We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place but no view at all if you choose a classic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We chose this hotel due to the area it is placed in, in Rome and due to the comments in here.
The breakfast is overwhelmingly good. The rooms are not as big as they look on the professionel pictures and not as clean. Bathrooms are very wonderful and clean, but we didnt get new shampoos and shower baths every morning. Please notice that we were told that none of their "classic rooms" have views... which is kind of dissapointing. The staff were very nice and very helpful. The garden in which we had our breakfast every morning was very beautiful and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want a view do not order the classic rooms, they told us that none of their classic rooms has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_CPH_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I loved this place for several reasons: the location, the room, the breakfast, and the bar. Of course the history didn't hurt: it was a convent centuries ago and has a chapel where mass is said daily. Now, the mass did not interest me, but the chapel is austere and appealingly quiet. The breakfast features that incredible single-layer cake found all over Italy, but these! These were absolutely divine every morning! Great variety, too, not just the usual. We walked down the streets each day and night to museums, churches, restaurants, bars, shops--- and the night was quiet for sleep. I also enjoyed the silent bats in the courtyard at dusk. I would go back in a flash, but I would not take small children. The vibe is too adult.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennisAnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful hotel. Loved the courtyard for breakfast and relaxing after a day of touring. Very peaceful and tranquil yet close to everything. Staff was amazing and our room was perfect with a balcony overlooking courtyard. I highly recommend this hotel and will return again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wow... I LOVED this hotel. And will definately stay here again! This sure is a beautiful boutique hotel and its in the most beautiful location / part of rome. Everything was walking distance and the restaurants surrounding are just devine. The employees were so lovely. Breakfast was delicious, coffee was just perfect, the grounds were kept imaculate... I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. My husband I will DEFINATELY be back some day. What amazing memories we have at this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My teenage daughter and I spend five nights at this hotel in April. It is a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, off-the-beaten-path in Trastevere. The building is beautiful with a peaceful, tranquil feel (undoubtedly that is why it made a good convent!). Staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is excellent and my daughter still longs for their hot chocolate. Our room was fine - not particularly terrific which is why I didn't give the hotel 5 stars. It was actually a bit noisy at night - our window opened onto street that seemed to get a lot of traffic. Follow others' advice and ask for a room on the central courtyard. Trastevere is a wonderful place to stay - lots of small restaurants, shops, etc. Much more intimate than across the river however it does not have great access to public transportation. We didn't really mind as we enjoyed walking but by the end of the trip, we were hopping in taxis.

Room Tip: Request a room on the central courtyard to avoid street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My stay here was simply the worst I've ever had in a hotel, be it 4 or 3-star.

First of all, while some people like the fact that it spreads out over a wide area rather than vertically, for me it meant that the place was a maze, and aside from the porter showing me to my room the first time I had no idea of how to get around. The place seemed labyrinthine, and I found myself retracing my footsteps across wet courtyards in the rain with my suitcase to then see that other people had taken other dry routes which absolutely had not been shown to me and which weren't indicated anywhere. The only basic directions anywhere were that 0 on the lift actually meant first floor, 1 meant second and so on, which was great.

Then, the night there: the room itself was decent enough in that it was nice and had everything you'd need, but I was woken up in the early hours by some drunk people on the nearby street who went on shouting for ages. Once I had fashioned makeshift earplugs I still couldn't get back to sleep, because there was a flash of light every few seconds. I thought I was just going mad until I realised that it was the light on the smoke detector on the ceiling which was clearly far too bright and actually gave enough light for me to see everything in the room despite the darkness. I've never seen anything so ridiculous in my life. I didn't sleep at all and then felt terrible all day the next day.

Then, the breakfast was a bit all over the place since nothing had a sign on it to specify what it was (juices and water etc.) which seems a bit miserable for €140 a night. Then, when I was checking out they didn't actually ask how my stay was which is the standard in any decent hotel anywhere on the planet.

All in all it was just terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Donna Camilla Savelli is a treasure. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else in Rome. IT's out of the busy streets around Trastevere, but just a ten minute walk or ride to be back to that zone. The staff and the architecture and the decor take you back to an earlier time in Rome's history, a combination of luxury and ascetics. The building is beautiful - if you have a choice, choose the second floor room with a balcony overlooking Rome below and the central courtyard garden. There is a fantastic restaurant a few doors down that the staff recommended - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,269 in Rome
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,269 in Rome
700 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#183 of 1,269 in Rome
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £102 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing