We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we would have found them sooner in the trip!!!”
Review of A Home For Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Home For Holiday
Ranked #1,392 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This is the place to stay when traveling on a budget in Rome! The innkeeper was wonderful! He even gave us the leftover Champagn from his daughter's university graduation!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have booked this place upon reading the good reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. As mentioned by others, the owner was kind and helpful although his English was limited. Our two rooms were adequately spacious with two shared bathrooms with showers. Free wifi at the reception area and fresh croissants delivered by the owner who lived above the unit. Shared kitchen was available for our use and had proper utensils, fridge with water/juices and coffee machine for making our own coffee. Location-wise, it's a bit off the tourist area but with easy access by bus and metro. Laundry, restaurants and supermarkets were nearby which was handy for cooking some of our meals. We were happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

For the nightly rate, the B&B is a lot better than I expected. The kitchen is well stock, and the owner provided a very good breakfast. The bedrooms and bathrooms are big; similar to NA standards. Personal care products are provided, and the use of washing machine was offered; which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wengmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This was a great little B&B, and felt like being a guest in someone's clean, spacious apartment. The rooms were comfortable and large, there were two spacious bathrooms, and a lovely kitchen with espresso machine.
The location was in a nice, safe residential neighborhood with several restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Close to the San Giovanni train station and walking distance to San Giovanni and the nearby open-air market. The owner was kind and helpful, with maps of the city and advice. He brought us delicious pastries for breakfast every morning too!
The only small issue was that the wireless internet wasn't working consistently.
Overall, this was so so much better than Italian budget hotels in a similar price range, and I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

I can't say enough about 'A Room For Holiday".
Everything is provided for you; a regular size fridge in which to put your groceries, a clothes line to hang your clothes to dry in the roman sun, delicious breakfast goodies fresh every day, your own keys so that you may come and go as you please.
The building is very secure and safe, the area has plenty of restaurants, pizzerias, bars, grocery stores, shopping. Whatever you need, it is steps away.
The B&B is a short walk (I would say maybe 5min.) from the Metro/underground. And the stop (San Giovanni) is only 3 stops away from Termini. If you prefer there are buses you can take into the center just up the hill (through the porta) and past San Giovanni church. Right around the corner is the 'everyday' market on Via Sannio where you can buy almost everything immaginable. My grateful thanks to Signor Vittorio LoConte for his exceptional hospitality and for providing a comforting place to stay when I am in Rome! Will write again to post pictures shortly. Grazie.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giacatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

very good price/quality rapport
the B&B host (Mr. Vittorio) is very kind and helps you with any information you may need
the surroundings are safe and clean

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibiu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed at this B&B with my mother for 5 days and we found our stay as the the most agreeble, comfortable and pleasant. Signor Vittorio Lo Conte is the most hospitable host treating us and other guests with some wine and dessert in the evening, conversing with us and making us feel very welcome. It is a little walk from the metro station (around 7 minutes) and a shorter walk (2-3 min) to the bus that goes to the city center. The area is residential, calm with many blossomming trees as it was late autumn. We made a little walk around and found some older charming houses nearby. There is a very good restaurant right outside the hotel (on via Faleria) with decent prices where a lot of locals come for dinner. There is a market in the neighborhood, a supermarket and a grocery all having very good and fresh products. All the 4 rooms on our floor were spacius, clean and well furnished with new tasteful furniture. There were 2 bathrooms to be shared between 4 rooms but there was never a problem with queueing. From our room, as well as from 2 others, there was an exit to a big balcony with a table and chairs where we sometimes had our breakfast or evening tea. We met great neigbours - a Brazilian family with whom we had joined meals in our kitchen a few times, as well as another Venezuelian family and a young Russian couple. All the people we met were just great and everything was beyond our expectations and we would definitely like to come back to this B&B. Thank you for your hospitality, Signor Lo Conte!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scandi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,106 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,480 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Home For Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Home For Holiday

Address: Via Suessola 1, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,392 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast "A home for holiday" and "A room for holiday" are the ideal in Rome for a happy holiday.They are situated near the historical centre, rich of antiquities and beauties and site of cultural events. Nearly to a few minutes' walk will take you to the Saint Mary Major and Saint Clement Basilicas; with some bus stops you will arrive to Venice Square and Vittoriano, Navona Square, Pantheon; with some underground stops up to Trevi Fountain and Spagna Steps. The Bed and Breakfast "A Room for Holiday" and "A Home for Holiday" are, respectively, on the third and on the sixth floor of the same, elegant building in a calm private street, near stops of buses and undergrounds, connecting with the whole city (Auditorium, Stadiums, Theatres). The flats are made of a hall-way with a sitting-room, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living kitchen and a square terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A Home For Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Home For Holiday Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing