhere.

Room Tip: Dont expect breakfast if you are planning to leave the room before 10AM. Search for Lucky house on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakshmiMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
A Casa di Penelope
A Casa di Penelope
#3,137 of 3,721 in Rome
171 reviews
Esquilino
Lucky Domus Rooms
Lucky Domus Rooms
#875 of 3,721 in Rome
23 reviews
Esquilino
Rosa Blu B&B
Rosa Blu B&B
#651 of 1,148 in Rome
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Wow Roma B&B - Diocleziano B&B
Wow Roma B&B - Diocleziano B&B
#1,290 of 3,721 in Rome
79 reviews
Esquilino
Roma Art Rooms
Roma Art Rooms
#1,386 of 3,721 in Rome
47 reviews
Esquilino
When In Rome Accommodation
When In Rome Accommodation
#2,909 of 3,721 in Rome
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky House

Address: Via Varese 5, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,522 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucky house B&B, situated in the heart of Rome, it is distant 50 meters from the station Terms, the metropolitan and the capolinea of the buses: it is possible to catch up all easy more the notes tourist goals of the understood one them as Saint Peter, Colosseo, Public square of Spain, Fontana of Trevi and, giving an pleasant walk to you, you will be able to visit the places more ambles you of the world-wide tourism like Venice Public square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lucky House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing