We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from Rome after a super 3 day stay at the Donna Camilla Savelli. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and they even upgraded us to an Executive Room with a view as it was our wedding anniversary. The hotel entrance is by far the most beautiful I saw during our stay and the courtyard where you have breakfast is a little oasis before a day of walking around the bustling city. I've read that some people found the breakfast average? I don't know what more you could want. Fresh eggs and bacon, Pastries, cake, fruit, hams and cheeses. It was lovely. More than enough to set you up for the day. You do need to ask for coffee though, instead of them coming to you, but when it does arrive it's great. Our room was simple but very clean with a fabulous shower. The bed was by far the most comfortable I have ever slept on and we have the most wonderful view. The staff were smiley and friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Even helping my husband call around a number of restaurants to find a table for our anniversary meal. You must also go and sit on the roof terrace with an aperitif and watch the sun go down. It's beautiful and so so quiet. There is no bar up there so it's just you, the sky and the view.

Trastevere is also the perfect base for a trip to Rome. Just on the edge of the city and nothing is more than a 25minute walk away. It's bursting with life in the evenings and full of the most wonderful places to eat and drink. I can highly recommend Trattoria degli Amici. A co-operative restaurant staffed by volunteers and disabled young people. Best food of the holiday!

The only negatives during our stay was having to experience Roman Taxi's. The charge for airport pick-ups and drop offs has been capped at 30 euro for Ciampino and 40 for Fiumincino. However the drivers seem incapable of realizing this, even though it's written on the side of every cab! On arriving they tried to charge us 50, then 40, then we got it to 35. On the way back however the driver tried to charge us 47 and when we refused he went crazy. Shouting, waving his arms and shouting 'policia!'. We ended up in the airport police station, and the police couldn't have cared less. We ended up paying the 47 which left a really bad taste in our mouth. We alerted the hotel to the experience and they were horrified and have since made an official complaint to the taxi company. Just be sure to agree the fee before you get in. It should only be 30 Euro and the hotel have re-confirmed this.

The only other negative is all the tourist traps. People selling tickets to 'jump the queue' everywhere and the handbag & rose sellers. The tickets + tour touts around the main attractions are all charging a fortune in commission. If you want to visit these places get the Roma pass before you leave. We were offered a 35 Euro ticket and tour of the Coliseum but walked away. When we got in it was 17 euro for a ticket and tour and we still jumped the queue. Also, don't accept roses from anyone. Don't let them put them in your hand, just walk away. The Spanish Steps was particularly bad for this. And don't make eye contact with the handbag guys, it's like you tugging on a fishing float, they'll try and pull you in! :o)

Other than that if you go to Rome and stay at this beautiful property you can't not have a wonderful time. It's PERFECT.

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We were in executive room 308 which is on the top floor and has a lovely view. We originally booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PHILLIPALG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a great hotel - it is in a converted convent designed by Borromini in the 17th century. In the mornings the nuns are often still seen walking the corridors. The hotel maintains character but has comfortable amenities. The bathrooms are particularly beautiful. Be sure to go on the roof top terrace in the evening to watch the sunset - you look over Rome and the view is just spectacular.
Breakfast is excellent.

There is no pool, but the staff can give you directions to a fabulous pool not far away. Also take note the wifi is TERRIBLE. So if this is critical for your stay it may be better to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank enenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel, in an old convent. We like interesting hotels with character, and this fits the bill. Our room was good sized, with a sitting room, bathroom with original facade of the convent in the bathroom (!) and a private terrace with views of Rome. Breakfast was a nice buffet in a lovely courtyard garden and service and concierge help was excellent. It's in a lovely part of Rome, great to walk in the winding streets, with many small restaurants/pizzerias close by. This is an old interesting part of Rome - very glad we stayed here, as we got the best of both worlds: a top notch hotel in an interesting area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Quality hotel with very friendly staff. Superior breakfast and really quiet location . This is my third time to Rome and this would be the best, value for money , hotel I have stayed in. Our room overlooked the internal courtyard and had a small balcony .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinpeterdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had booked two rooms, however on arriving we were told that both the rooms were on different floors and of different sizes. The staff was extremely rude and did not even want to listen to is, they kept saying sorry we are over booked and can't do anything about it. We went out for dinner later that night and made the mistake of keeping some money outside and not in the locker only to realise that it had been stolen. Yet again the staff didn't do anything about it."

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOIhotels, Direttore at VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Bigshott,
As you can notice, you are the only one complaining about the rudeness of the hotel staff, so I can just think that the whole situation was probably a misunderstanding from the beginning to the end. We do care about the needs of all our guests, and always try to satisfy every single request with the due courtesy and politeness.
About the money issue, I can assure every worker at the hotel is totally trustable, and nobody would ever be capable to steal anything from the rooms; you may have counted the money wrong, or some other person in the room could have taken it for his/her private use.
We are really sorry you didn’t enjoy the stay, but hope you can have second thoughts about writing this review, which doesn’t reflect at all the atmosphere our beautiful hotel is capable to emanate.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just got back from a four night stay at the Donna Camilla Savelli for my birthday. We had a standard room, but by Italian standards it was still quite roomy and very well appointed. The building has been restored to a very high standard and has made a lovely hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel and so did not have a particularly good view(rough ground at the back of the hotel), and also meant we were disturbed a bit by traffic noise, but this was dulled by the double glazing, shutters and curtains. the bed was immense and very comfortable, and the traditional furnishings were lovely. We didn't spend long in our room however because the gardens are so lovely and we tended to relax after our sightseeing by sitting amongst the roses in the cloister gardens. Breakfast is simple but good quality, and served In the garden or covered cloister area.
If you want a hotel with a wow factor, look no further, I mean how many hotels have their own chapel?
The staff could not have been more helpful. We had a few minor issues with our room and they were sorted immediately.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the courtyard. It will be quieter and you will have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Hotel used to be a convent & it has been very sympatheticaly restored to make a lovely Hotel. There is a rooftop terrace with some comfy sofas & chairs & view to die for, especailly at sunset . The internal courtyard garden, where we took breakfast each morning, was peaceful & relaxing . The rooms are simple but clean & cool . Staff were very helpful polite & cheerful .
The hotel has an air of serenity and was wonderful to return to after a days sightseeing .
Trastavere is great place to stay , very picturesque. winding cobble streets with many restaurants & bars. The area is lively but not as frenatic as some of the more touristy areas .
St Peters , Piazza Navona , the Jewish Quarter & Campo di Fiori are all within a 10 -15 minutes stroll . As there is history & historic buildings on every corner , just to wander is facinating.
I would not hesitate to stay in this Hotel again . You will not be disappointed with both the Hotel & Trastavere

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliewoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,268 in Rome
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#283 of 1,268 in Rome
700 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#183 of 1,268 in Rome
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#53 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £101 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing