We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trattoria-well worth a visit”

Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte
Ranked #1,619 of 12,155 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice trattoria-well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Had a really nice time eating al fresco at Da Sergio's.
Good local food. Nice atmosphere. Good prices.
Really good pasta dishes.
Very nice place to spend an evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    238
    91
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local place just off the Campo de' Fiori”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Avoid the restaurant hawkers on the Campo and walk a few blocks to this little restaurant where there's no rush and the food is tasty. We had the antipasto plate, all very good items there, with prosciutto and cheese, olives, etc. My husband had the spaghetti carbonara, and he loved it, I had the cacio e pepe, which to me was a little salty, and I like salty things. My husband also had the house red wine, which he rated as so-so. The restaurant filled up with Italians during our supper, which speaks well for the place. Service was efficient and unrushed, a nice pace. Much better choice compared to the tourist places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyofStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local awesome place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We went here based on our host recommendation, foods were good and delicious, very comfort and feel like a local warm Italian. They speak very small English but very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ajy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A small trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

An old fashion trattoria with big portations, affordable prices and a hide location in Campo di Fiori without the agitation of the tipical tourist spots

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barata_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“bad day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Chose this restaurant based on our guide book, as we didn't have access to the internet to check TA. Food was reasonable enough - home-made fettucine - though over-salted for my taste - and not expensive. However the main the thing that let it down was the waitress, who was surly in the extreme and impatient, despite there only being 3 other tables occupied, so it was not as if she was busy. I don't speak Italian, but I make the effort to try, because I don't believe that everyone should be expected to speak English. A little bit of patience with someone who is having difficulty understanding goes a long way. Instead I felt rushed into a decision before I was ready. A shame because in most of the restaurants we visited in Italy we got service with a smile and effort to ensure we were happy. Maybe we just got it on a bad day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing