We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience !”

Palazzo del Freddo Giovanni Fassi
Ranked #41 of 779 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Our friendly server persuaded us we must have the double cream on top of our two scoop gelato and wow, he was right, it really was fabulous !
We found this large, busy gelateria on our last night in Rome and it was one of the best and cheapest gelatos we'd had. Will definitely be back on our next trip to Rome !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,315
    520
    195
    90
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best gelato by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was quite an experience! You pay at the kiosk on the right hand side and then proceed to the gelato counter where you are faced with the most difficult decision. There are about 20+ different flavours (the cherry and white chocolate were my favourite). There's also lots of interesting looking desserts and ice cream sandwiches. Definitely worth a visit, but you have to be patient as it is popular.

Surprisingly, this was also the cheapest gelato we found.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Really great ice cream. Worth a visit. And lots of nice flavours as well. Just 3 euros for 4 scoupes.

Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Gelato in Rome and a great price too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

There were two large police vans with lights flashing parked outside the store when we arrived. I thought - yikes - what's happening? Turns out this is the place the locals go for gelato. It was packed. It was the cheapest gelato - and the largest servings - we've seen in Rome. Tons of flavors, and the (optionally) top every cone/cup off with a scoop of freshly made whipped cream. The gelato is made on-site - you can see the production in the back. It's more than a place to get great gelato - it's an experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent price nice gelato authentic and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Open late friendly staff and nice gelato
This was near to our hotel and was a good choice for a desert.
The place was very spacious and was good value and good amount of variety of flavours
The area was perfectly safe late at night.
Lots of places to eat indoors too and sit down if you wanted to.
Only criticism was the tables were sticky and dirty needed cleaning and the bins were overflowing in there.
I would return and would recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happyegg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo del Freddo Giovanni Fassi also viewed

 

Been to Palazzo del Freddo Giovanni Fassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing