We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Group Palace Hotel
Ranked #1,089 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Small cozy hotel, all well appointed juniorsuites and marble bathrooms in a very nice neighbourhood (5' from the Campo de fiori). Big continental breakfast served in the room. Multilingual and friendly staff.Very clean too. Bathrobes and slippers in the room. Ideal for couples. Only downside was the insufficiant water pressure and the absence of a shower curtain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermanandMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had great service at any hour , the room was very cozy and they allways clean it well :) they have a mini elevator so it helps a lot when you carry the luggage. breakfast is very big !! not the best quality but they are very punctual with serving it , if you wanted at 10 o'clock you get it at 10 o'Clock at the door, they never been late :) and we got a sparkling wine bottle as a welcome drink :) nice ! and is a perfect for visiting Rome, all atractions are at walking distance , especialy Vatican - and you have transportation near by :) and is silent area because is in the back street of the main one :) We Recommend it ! The Mascots of the hotel were 3 Little Turtles in a aquarium . cute :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinutaMicuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visited this hotel in Feb 2013 for a three night stay. The hotel (B&B really) is perfectly placed for the Pantheon, Vatican and Trevi Fountain all within walking distance.

Staff all seemed friendly and helpful, and rooms were clean. We had a family room for myself, my husband and my daughter and a double room for my son and his partner. The rooms are quite dark and a bit quirky.

On the first night the toilet wouldn't flush but was mended while we were sightseeing the next day. The handle fell off the draws, the handle came of the kettle lid and when i tried to open the wooden shutters on the windows the handle came off in my hand. As I said there was a kettle but this had to be warmed up on a hot plate in the cupboard which took ages, but we hadn't been provided with any tea/coffee/ milk or even any cups so pointless really.

Breakfast on the first morning consisted of coffee( so strong you couldn't drink it) tea, hot milk, cereals, yoghurts, croissants, pastries, bread rolls, ham, cheese and scrambled eggs. On the second morning we didn't get the pastries/eggs or ham & cheese. it seemed that you got what they had in the kitchen at the time.

The bathroom was big, if you wanted a shower you had to stand in the bath with no curtain and hose yourself down with the a shower head, if you wanted a bath it was quicker to fill the bath with the shower head as the tap didn't work.

This hotel worked great for a base for us to sightsee as we spent all day out, but i wouldn't have been surprised to see Basil Fawlty on reception

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a small Hotel, maybe 7 rooms. The photos on line make it look much better and much larger. The hotel is too small to offer breakfast in a dining area, so they bring breakfast to your room which was nice. The coffee cannot be ingested so don't even try. The rest of the meal was good. The front desk staff is very helpful except for one night shift worker. The rooms are nice and spacious as well as the bathroom. There is no shower, just a tub with a spray hose. The water was luke warm too. Get this hotel because of the location. If you are flying into Rome, take a Taxi to and from the hotel. It is 45 Euro up to 4 people including luggage. Our taxi came to pick us up from the hotel to the airport in about 2 min.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Hotel has a very nice location only in walking distance to vatican And piazza navona.old fashion decoration creepy a bit .has a nice bathroom.when i arrived receptionist showed me a place for car parking after o have parked he didnt help for the luggage he turned back to hotel.when we get in to lobby he finished the regular check in process No information about city.when we asked for breakfast in the room which was written on booking web site he said they are not serving breakfast in the room anymore.this was one of the reasons for choosing that hotel.it seems the hotel does not care about information changes.and again No help for luggage while we were going up to our room.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Wonderful stay. Great location, right in the bend in the river across from the Vatican, within walking distance of all the sites and tourist bus, and with excellent restaurants close by. Service very friendly and good, though the breakfast service was a bit unreliable at times. No breakfast room, but the breakfast delivered in-room is very comprehensive and good- (juice and coffee/tea/chocolate, with a wide variety of bacon and egg (not very hot!), ham, cheese, cereals, bread buns, croissants and jams. Excellent (and free) coffee machine all day long. Rooms are a bit dark, but this is inevitable in a historic building on a fairly narrow street. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, and I think the room you're given (front side or back) depends on how mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeLMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I try to avoid reading other people's review before posting my own so as to avoid prejudice. However, I couldn't help steal a very short glimpse and noted that many people spoke negatively of this accommodation. I am honestly quite surprised.

Let me qualify this by saying: do not come here if you are after:
a) a Contiki like pub-crawl through Europe;
b) the bells and smells of a Plaza or Savoy; or
c) a base for a large group of people.

I came to Rome with my mother, as I wanted to introduce her to Europe. The Group Palace by Relais was perfect. An old residence converted to a hotel, it was like living as the Romans do. Isn't that what one is supposed to do in Rome after all?

I don't think there are more than 8 or so rooms, so you are never overwhelmed by people coming and going. The lack of guests also explains the breakfast room that you could fit in the bathroom on most hotels, which had from memory only 4 tables (holding about 2 people each). This was easily covered by arriving to breakfast either very early, or very late.

From the little street of Banci Vecchi, a left turn would take you through cobble-stoned streets to smalls piazzas, market squares and some wonderful fashion stores. A right turn took you on to the main drag and in less than 10 minutes we were in either Piazza Navona, Puente Sant'Angelo or 5 more minutes on to the Vatican.

We walked everywhere - even to the Pantheon (quite close) and off to the Spanish Steps and the high-end shopping district (little but further away). The young lady at reception was always pleasant and helped out with any queries we had. She kept insisting somewhere was a 'taxi distance' though to us it was a stone's throw. Perhaps they were used to lethargic tourists who wouldn't walk anywhere - just ask the front desk for a map of Rome and to point out the place you would like to go to, and its relation to the hotel. You will see soon enough how close a walk it may well be. There is no point in taxiiing when walking the streets, smelling the coffee, saying bongiorno to passers by and of course, admiring the local Italian beauties - can all be done on your way to your next must-see-site.

They also had a foreign girl (Eastern European I believe) who it appeared spoke no Italian, nor English but worked her arms off. She was responsible for breakfast, cleaning and all other activities. She never stopped.

On the negative side, if you are carrying a few suitcases you would need to send them up one or two at a time in the lift (which rises within the space the curving staircase leaves in the middle) - or you could do as my mother and I did, and just walk the stairs. The carbs and red wine you will consume in Rome means walking as much as possible isn't just a healthy activity, it is a coma-avoiding requirement :)

Also, the bathrooms (quite simple but ample) had very, very poor water pressure, and rather than try to shower, you would be better off having a bath everyday. The only concern is that the lip of the bathtub is very high, and not at all accessible for travellers with limited ability to participate in Olympic high-jump! Be warned.

The street itself upon first look seems somewhat of a back-alley - but it is a standard Roman street, mere metres away from the main thoroughfare. If travelling alone or with work, I would no doubt stay at a brand name colossus, however with a friend or partner, the Group Palace by Relais would suit me just fine.

Ciao.

NB: The wireless only seems to work in the lobby and not in the rooms - though this could merely have been my iphone, though people with blackberrys were also in the lobby quite often tapping away on their devices...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up to avoid potential noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome Accommodation Governo Vecchio
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel de' Ricci
Hotel de' Ricci
#707 of 1,269 in Rome
4 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Rinascimento
Hotel Rinascimento
#596 of 1,269 in Rome
254 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#524 of 1,269 in Rome
257 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dom Hotel Roma
Dom Hotel Roma
#341 of 1,269 in Rome
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Group Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Group Palace Hotel

Address: Via Dei Banchi Vecchi 115, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#362 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Group Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Group Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Group Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing