We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local food and service”

Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte
Ranked #1,614 of 12,140 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
“Great local food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The food at Sergio's was really good as was the service all at a reasonable price. Had a good selection on the menu, and it wasn't one of those larger tourist restaurants. We would recommend it for a good casual meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    238
    90
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
410 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Local restaurant in a touristy area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of an Italian couple who live nearby and weren't disappointed. Initial experience wasn't too good as the waitress appeared a bit grumpy, but once the maître d' appeared (Angelo I think) then things improved. It is a very local place - we were the only non-Italians eating there despite the restaurant being just 100m from Campo de Fiori. The antipasto starter was huge with a great selection of meats and cheeses and I had the day's special which was clam linguine - cooked just right. Fresh fish is served just two or three days a week, but there is a good meat selection. Total bill for 3 just over 50 Euros including tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great simple and traditional Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I could tell that this was going to be a good choice when entering as all the customers were Italian. Nothing flash here, just simple pasta done extremely well at a very reasonable price and with friendly service.

I had the clam spaghetti with oil and parsley sauce and it was cooked al dente - just how I like it. The wine was tasty and very cheap and the staff were friendly and responded well to my half baked attempts are speaking Italian.

Would definitely recommend if you're after some simple and tasty pasta in a relaxed and traditional environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh produce, good cooking, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Wish we'd tried this place earlier in our Rome visit. Much nicer than the description in Fodor's Essential Italy. More Italians than others dining. Families and groups who are regulars, judging by the way they and the staff greet each other. Nothing flash. Seasonal produce treated with respect. Generous servings and excellent value. One can eat very well, with a drink, for less than €20. We visited on a Friday night and liked it so much we went back again on Saturday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice trattoria-well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Had a really nice time eating al fresco at Da Sergio's.
Good local food. Nice atmosphere. Good prices.
Really good pasta dishes.
Very nice place to spend an evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Da Sergio Alle Grotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing