We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharp practice let this place down...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Sharp practice let this place down...”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Right. Let me start with the positives, and there are so many. The place is just gorgeous and atmospheric, indeed so much so that I proposed to my fiancee (now wife) on the rooftop terrace here last year and returned here to stay during my wedding celebrations a fortnight ago in Rome. The breakfasts are delicious and there is plenty of choice. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the rooms were impeccably clean and very well serviced. On staying here a fortnight ago for my wedding celebrations, all went excellently, that is, until the end - and bill-pay time.

To make a long story short, members of my family and my wife's family also stayed here for a number of nights for the wedding period. Two family members, who left the hotel a few days in advance of us, were undercharged by the hotel for one night each. So, what did this hotel do to remedy this? It lumped those room charges on our room without any basis for doing so whatsoever, merely because the guests who were undercharged were our relations! And declined to mention this when presenting our final bill.

The cherry on the cake was that this "mistake" (as they called it) only took an hour to ascertain with Reception on checkout, with A4 sheets of paper and biros being used, calculators, estimates and a lot of exchanges between staff in Italian. I ended up having to ring my family member who was undercharged by the hotel to ask for her credit card number to pay fully for the room for which she was undercharged as the hotel did not retain the credit card records.

Bottom line was that the hotel cocked up in undercharging other guests, and tried to make it our problem with a complete absence of transparency. In the end, and after my insistence that I was only paying that which I owed, and not anything else, did the hotel embark on a trawl through its records to see how our bill was so steep (in excess of €400 more than we had anticipated).

All of this left a sour taste in the mouth after a lovely stay. This place was originally getting five stars from me but owing to the attempted loading of our bill and (dare I say) outright dishonesty, they're getting one star. If I could give no stars, I would. I have no time for dishonesty in circumstances where we stayed here for nine nights, and our families for several nights each (i.e. a lot of money was spent in this hotel). So for the hotel to try and load our bill without a transparent explanation is just not on. Were it not for the fact that we were on the ball, they may very well have gotten away with it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    288
    55
    28
    24
See reviews for
137
584
28
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in Trastevere - a gorgeous part of town. Rome is beautiful but it is nice to “come home” to a place away from all the crowds. We walked to all the major sites, it takes about 20 minutes or so and the times we were tired, a taxi ride was about 10 euros. The rooms were smaller by North American standards but this is a historical building. Nevertheless, it was still beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and the wait staff was very attentive. There is free wifi in the lobby.
All the staff in the Hotel were lovely and so very helpful, always making great recommendations for dinner, etc. If you are going to staying there, you must also try: Trastevere KMzero and Fabrizio. Also, don’t forget to check out their terrace for beautiful views of Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a few days recently. Not only was the hotel excellent, fantastic location close to restaurant/bars, whilst remaining extremely quiet in a very pleasant location. Furthermore the staff were absolutely superb, particularly when dealing with a taxi driver who arrived early for a pick-up, had left the meter running and expected us to pay on top of the journey. They could not have been more helpful in dealing with the situation. Would highly recommend a stay here if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordboy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had 4 nights in October at the end of a 5 week trip in Europe at this delightful hotel. It has been converted from a former convent and has a lovely atmosphere about it and even its own chapel. We stayed in a Executive Room on the 1st floor overlooking the lovely courtyard garden. The room was spacious and had a comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom had a huge and excellent shower. The rooms were serviced twice a day and were always clean. Front desk staff are really helpful and can give you great recommendations for dining at night. and general sightseeing in Rome. The area has lots of bars and restaurants and is very lively, although the hotel itself is nice and quiet.

Breakfast is very good and included in your tariff and you can eat in the garden if you wish. It is about 20 mins walk to St Peters Basilica.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Executive room as its good value and ask for a room overlooking the courtyard g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyduck_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a lovely hotel with a helpful and knowledgeable staff. Because it is a former monastery there are some unique characteristics. My room was way too small, but this was not the case with my friends, who had spacious rooms. There is a good breakfast buffet included, though the wait staff is hit-or-miss in terms if service and friendliness. The free wifi in the lobby is a plus.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location, wonderful room and helpful staff.

Stayed here for our trip and found the hotel and staff great. Only issue is be prepared to bring your own power adapter or buy one locally as hotel didn't seem able to provide one. Try marco g for dinner down the street if you can

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's a well located hotel without the crazy traffic from Rome. Walking distance is about 20 minutes from Vatican City, Pantheon and many well known monuments. My husband and I had a great time. Check it out Osteria Número 6 restaurant .. Right down the road from hotel ... Great food !!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 115 and was quite with great spacious bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,256 in Rome
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#291 of 1,256 in Rome
674 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#246 of 1,256 in Rome
373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Property: VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing