We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely enjoyable staying, a place that is attraction by itself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Uniquely enjoyable staying, a place that is attraction by itself”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel in the first two nights in our current tip to Italy… and returned for the last one.

That great hotel is in an renovated ancient building, that served as monastery, part of it is still used by the church today.

The hotel is perfectly and relatively centrally located, in the heart of Trastevere neighborhood, in the beautiful central, but not too crowded and noisy Garibaldi Street.

The hotel is relatively close to Ponte Sisto bridge, and if you like walking and strolling, most main attractions, especially of ancient Rome, but not only, are about 30 to 60 minutes walking distance.

The hotel is surrounded by many excellent restaurants, some of them only a few minutes walking. We tried and recommend: "Il vostro Marco G"," Dar Poeta" and "Da Fabrizio".

Rooms are very attractive, spacious, comfortable, quit and well equipped.
The public arias are also very spacious, clean and nicely decorated with periodic furnishing.

The beautiful, quite, courtyard inner garden, place where you can have your breakfast too, is a gem by itself. That’s a perfect place to read a book, a short rest or refresh after or during a day of strolling.
The hotel also has a nice rooftop terrace bar, with magnificent view of Rome.

A very significant point to highlight is superb welcoming hospitality, by very very friendly, professional, helpful staff
.
The breakfast was excellent and rich, with variety to choose from, with few changes every day. You can choose dinning around tables in the pleasant outdoor garden or inside. The breakfast staff was attentive and helpful
.
The best hotel we've been so far in Rome….and the first visitors sometimes prefer to stay in the yard garden, instead of going out!

A place to write home about…..

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms on first or second floor, enabling better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabizolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    285
    55
    28
    24
See reviews for
137
581
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a lovely, very stylish hotel in the best area of Rome. We stayed here in July 2014 and loved it. The rooms are furnished well, lovely big beds and black out curtains and shutters so you get a great sleep. The breakfast is taken in the lovely patio square and is great, lots of choice and lovely coffee. The staff are superb, especially on reception, they really can't do enough for you. I think it is also worth saying that having spent 4 days in Rome this is the best central neighbourhood. Its close to great bars and restaurants and 20 mins walk from the Vatican, forum/colleseum, and centro historico. No need to get public transport or taxis. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Loved everything about this wonderful hotel and staff. Beautifully simple decor, outdoor terrace to die for! Upstairs patio that has the best view of Rome! Incredible breakfast! Only downside was internet was only available in lobby and not always working. Staff was more than helpful and friendly. Great location, we walked to all tourist sights.
You really see so much more when you walk!! Will go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 839Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is really a neat place. It is an ancient convent that is still used by the church today. Rome can be very busy with many tourists, especially in the summer. Coming back to the hotel each day was the perfect spot to rest and recharge. They have a nice roof top terrace with views of the entire city, St. Peter's Basilica is only a mile away. You can walk to all the sites or take a taxi. Many great restaurants are located within five minutes walk from the hotel. We had room 202 and it was excellent. We had a view of the courtyard and a small balcony. The room was very large and really well done. The shower was nice and it had a bathtub. Breakfast was excellent each morning and the courtyard was a great spot to eat and and have coffee in the morning. Hotel service was very good and handled any requests very professionally. There is free wifi in the public spaces and we were even able to get reception in our hotel room.
It sounds like some of the less expensive rooms on the lower floors are not as nice, thus spend the extra money and get a room with a view on the higher floors, it will be money well spent.

Room Tip: Room 202 was excellent with our own balcony with a nice view of the city and courtyard. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 25-27/07/14 & loved every minute. The hotel is quietly situated in a delightful location with superb restaurants & bars close by. We started our stay with drinks in the beautiful hotel garden, perfect! Our room was HUGE we had a super king (very comfortable) bed, wonderful bathroom with a large shower cubicle. We had cocktails on the roof terrace on Saturday night & loved being able to relax whilst listening to the hub bub of the city, very special. There is a chapel in the hotel - at the entrance, interesting & quite lovely. The breakfast (which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden) was superb, fresh fruit, a selection of cheeses & pastries with really good coffee. The staff were lovely, superbly courteous & helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful historic place, but this was overshadowed by inconsistent and insincere service, especially at breakfast and over drinks. Their clear focus is on corporate guests, and as transient guests, we felt left out and undervalued. To be fair, the rooms are nice and the location is great for a taste of the city's night life. I just wish we hadn't felt ignored, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel's website does a good job of making it look beautiful. And to be fair, some of the public spaces are quite nice. But the rooms are poor - more like a pensione - unless one takes the most expensive category. Mine was certainly not cheap but it was tiny, with a view of a wall, with ugly old furniture and an inexplicably large minibar that looked 20 years old and was filthy. Bathrooms are nothing special. The breakfast happens in a corridor, essentially. The staff are nice but useless at their jobs. Overall I would avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: The only rooms worth having are on the courtyard. The others are very, very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTaavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#230 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#283 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Property: VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Address: Via Garibaldi 27, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Camilla Savelli Rome
Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing