We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best!”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #422 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We found this hotel to be centralized to all our destinations. The hotel itself is clean and has great customer service. Rita, the breakfast host, would always welcome us with a huge smile and was always wiling to lend a hand. The relationship she established with us and everyone else staying at the hotel made a lasting impression - such a good impression, that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Opera Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked with Booking.com to stay at the Sonya hotel. When we arrived by taxi we were told
that we had a room down the road at a different hotel, the Opera. Initially we were annoyed at not being notified earlier but found this Hotel to be of an equivalent standard. It was clean & a good sized room with opening doors to a balcony. Staff were friendly & helpful. Close to theTermini station, cafes & shopping streets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australialynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very nice, helpful staff! Also, an easy location to access trains/metros if you're going between cities in Italy. The location is great for good walking by shops, restaurants, and sight-seeing in any direction. The beds were very firm, which I liked and had read in reviews prior to going so I was not disappointed. The only thing in our first room was the shower was so small I could hardly wash and turn easily and that's saying a lot considering I am a small-framed person. The room we transferred to had a tub/shower and was much better. Both rooms were on the same side of the building, though, and there was much more street noise than I'd anticipated or hoped for. To me, while travelling especially, a quiet, comfortable sleep is priority so I can wake up and enjoy every moment of my vacation.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the shower and have space to wash well before unpacking in the room. It might...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela369Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Like many others, we were shuffled off to hotel opera after booking with Sonya. Then they boosted our confirmed rate for our family of 6 from $250. To 325. I was able to talk him down to 300. But then he wanted to separate our 4 kids from us by 2 floors. We ended up right next to the kids but the room had no windows and wasn't much bigger than the bed. The breakfast attendants were very unpleasant. The desk gentleman was kind and helpful but it was definitely the worst hotel on our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licatasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Kind personel that helps a lot. It was clean and internet was easy to access. The breakfast was lean, but sufficient. The room offered everything you need. The bed could use some improvement. The service and hospitality was good and for Italian standard even excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabominabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a review of Hotel Opera (although we booked Hotel Sonya)....

Booked Hotel Sonya and had the taxi drop us off in front and we brought our luggage up the steps into the lobby to check in. Had a lot of luggage since we just disembarked from a cruise ship. So we get to the front desk and were told that although we booked Hotel Sonya, they have expanded and taken over another hotel a block AWAY, and THAT is where we would be staying (same price and terms). Although they did offer to transfer our luggage for us, we were somewhat taken aback by this and decided to drag it there ourselves in case it was not up to par. This was NOT fun whatsoever as we did not know what was ahead, and the luggage was very heavy (even with 4 wheels).

We arrive a block away at another hotel (Hotel Opera Roma), and it seemed nice enough. The staff was pleasant and helpful at both places; however, it seems deceptive (and extremely inconvenient) that they did not tell us to just have the taxi drop us at the OTHER hotel from the start. Kind of a bait and switch thing.

All that being said, the Hotel Opera was fine, but the whole initial experience left a bad taste. They did have Wifi and an elevator, plus a nice breakfast, although the breakfast attendant/waitress was not friendly or helpful in any way. Almost as if everyone in the breakfast room was a bother to her.

Bottom line is that the stay was fine. Hotel Opera is in a good location. Our room was a decent size, but our friends' rooms were very small. Their room safe was just sitting in the closet - not even bolted down. The linens were 'eh', the bed was like a rock and the pillows were lumpy, but the bathroom was extremely nice.

Room Tip: Stayed here although we booked (and confirmed) Hotel Sonya one block away. Before you let your taxi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I selected this hotel from a Rick Steve's guidebook, and found it to be well worth stayhing at. Rome is not cheap, and we did pay a bit to stay here, but much less than most American tourists find themselves paying for lodging. The Roma Opera is a small place with modest rooms, a basic lift (elevator), a small lobby (but with free internet), on a side street. The young man at the front desk was extremely helpful, and supplemented our beginning Italian with understandable English - providing us with advice on finding popular sites by foot and Metro. Our room was basic but perfectly pleasant, and spotlessly clean.

The breakfasts were wonderful! Of the three hotels we stayed at in Italy (all serving nice breakfasts), it was only here that we were offered Cafe Latte made by a trained Barrista - just great! Lots of fruit, eggs, breads, and cereal.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although a bit noisy on weekend nights, having a room overlooking the street does offer a nice balco...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#249 of 1,267 in Rome
1,504 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,267 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Monti
The Opera Hotel
The Opera Hotel
#722 of 1,267 in Rome
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#207 of 1,267 in Rome
965 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
829 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#212 of 1,267 in Rome
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £58 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing