We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* hotel, but i give it 2* only!”
Review of Relais San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais San Pietro
Ranked #829 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked 4 nights in Relais St. Pietro for 2 adults 1 child.
Our first impression was not nice: The Reception of the hotel is in a little hall, too tight and uncomfortable to check-in/check-out, or to wait there any minute. Unfortunately, the Wireless line was too weak in any other part of the hotel (inexistent in our room) thus we needed to wait there in that little telephone-booth-like-hotel reception for using any internet service.

The second bad impression was our room. TOO SMALL! and I mean it! I am southamerican, not so big, but even for me this room was extremelly small and tight packed.On Top, the hotel just put a little cot for our daughter, right at the feet of our bed: we couldnt walk anywhere! the luggage we placed upon the little wardrobe and under the bed, but had not a single cm to move nowhere.
Third dissapointment: the toilette: only a shower (not a bad tub like in the pictures or the publicity of the hotel in any internet page)
Fourth dissapointment: NOISY! the hotel seems to be made out of paper. You can feel anybody sneezing from anywhere! On Top of it, the light of the room at our side entered into our room also, clearly, at night time. Our roomates where very quite: an elderly couple, anyways we did hear them even whispering, walking, coughin, in their toilettes, etc :(
Fifth bad thing: you have no window. In Deed, the windows only can be semi-opened (left ajar) and they were cover by a blinder(sticker) that made our window pane look very dark grey (no natural light possible in that room).

As I tried to change rooms, I saw that all rooms where the same, with no natural light nor ventilation (fresh air current was impossible to find) and the sizes where quite the same.

We tried to console ourselves with the fact that "we will spend more time in the city, and come only to sleep"
but the situation is very uncomfortable, i felt like a mouse trapped in an insect hole..
and as I said, no chance to move on the room, just jumping from the bed to the bathroom door was possible ;(

Sixth bad point: the bathroom is made only for 1 person standing. if you use the wc, the door gets blocked by your own legs.

My husband is a northern-europe type: from Belgium. Very tall. He found this room a nightmare. Absolutely not as in the pictures shown! He was the most affected one, with his 190cms his legs hanged out of the bed, and couldnt sit on the border of the bed, because his knees were touching the wall already.

The bed was comfortable and clean: Considering this point, the hotel was spotless :) at least!

The breakfast was basic: coffee, hot water for tea, and an "eatable toast" when you are very hungry. Nothing else.
If you got lucky, you could find some cheddar Cheese and something resembling Ham for your toast. The room was clean and all was in hand if needed :)

They place "Refreshments in the room as welcome" in the announcement of their site, when booking by them. It Never happened! Not even water in the reception hall, neither in our room. But that was not a big deal for us.
The negative deal was, that the minibar in our room didn't work! ;(

Two positive points though, are:
1) The Terrace in the 4th floor was nice! The sun shined there every morning, and we could quietly drink our coffee there.
2) The Hotel Staff is simply lovely! They did take care of us in any case necessary! They are serviceable, always happy to be at your disposal!
They made out of the whole bad situation, a good experience for us.
The reception guy was there all night long, opening personally the door for the guests. Full security!
As I mentioned, the Staff of this hotel are awesome! From the cleaning personal until the reception guys.. simply charming :)

Room Tip: Ask the dimensions of the room before booking, or just keep in mind that this rooms are very very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Upon arrival we were surprised to see that the reception desk of a 4 star hotel is like a cubicle. Communication was a struggle as none of the staff can speak English though they acted friendly. A clean standard room,no bath(just shower) and you can hear the noise from the next room. It's appalling that the towels were not changed for 5 days, although they tidy the room everyday. Breakfast is boring, we ate mostly outside. No ironing facilities,no kettle to make hot drinks at night,thinking that this is a 4 star we were talking about. The spa is a laugh, the space is so small .The location is hard to find,luckily we booked a shuttle so we were dropped off in front of the hotel upon arrival otherwise it is so hard to find. It's near the Ottaviano metro ok but there are hotels nearer to it. It wasn't worth the price you paid for. Don't be fooled by the pictures.

Room Tip: Don't be deceived by the pictures you see that they post.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciege13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Arrived in the hotel late midnight after a trouble getting into for a metro ride that operates only until 10pm (MA1). We were attended with the night security guard alone. Not English speaker but fair enough to deal about.

Room were reserved but shocked to find out that the the shower room covered with clear glass alone and has no door is separated from the toilet there is no shower curtain even. The repair and renovation is going on. Housekeeping is fantastic but the total furnish of the building itself is surprisingly at low costs.

This is a typical place for bread and breakfast and not to call a hotel. I understand there were only a few rooms available for guest as the sittings for breakfast which was served only with ham and bread with coffee has only 7 small tables.

The receptionist in the day time are fine and friendly but cannot speak English and hard to communicate needless to say.

The place is 4 blocks away from the St. Peter's Basilica and Vatican Museum. Though it is an ideal stay to consider but the accommodation is rated LOW to me.

I do not recommend staying in this hotel if there are other choices to take nearby ST. Peter. The Hotel is hard to find and there is almost at the back part of the area. Too dangerous for a walk at night.

Room Tip: Find a Hotel that is a walk away from the San Miguel or Piazza Venezia - it is the centre of the int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OnlyChatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel in early October. We booked very last minute and had limited selection. The location of the hotel is convenient. Only a 5 min. walk from Ottaviano metro station, and only 15 minutes from the Vatican. There are a couple of great restaurants very close by. At first glance, this hotel looks very modern and chic as it has a spa on the main floor. Staff was friendly. The rooms and main areas were kept very clean. Our room had some deficiencies though. Our bathroom door didn't open all the way. We had to squeeze in sideways. The shower didn't drain properly. The toilet seat was also half falling off. We mentioned our concerns to the front desk staff who said they would look into it, but it was never taken care of.There was a lot of noise from the street and the room next door. Walls are thin. We could hear every conversation next door perfectly. Breakfast was very minimal. Most days they had run out of ham and salami. It didn't seem to matter what time we had breakfast. For this price, I think you can find better in the same area.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hotel room was as described. Just a few complaints.

Unfortunately mini fridge not working. Complained about fridge as my husband had medication which needed to be kept cool. Result was they moved us to another room which was larger.

Pillows were far too soft. We ended up having neck and shoulder pain.
Breakfast was non existent.
Would have been better if they provided tea/coffee facilities in each room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardas96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We, me and my cousin brother, stayed at Relais San Pietro for 3 days and we were very happy with it. Although we were mostly sight-seeing and didn't spend much time at the hotel the time we were there was good. The staff were very helpful and was always smiling (i find this as a very important element in the service industry). There is only 1 gentlemen that speaks english there but that didn't affect us at all.

Very close to the Ottaviano Metro Station which meant we were always just a stone's throw away from all the beautiful places the city had to offer. This was a residential area and there were a lot of bakeries and 1 very good pizzeria around!!

The room itself was very clean. We just needed a place to throw our luggages in and walk out, so the comfort of the room was not a priority for us. If you were to spend some time in the room that would be a good experience too since it's a very cozy and nice place. Again, very clean...

The breakfast was the only low point of this hotel. If you just like to have cereal with milk and croissants, this would be acceptable. There was no milk for the cereal on the 3rd day however and no one to help us out since it was a Sunday.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rijaz_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rogmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#815 of 1,269 in Rome
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#545 of 1,269 in Rome
136 reviews
Prati
207 Inn
207 Inn
#811 of 1,269 in Rome
177 reviews
Hotel San Pietrino
#561 of 1,269 in Rome
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Pietro

Address: Viale delle Milizie 134/136, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Rome
#221 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Pietro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel charming and comfortable, from the early '900, situated in a good position in the heart of the "Eternal City", offers its guests all the comforts, together with a warm welcome and careful personalization of service. Cleanliness, courtesy, customer care and support to the tourist information are hallmarks of Relais San Pietro. The Reception is available 24 hours 24, reservations city tour, assistance, transfers to and from the airport, maps and information about the city , the great advice on where to taste the Roman cuisine is excellence. The rooms are furnished with personality and essential style, with attention to detail to ensure a pleasant and accommodating to customers anywhere in the world. All is located in a strategic location, a short walk from St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican Museums and Castel Sant'Angelo, as well as a commercial area renowned strolling among the many boutiques of the most prestigious designers. Connected to the most important areas of the city by a network of buses and subways is a short walk from the hotel. You can easily reach the famous street of Via Veneto, the frantic Via del Corso, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the magical Navona's square, the Pantheon, the Colosseum, and if you choose not to go far, you will be spoiled the choice of bars, restaurants, cafes and small traditional shops to satisfy the taste buds. We offer also free Wi-Fi, in the common areas and in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Pietro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing