We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!!!”

Trattoria del Pollarolo
Ranked #627 of 12,362 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
447 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great value!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Pizza, pasta, water, dessert, and a bottle of wine for 33 euros - now that's value. This restaurant was one block from our apartment and we were looking for a quick and reasonably priced meal. This is small restaurant with 20+ tables. We ordered a thin crust pizza with tomatoes, ham, mushrooms, and cheese. Also fettuccine with tomato sauce and a bottle of house red wine. GREAT pizza!!!! We had tiramisu for dessert, that was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    285
    125
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money, quick tasty food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We had just got settled in our hotel and wanted somewhere close by to eat, asked a couple of locals where was good and they pointed us to this restaurant. Pizzas were great and cooked in wood oven. Great if your looking for a cheap and cheerful meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McIntyre87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield
Level Contributor
353 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“get pizza”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I've reviewed this before with a considerably higher rating. Given our meal, we probably will not go back. We ordered the pumpkin risotto which was terrible, with two slices of provolone cheese melted over the top. The meatballs (which I have ordered before and were much different) were terrible tasting, liked canned tomato sauce over ground beef with cold pickled mushrooms on the side. Since all of our dishes arrived together (salad, pizza, pasta, and secundi--except for these-- and they brought a dessert menu before this arrived) I can only assume they whipped them up on the spot; when I mentioned that they were not good (non bene) they did not seem too concerned. I thought this was a simple local restaurant, but since the quality of food seemed to be fairly poor as well as the organization of the restaurant, I would not rate this too highly. However, the chicken was delicious. So was a pizza marinara. Unfortunately the plate had half the amount of food as the Italian next to me who had ordered the same dish, and gave me the idea to order it. In any case, if you are near Piazza del Populo you could go for pizza and would have a very decent time, I think. The atmosphere is good, albeit hot from the pizza oven! It is more a restaurant for convenience of location than a must go to restaurant as reviews seem to intimate. it is a relief to be slightly out of the tourist zone. However, we paid about 80 E for a pretty bad meal of multiple courses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aventine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great local place serving unfussy, simple food done very well. Feels a bit like you're in a small Italian village once you're inside, buzzing atmosphere, cramped tables, but it all adds to the experience.

We tried a couple of supposedly higher-end establishments whilst visiting Rome, but they all sadly disappointed. This was a welcome change and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Delicious home cooking with Roman specialities from pasta to meat, chicken, fish, pizza a legno, veggies, sweets, all extremely affordable, delicious wine, such a friendly staff. family-run. The environment couldn't be more friendly. Just 20 metres from Piazza del Popolo on via della Ripetta. Always have my first meal (besides many others) there when I am in Rome. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del Pollarolo also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria del Pollarolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing