We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for couple of nights.”
Review of A Home For Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Home For Holiday
Ranked #1,417 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This B&B wasn't something we had expected, specially with shared facility but it turned out to be the best B&B we stayed in during our 3 week holiday. Staff was brilliant and rooms were as comfortable as your home. We tried to stay there for 2 more night but it was fully booked although we were offered another smaller room with the balcony, which we accepted but again it was only available for one more night so we preferred to move to a different location in order to save the hassle of moving every night. I strongly recommend this place and don't worry about the shared bathroom as they have two bathrooms fully equipped even with cotton buds haha. Kitchen can be used 24/7 and milk juice and water is always available free of cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Excellent for going to Rome and stay at a cheap price in a decent and very clean hotel.
This a familiar house with 3 rooms, so you don't get many confusion (that is excellent when you want to get rest after a tiring day).
The owners are really nice and they bring you fresh croissants each morning, what else do you want?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent there only one day and a night, but our first impression was very good. It was very clean, comfortable and a really nice memory to have about Rome. The host and his daughter were chatty and friendly, the coffee and croissant were excellent in the morning, there were two nice bathrooms to use in good condition and we liked the safe and green area of Rome it is located in, without tourists. We wish we could stayed longer.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Boglárka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed In June and then again in July. We had a 14 & 17 year old. The quad room was plenty big with no crowding and the balcany was fantastic to sit and drink wine at night. Victor was fantastic host as as seen from other comments very hospitable. Also bringing us special treats to my daughters sweet delight. We worried about sharing the two bathrooms but in the end decided we preferred the bed & breakfast lifestyle. Since we often had different schedules we mostly had full use and no waiting for restroom. We also enjoyed the meeting of new people and family atmosphere.

We also found near subway station "Re Di Roma" the best Gelato at Ll gelato di Procopio on Piazza Re di Roma, 39. It was the highlight of each day, sometimes twice a day.... We would try other shops but none compared.

TIP if you are traveling with lots of luggage take the bus instead of the subway as easy on/off. although I believe Re Di Roma subway stop might have an elevator. Everything is very close.

When we go back to Rome, this is where we will stay. My kids insist!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A.Y. W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at this B&B for for 5 nights with two friends.
We shared a triple room in the sixth floor of the building.

As soon as we arrived, the owner Vittorio showed up and told us everything we needed to know about our room and the apartment in general. He also provided us with an additional UK-EU adaptor for electronics as we only had one between the three of us.


The room was spacious and it was perfect to stay in when you return from visiting the sights. The room was clean and felt comfortable.


There are two bathrooms available which provide you with liquid soap, shampoo and other things you need.

Free WiFi was also provided.

Every guest was able to use the kitchen, which had all the dairy products, coffee, teabags, bread, water (bottles) etc. included and ready to use.
The fridge and cupboards were always full with snacks and drinks.
We were also able to make our own food there.


The place is situated a few minutes away from San Giovanni Metro station, from which you can easily reach Termini Station and other sights such as the Spanish Steps, Vatican City and Museum etc.

The colosseum is less than a 30 minute walk away.

There is a supermarket called Tigre about 5 minutes and also a McDonald's around 10 minutes away if you were outpriced by the expensive restaurants.


The area looks pretty safe as it is quiet (even during daytime) and whenever you walk through the roads, you only seem to pass by elderly citizens.

It was also quiet during night, although you could hear the elevator (btw that elevator was tiny, something different to what you're normally used to) operating a few times during the night.
The beds were really comfortable.



Few words on Vittorio:

He is a very friendly man who helped us whenever he could, providing us with a map or informing us about the public transport.
So if you any questions about Rome, simply ask Vittorio.

It was simple to communicate with him despite the language barrier.

He also offered us free wine/beer and a Tiramisu. The Tiramisu was the best one I have ever had, it tasted amazing.

He bought fresh pastries and croissants for every guest in the morning and made sure that the cupboards are filled.




Overall it was a great experience as it felt like I was at home and I would definitely consider this B&B if I ever was to return to Rome in the near future.

Room Tip: We were in sixth-floor of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CommanderCool91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were two middle-age couples from Texas, USA spending a week in Rome before cruising the Mediterranean on Royal Caribbean for 7 nights. Coming late by train from Florence to Rome, we realized we needed Roma Passes for the next day before shops opened. We contacted Vittorio, the proprietor, and that was the first of many wonderful experiences we had with him. He had the Roma passes we needed upon our arrival and we just bought them from him.
We had a quad room for the four of us (three regular beds and one roll-away). Three rooms shared two bathrooms (not huge but adequate) down the hall. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The location was an easy three short blocks from the Metro station with plenty of neighborhood shopping and restaurants. All the rooms opened up to a terrace with table and chairs. Vittorio brought in fresh pastries and fruit every morning in addition to the cereals, milk, juices, coffee, tea, and bottled water in the fully equipped and stocked kitchen. Vittorio was very professional while treating us in a warm and friendly manner. We never hesitated to ask Vittorio for recommendations or instructions.
If you want a place that's affordable, very clean, and convenient, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,883 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Home For Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Home For Holiday

Address: Via Suessola 1, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,417 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast "A home for holiday" and "A room for holiday" are the ideal in Rome for a happy holiday.They are situated near the historical centre, rich of antiquities and beauties and site of cultural events. Nearly to a few minutes' walk will take you to the Saint Mary Major and Saint Clement Basilicas; with some bus stops you will arrive to Venice Square and Vittoriano, Navona Square, Pantheon; with some underground stops up to Trevi Fountain and Spagna Steps. The Bed and Breakfast "A Room for Holiday" and "A Home for Holiday" are, respectively, on the third and on the sixth floor of the same, elegant building in a calm private street, near stops of buses and undergrounds, connecting with the whole city (Auditorium, Stadiums, Theatres). The flats are made of a hall-way with a sitting-room, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living kitchen and a square terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Home For Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Home For Holiday Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing