We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - would definately recommend this hotel.”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #475 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the subway, and is just off one of the main streets through Rome. Lots of good value restaurants close by. Within walking distance of lots of sights, and only a 20 minute walk to the Colloseum. Hotel was very clean and staff are very friendly and hellpful. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcnicki666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon. We toured 4 cities in Italy and Rome was our first stop. We stayed 6 nights at this hotel and it was the best place we stayed in Italy. Number one, the service was excellent. If we needed advice on where something was located, we received it accurately and with a friendly smile. Everyone who worked there always was very polite and gave us "service with a smile". Secondly, the location is great. It is within walking distance of Termini train station and the Republica metro stop. This was great for not only traveling in and out of Rome, but also to and from the attractions around Rome. Also, it has a great location along the main street where my husband and I found many restaurants and places to spend our evenings. Thirdly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was safe. There was someone at the front desk all the time and monitored who came and went. Also, we went in August and it was so hot, but the air conditioning was a blessing. We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and will stay there again if/when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Friendly English speaking staff. Easy walk from Termini Rail station. Close to shops and underground. Comfortable clean room with modern facilities and decor. Added bonus of laptop to use in room. Great breakfast. Good location for day trips to the Historical sites of Rome. Would recommend to others. Thanks for the lovely accommodation. Everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

In my opinion, The Hotel Opera Roma provides everything a traveler needs while touring Rome. The location was perfect. The Metro and bus stop were 2 blocks away; the Stazione Termini, where you catch trains in and out of Rome, was maybe 3 or 4 blocks.
The hotel and our room was spotless. The hospitality of the staff around the clock was wonderful. Always available and willing to assist with any needs. They also suggested itineraries and made themselves available to arrange any tour bookings, etc., we may have requested. Two computers with internet access are in the lobby area and made available for guests at your leasure. Great services is not always easy to come by these days and The Hotel Opera Roma was a refreshing place to spend some at while vacationing in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We arrived at Hotel Opera Roma on August 4th, 2009, having made reservations for 3 nights. How delighted we were. The immaculate room wasn’t large by US standards, but it wasn’t as small as we’d expected, having stayed in European hotels before. We had room for our 4 LARGE suitcases, with enough room to walk around them to the ample bathroom, w/all the necessities, including a hair dryer. There was plenty of storage, a small fridge, coffee and a small walk-out balcony that just big enough for us to sit out a couple on nights with a glass of vino and watch the world go by. The location was ideal; close to both the National Museum and the Termini Station. The hotel staff couldn’t have been more accommodating. From the offer of a free laptop for our room upon check-in to the cappuccino & hot assorted teas offered each morning with breakfast in the dining room. The breakfast well surpassed our expectations as well as there were delicious pastries, cereals, meats, yogurts, fruits, etc. We were given a friendly greeting each time we returned and were impressed. There were also two computers available for free use in the hotel lobby and we asked many, many questions that were always answered in great detail. We would definitely recommend Hotel Opera Roma to anyone looking for a clean, convenient and reasonable hotel room in Rome with very nice staff!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyRunner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

After nearly a week in Rome (third time in Italy, first in Rome), I give the Il Cuore di Napoli on Via Cernaia a top recommendation for their excellent food and service. For the price (very reasonable), you can't go wrong with the food. We've eaten there twice and will go again tonight. We've tried several places and even more expensive was not better. While their wine wasn't worth drinking, it wasn't as bad as some places and our palates are used to good California wines. There are some decent wines here and if you want them, you'd better find them yourself in an enoteca or be willing to go to a significantly more expensive restaurant known for their wines. Eye Witness Italy reviews wines for each region and they look reasonable for not specializing in this area.

Our hotel, Hotel Sonya and Hotel Opera Roma (their new section half a block away where we are staying) has been tops also. Everything was renovated in this new section and this has been the best bed I've ever had in many trips to Europe. Excellent air conditioning, cleanliness, service, everything you could want including free hotel-wide WiFi. Reasonable when you reserve some months in advance but almost 3 times the price at the last minute due to popularity, 315 euros for a double (not what we are paying!). I would come here again in a minute. Neither the Rome Eye Witness book or the Rick Steve's Rome book we had told us to reserve in advance for the Vatican Museums, but our hotel clerk suggested it (and offered to do it and the Borghese for us), and we found out the hard way that he was right.

We've been fortunate in having no problems, although one guy was a bit too 'helpful' when we started to use a train ticket machine for purchase, but having had experience in Italy (Florence) in the past and reading up on all the possible scams in our guidebooks, we have been pretty careful and had no trouble at all. Best source for info on things like how to find out if there will be train or plane strikes while here -- see

http://www.slowtrav.com/italy/planning/strikes.htm

I've experienced 3 train strikes in 2 previous trips here and it was almost enough to make me not come again. That was before the Internet made info much easier to get. Big difference, along with becoming 'educated'. Come to Italy and enjoy!

1  Thank NativeCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The rooms are very clean and they have every comfort. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is fantastic. I belive it is great value to your money.
I would racommend it for shorter stays due to the room size. My finace and I thought thast it was the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambamamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#241 of 1,273 in Rome
1,561 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,273 in Rome
1,281 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#236 of 1,273 in Rome
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#206 of 1,273 in Rome
1,002 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#80 of 1,273 in Rome
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £41 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing