We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leonardo is the man...”
Review of Leonard B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leonard B&B
Ranked #3,256 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Although Leonard B&B is not on the most central of locations, its conveniently located near the ponte lungo metro station. Leonardo is an excellent host and will probably take you to a tour around the neighborhood to point out those very nice family owned trattorias.
Rooms are spacious, clean and the kitchen is well equiped, breakfast is very simple but ask Leonardo to teach you how to make some nice italian coffee.
Recommended if you are on a budget, but still want good access to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights.
Pro:
. price
. cleanliness
Con:
. not close to the tourist sites
. at the edge of the city
. quite room if you close the window and use AC. There is a train track not far from it.
. Metro (subway) is under construction and close every night after 9 pm until April 2012. We had to take the shuttle bus which was packed and had no idea where to get off
. Bed is OK but not the breakfast. It is only packaged croissant, cookies and sweet cake.
. Leonard does not speak any English

Room Tip: We stayed in the basment roon. That means we have a 'private' bathroom by default.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We visited Rome for 2 days and was looking for a nice, clean, good value B&B with good location and we were not disappointed. About a 20min walk to the Colosseum or a simple 5min Metro ride and the B&B was lovely. Very clean and very friendly and an excellent price for Rome.
The whole experience of staying at B&B Leonard was fantastic. The booking was smooth and the email communication was brilliant. We only booked 1 room at first via Venere but after family decided they also wanted to visit Rome I emailed the B&B who offered my the other room (a triple) at the same price which was brilliant. After this I asked if they could recommend a taxi service and instead was offered free pick up from Rome Ciampino airport. Fantastic service!!!!!
Upon arrival we were shown our rooms, completed a few papers and off we went round Rome.
The next morning we were offered a continental breakfast by the owner. After having our breakfast we set out round Rome again
Overall an amazing trip made more enjoyable by this B&B.
STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My daughter, granddaughter and I stayed at B & B Leonard for 3 days in August-September, and we cannot speak highly enough of the exceptional service we received from the owner Leonardo and his family.
This B & B is very conveniently located a short walk from the A line metro station of Ponte Lungo which will take you to the Termine Station and all the attractions of Rome in a few minutes. The B & B is a small apartment at sub-ground floor level, offering two self-contained en-suite rooms and a shared kitchen.
We had a room with a double bed and a single bed, and a small en-suite bathroom, which was sufficient for our needs as we spent all day out sight-seeing, coming home to sleep!
For breakfast each morning we went to the nearby bar for a typical Roman breakfast of coffee and cornetto or other pastry. For those preferring to have breakfast at the B & B, Leonard would come to the apartment and prepare breakfast for the guests.
Each evening, we walked to a nearby restaurant recommended by Leonardo for an excellent meal at very reasonable prices.
But the most outstanding aspect of this accommodation is the service provided to guests by the owner and his family. Leonardo helped us with our washing, took me to the nearby telephone centre to solve a problem with my internet connection, gave my daughter and granddaughter a lift to Zoomarine (an acquatic centre in the countryside outside the city of Rome) and even accompanied us to Europcar at Cinecittà to pick up
our hire car at the end of our stay. Leonardo's wife took me shopping for a much-needed summer dress, when I couldn't find a cool dress in the shops at the end of the season.
Whilst we speak Italian and thus could converse freely with Leonardo and Maria, his son and daughter speak excellent English and are only a phone call away if help is needed.
We had very happy stay in Rome at B & B Leonard and can recommend this B & B to anyone seeking comfortable accommodation within easy reach of all the Eternal City has to offer. You will not be disappointed with the exceptional service offered by Leonardo and his family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiziano42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We had an excellent stay at the Leonard B&B!

Leonard does not speak any english, but by the end of our stay (5 days) we were communicating well and felt like one of the family! Leonard came to collect us from Ciampino airport (pre-arranged by email) and gave us a tour of the southern section of central Rome on the way to the B&B, showing us some of the main sights and the local transport links!

When we arrived the room wasn't quite ready (although we did arrrve mid morning) so Leonard showed us around the neighbourhood, his local business (the leather shop) and took us to the local bar, The Green Bar, and introduced us to the owner who spoke fluent English. Leonard even took us to a local restaurant so we could have some lunch! The Green Bar was were we had breakfast every morning with the locals and chatted to the owner. They were very helpful and gave us advice on travel, sights and how to make the perfect coffee!

The room we had was very basic, and quite dated, but very clean and had all that we needed for our stay. The beds were comfortable, the shower was powerful and hot, and there was a shared kitchen where we could make drinks etc.
The B&B is essentially an apartment, we were in the basement apartment and we had one of the 2 bedrooms, each with their own private bathroom and we shared a kitchen.

Leonard B&B is about 5 mins walk from Ponte Lungo metro station, and gives excellent access to all the main sights in Rome in less than 20 mins (30 to The Vatican and Colesseum and you have to change at Termini) Buying metro tickets was REALLY easy, there is an automated machine and everything is in englich too if you press the right button! Tickets are 1 Euro each and are validated as you enter through the barriers and are valid for 75 mins, more than enough time to get wherever you need.

If you want glamourous accommodation do not stay here, but of you want somewhere cheaper to sleep in central-ish Rome, with great transport links and friendly locals then this is the place for you!

As we left Leonard gave us a tip - he recommended booking directly with him via email or phone (his daughter speaks fluent english) so that you do not pay the booking fee via expedia/venere etc etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsCataldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I are in our late 20s and we stayed at this B&B for 3 days during our travels through western Europe. Rome is very expensive and we didn't think it was necessary to stay in central Rome given how small Rome is and how efficient the metro system is. This was our first B&B experience so we were worried about being forced to socialize or not having enough privacy. However, this was an excellent place to stay in Rome. It is clean, the rooms are very spacious, it offers privacy and is just a 5 minute walk to the Ponte Lungo metro station. The host does not speak English but he is extremely good at communicating with guests. His daughter can also translate and she is just a phone call away. I highly recommend this B&B for travelers who are on a budget but want a more comfortable experience than staying in a hostel.

I would recommend to guests of the B&B that they eat in central Rome. Ponte Lungo has very few restaurant options. Also, the upstairs neighbors can be a bit noisy at times. However, these were very small issues. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoInfinityAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Núria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,109 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#101 of 1,272 in Rome
1,266 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonard B&B

Address: Via Novi 14, 00183 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,256 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing