We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great simple and traditional Italian food”

Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte
Ranked #1,540 of 12,247 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great simple and traditional Italian food”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I could tell that this was going to be a good choice when entering as all the customers were Italian. Nothing flash here, just simple pasta done extremely well at a very reasonable price and with friendly service.

I had the clam spaghetti with oil and parsley sauce and it was cooked al dente - just how I like it. The wine was tasty and very cheap and the staff were friendly and responded well to my half baked attempts are speaking Italian.

Would definitely recommend if you're after some simple and tasty pasta in a relaxed and traditional environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    242
    91
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh produce, good cooking, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Wish we'd tried this place earlier in our Rome visit. Much nicer than the description in Fodor's Essential Italy. More Italians than others dining. Families and groups who are regulars, judging by the way they and the staff greet each other. Nothing flash. Seasonal produce treated with respect. Generous servings and excellent value. One can eat very well, with a drink, for less than €20. We visited on a Friday night and liked it so much we went back again on Saturday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice trattoria-well worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Had a really nice time eating al fresco at Da Sergio's.
Good local food. Nice atmosphere. Good prices.
Really good pasta dishes.
Very nice place to spend an evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local place just off the Campo de' Fiori”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Avoid the restaurant hawkers on the Campo and walk a few blocks to this little restaurant where there's no rush and the food is tasty. We had the antipasto plate, all very good items there, with prosciutto and cheese, olives, etc. My husband had the spaghetti carbonara, and he loved it, I had the cacio e pepe, which to me was a little salty, and I like salty things. My husband also had the house red wine, which he rated as so-so. The restaurant filled up with Italians during our supper, which speaks well for the place. Service was efficient and unrushed, a nice pace. Much better choice compared to the tourist places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyofStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local awesome place to eat”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We went here based on our host recommendation, foods were good and delicious, very comfort and feel like a local warm Italian. They speak very small English but very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ajy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing