We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
When In Rome Accommodation
Ranked #2,910 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great little spot to stay right by the train station and metros. The host Emy is fantastic and very helpful. The rooms were great, clean and had a balcony. There is laundry and great restaurants just around the corner. Although the included breakfast is simply it is very good. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadlyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have just arrived home from a 4 day trip to Rome with friends after staying at When in Rome. We booked a Quadruple room, which upon arrival consisted of a double bed and a bunk bed. I opted to sleep on the top bunk of the bed, but soon discovered I could not.

I am only a 5"9 male that weighs around 13.5 stone, however upon lying down on the top bunk on our first night, the metal frame holding the bunk bent to a slant, almost causing myself to fall from height and injury my friend on a bottom bunk. I spent the 1st and 2nd nights sleeping on the mattress on the floor.
Upon arriving back at the room on our 3rd day, we noticed the top bunk was seemingly repaired, so I attempted to use it again, but with the same outcome; the metal frame bending.

Upon checking out, the owner (I assume) accused us of damaging the bed, claiming he had called out a repairman to repair the bed previously and told us we owed him 60 EUR. I refused to pay on the grounds I had not deliberately damaged the bed. I advise NO ONE to BOOK a QUADRUPLE ROOM HERE and possibly get blamed and charged due to their inadequate facility.

Other negatives about this place were that my personal belongings (clothes) were moved from being in a tidy laid position by myself to being dumped into a pile whilst they carried out their "housekeeping"...resulting in my clothes becoming creased and untidy. The lift that takes guests from the bottom floor to the accommodation is incredibly small (states max 4 people, this is generous) and very slow in movement. The other option is about 7 flights of stairs to climb.

There were a few positives, however. This place is a 5 minute walk to Termini; Rome's main train station, bus station and a Metro station to access most of the city, 30 minute walk to The Coliseum. Each of us paid around 40 EUR each for 4 days, very low cost, and we did receive breakfast vouchers for a cafe located around the corner (breakfast included in the voucher was a hot drink and cake). Free Wi-Fi is offered here.

The whole bunk-bed issue here was very souring, and I can't help thinking that if this had not happened, I would have rated this place 4/5, as for the price paid, it would have been great value budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Do not book a Quadruple room here!, if you are a group of 4, either book 2 twin / double rooms or st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TArneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I could not spend the night there, the smell was awful. We had a new renovated room, and that seemed to be the problem, although the room was clean there as strong chemical smell, similar to urine. We checked out a few hours later, and I was only able to return the key the next day because that was nobody at the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BudgetTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in double-bed room for 2 nights. En-suite. Have small sharing kitchen, lift and free breakfast at cafe downstairs - italian coffee and croissant.

Our room quite small, not enough space to put our luggages. Maybe this room only best for only one people. I think the room is 'Oceania'.

Near to termini st. and easy to catch shuttle bus to airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa_elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The rooms are clean and big. But probably the most important thing... it has air conditioning. The balcony with a great view is just the cherry on the topping. We got the best out of our money. And yeah.. Emy is just a great guy :) Always asking if we need anything helping us with tips and ideas where to get some great ( and not overpriced) food. He was always energetic and giving out a positive vibe. He even stored our luggage after we checked out, so that we could enjoy our trip to Rome without carrying our baggage for the last day. And as everyone mentioned already.. the neighbourhood is safe and there is a police station just a few streets away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ne0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We started our trip with this lovely hostel and came back again at the end!
Everything about this place was great! Located a few streets away from termini station- convenient for day trips, metro, buses or even if you're keen to walk- which we did!
Breakfast is served from a lovely Italian cafe- best coffee on the trip!
Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and air conditioning was an amazing comfort for the heat of summer! The rooms are themed which makes everything funner! Opt for Australia- if you can... Not just because we are Australian but because of the beautiful balcony!
It is located on the fifth floor but there is a nice tempermental elevator that will get you there!
AND finally, Emy the guy on the desk, is a whole lot of fun, super friendly and helpful with suggestions regarding sighta to see, food to eat and experiences to have in Rome!
So when in Rome, stay in When in Rome!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmelsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I visited Rome for the third time, first time i booked somewhere else and for the second and third time here. This B&B is located very central, close to Termini, it is a clean location, comfortable bed, you have all you need for your stay. It is optimal for visiting Rome,staff very friendly and helpfull with infos you need, breakfast tipic italian with great coffee /cappucino:) and croisant
I recomand this B&B

Room Tip: I stayed in Africa and Oceania-this have a terase too:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shokata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#852 of 1,269 in Rome
126 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#756 of 1,269 in Rome
454 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,001 of 1,269 in Rome
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Wow Roma B&B - Diocleziano B&B
Wow Roma B&B - Diocleziano B&B
#1,293 of 3,721 in Rome
79 reviews
Trastevere
B&B When in Rome
B&B When in Rome
#1,529 of 3,721 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Lucky House
Lucky House
#2,524 of 3,721 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to When In Rome Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about When In Rome Accommodation

Address: Via Varese 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,910 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — When In Rome Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer brand new, budget B&B accommodation close to Rome's main Termini station. Our rooms are tastefully themed with air-conditioning and satellite TV, complimentary mobile phones, linens, soaps, hair dryers, a laundry service, free continental breakfast and Internet access. All mod cons! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your When In Rome Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
When In Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing