We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Gelato di San Crispino

Il Gelato di San Crispino
Ranked #68 of 777 Dessert in Rome
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

When I was planning my trip to Rome I read in so many places that Il Gelato di San Crispino had the best ice cream in Rome that I had to try. And I got a bit disappointed. Maybe because I was expecting too much. The ice cream was not bad. Not at all. But was also not the best one I’ve tried in Rome. It was however the most expensive. The service was terrible! The cashier was nice though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreia Vivi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    569
    356
    206
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gelato e molto buono, ma....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved the gelato and showed it by retuning a few times. I could understand why they cover the tins even though some people need to see it and not rely on description. The server with no expression reminds me of the Soup Nazi from the Seinfeld tv show(for all you Americans). All in all worth the experience for taste and wierd service. Rip off prices and portions!

Helpful?
Thank isiciliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best ice cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really small portions but still so worth it- we came back twice in one day. The caramel, ginger cinnamon, pistachio and rum cocoa were out of this world. The regular chocolate was only okay, the vanilla bourbon was really good. Comes in cup only, no cones.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic gelato !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is without doubt the best Gelato I have ever tasted. I first tried their gelato two years ago when I was in Rome with my family during a hot July. Every flavour we tasted was superb.And one thing we noticed is that ,we were not thirsty after the gelato unlike a lot of the other gelateria's we tried, so you can take it that it is not made from synthetic ingredients. As for the price, you pay for what you get, a unique bespoke product. when I read the bad reports about the price of the gelato I was reminded what Oscar Wilde said "A cynic is somebody who knows the price of everything, but the value of nothing"

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcusagrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok, now this is the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

You can have gelato on almost any corner in Rome but you don' t know true gelato until you try this one. This is the only place that covers the containers of gelato to keep it fresh, so you can't see it. Everyone else works off visual. It is a must try.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank isiciliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Gelato di San Crispino also viewed

 

Been to Il Gelato di San Crispino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing