We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is just a beautiful hotel -- very simple, yet very elegant at the same time and in a great location as well! I cannot say enough about the service - it is just stellar! From our meeting manager (Cristina Pietrini) to the hotel management and the front/check-in desk staff, everyone was extremely professional and courteous. Our group throughouly enjoyed their stay and when I am back in Rome, I plan on staying here! Thank you all for the wonderful stay and meeting!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josudore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    285
    55
    28
    24
See reviews for
137
581
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was our first time to Rome and my husband found this little treasure in Trastevere. Nestled into a hillside this little hotel is a gem. Its courtyard sets the tone -tranquil and rustic. It is quiet and charming. Our room had an amazing patio where we enjoyed a bottle of wine. The room itself was simple but classy. Our bathroom was modern and artistic. The garden below was charming and a wonderful place for breakfast. The coffee was fantastic and service friendly. I am sure we will be back. Donna Camilla Savelli was within easy walking distance to everything. Within 20-25 min you can be at the Vatican or at the Forum. A stroll down the Tiber river was wonderful. Trastevere is charming and much more quiet than the other sections of Rome we visited. I would recommend the Isole de Sicilia for dinner just down the hill from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiversideTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This former monastery converted to a hotel is a charming mix of the old and the new.We had a lovely room, typical italiano overlooking a most peaceful and tranquil garden with beautiful flowers, trees and shrubs. Breakfast here a treat in this location! The staff were most courteous and helpful especially reception staff and in particular Emauuela who cordinated our ongoing trip to Sorrento return to Rome. She was exceptionally helpful and informative throughout our stay for sightseeing.

A hotel ideally located in the Trastevere area with cafes,restaurants and Piazza within walking distance. Roof garden provides a lovely panoramic view of the locality.
We had a most magical stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden where it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank una8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet area of Trastevere and is in general of very good quality, we found the staff helpful if asked, and unobtrusive if not, which is my preference. The central garden is a genuinely lovely place to spend time either for breakfast, at the end of a long day, or contrary to other reviewers late evening drinks, we sat out at approx 11 PM with no problems. We only stayed in a basic room as we were only intending to sleep and have breakfast, the room [311] was comfortable, well appointed and the air con was excellent, the balcony was a disappointment as although the room had one it was shielded by frosted glass to 6 feet high, so you could see literally nothing, even a view of other buildings would be preferable. I would suggest if this is going to bother you then ask for a 'room with a view', other than that we found it suited our purpose.
Breakfast: Breakfast in the garden was a very pleasant experience, there was a large selection of traditional continental fare including sweets, pastries etc, the garden was quiet and a very relaxing way to start the day.
Location: A ten minute walk will see you across the Tiber on the pedestrian bridge and 15-20 will see you in the centre of Rome, if you dont mind walking then all the sights are reachable on foot, just beware of the Italian cars and mopeds which are an occupational hazard and seem to be able to access streets that we would call alleyways, all part of the experience.....
Recommendations : I dont propose to tell you what to see as the choices are obvious but suggest a short 5 minute walk into Trastevere in the evening is a must, the place is buzzing with a myriad of restaurants, bars and oddball shops of all tastes and prices. We never had a bad meal whilst we there there and we ate locally in Trastevere every evening. Of Particular mention is Marco G's, 50 yards from the hotel [turn right]. Simple Italian meals cooked very well, the place was always packed, we reserved a outsite table for the following night and were not disappointed.
Overal a very enjoyable stay, would recommend this hotel and the area as a base to explore all that Rome has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matty_0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is a former convent and the rooms are still a bit bare and small, but still very comfortable. There is a large interior garden surrounded by the hotel where one can have breakfast, a drink or just sit and contemplate. The staff was extremely helpful directing us to restaurants and local sites. We arrived at 1:45 PM and were told our room would be ready in fifteen minutes (posted check-in time). We were finally taken up to our rooms at 3:00 PM. The view from our room allowed to see most of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banjo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Myself, my husband and my 1 year old (who had his first birthday in Rome!) have just returned from three nights in this hotel. Wow, I seriously cannot wait to return whenever we visit Rome again! It was perfect in every way for us, and would be even more so for just couples. (Got a brilliant deal too, nearly half price on Hotel.com using Trivago)

On arriving in Rome, we actually walked from the Circo Massimo metro station with our baby and luggage which was a good 30/40 min walk - by which time I was just praying that the hotel was a good choice. We didnt mind the walk as was morning and wanted to get our bearings rather than faff with a taxi, bus or tram. Although walking up the quaint, quiet cobbled Garibaldi Road and suddenly seeing the large gates of the Donna Camilla Savelli, I was hugely impressed (and relieved!) and couldn't wait to get inside and unload!

HOTEL:
Checking in, the staff were all smiles, extremely helpful and friendly and were so accommodating of our child (infant all the Italians were!). The lady gave us a map of the city and explained where everything was and the best way to get there. A lovely man showed us to our fabulous room and didn't seem to mind at all that we hadn't yet got any euros to tip! (We did see him the next day and tipped him then)

The hotel is beautiful and full of statues and grand centre pieces just like in the pictures. Its very interesting to see that it used to be a Convent and does have a very peaceful feel to it. The room we had was very spacious, we had a super king size bed and lots of room for our boy to play with his toys. The floors are all stone though and we did have steps to the balcony so had to watch him. We had a balcony looking over the back and courtyard (not much of a view but nice to have some fresh air and sunlight coming in) The rooms have aircon and i found it not too hot nor too cold. Despite having no carpets and being a large room, it was lovely and warm even when getting out the shower!
The mini bar was very handy (was raided a few times) but you are better off popping to the local shop for supplies if you are on a budget. My husband paid to watch 'Gladiator' (in preparation of visiting the Colosseum!) which was 16 Euros, but he watched it twice apparently so it 'was worth it!'
The hotel gardens were beautiful pruned and lovely to sit out with a drink in the evening. I cannot believe in the whole time we were there I forgot about the rooftop terrace and restaurant, really kicked myself, but will definitely have more of a look round next time as I bet it was beautiful!

Breakfast at the hotel was lovely. I would hope no one would want a full English Breakfast when in Italy and you wouldn't get it here - it's a continental buffet but do have bacon, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs. I stuffed myself with buffalo mozzarella, beef tomatoes, wide selection of ham and bread and boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt and a huge selection of dangerous sweet cakes and biscuits!
The only tiny downside was that there sometimes wasn't anyone at the bar either in the evening or at breakfast for tea or coffee. They are about, but often around either briefly chatting to guests (which isn't a bad thing if the guest is you!) or serving someone else.

One point to mention is that the wifi only works down stairs in the lounges/hall or in the gardens. Not in the rooms. At first I was a little disappointed but by the end of the four days realised how nice it was to have a break from Internet so now actually see that as a plus! Perhaps not if you are working from the room but I did see a USB port for laptops an a keyboard for the TV. (I had an iPad and so needed wifi to use)

LOCATION:
The location in Trastevere was perfect, as after visiting the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, the whole area is very busy and crowded and even the streets smell of smoke. If i was single, i would possibly stay in these areas for the nightlife, bars, busyness etc, but in Trastevere, it is just far enough away from everything to be a fantastically relaxing atmosphere and yet everywhere is within easy reach. There are a few local restaurants and shops which we used each evening as with our young baby, we arrived back fairly early each evening to eat locally. (See below for recommendations!)
The hotel is literally a few minutes was away from the huge river that runs through Rome. Myself, husband and baby walked EVERYWHERE in Rome as we bought one of those brilliant Deuter Baby Back packs and it was worth its weight in gold. My son was able to see everything, and fell asleep comfortably and in the shade so we were able to sightsee for 7 hours each day with no fuss! The walk to the Vatican was very scenic and took about 30/40 mins from the hotel and around about the same to the Colosseum area. I don't see any reason why anyone needs to use public transport if they are able to walk easily and are prepared with comfy shoes and either an umbrella or some sun tan lotion! (Although the street sellers sell brollies for about 3euros!)

We ate twice in the gorgeous looking local restaurant on the first corner from the main road opposite the Ponte Sisto bridge called Osteria. The waitress and the restaurant owner, Oliviero were outstanding, both with their hospitality of our young son (celebrating his first birthday!) and their generosity and genuine interest. We enjoyed it so much, we went back on our last night. They do a lovely Italian menu but also a budget menu also which was great. The wine I had was fantastic and the bottle was just 10euros. I wish I had bought some home!
We tried another restaurant called Antica Focacceria S Francesco just down the road from the hotel - do not attempt to eat here! Fine for drinks, (altho bottle of wine 18 euros) only but nasty (what seemed like processed) food and didn't have well over half the menu.
Marco G restaurant just opposite the hotel, was also very accommodating for some drinks and some bread for our son two hours before they were even open. We didn't try the menu but the owner was just very lovely and helpful so I would recommend this too.
Rome is a fantastic city and I have been before (to a nasty, tiny, grubby 3 star!) and I can't think of a better place to come and unwind at the end of a busy day. BOOK IT, you won't regret it! ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sheldan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonham
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Loved this hotel! Thanks Trip Advisor! Location was excellent, off the main path but only a few blocks away from plenty of Restaurants and shops ='s very quiet at night. If you have been to Rome before you know how important your sleep is after a full day of sight seeing. The staff was so very helpful with question and more than willing to recommend places to eat and make reservations or call taxis. Super great hotel for a romantic stay and the price is a steal in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor. We had room on 1st floor (ground) and had trouble getting cell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#237 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#294 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Property: VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing