We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, good location”
Review of SuiteDreams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SuiteDreams Hotel
Ranked #94 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent, good location”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

After searching everywhere for a place to accommodate my three day birthday trip to Rome, I found this place. The room was clean and spacious for the two of us. They had about 400 tv channels 2 of them were English. We were supplied two bottles of free water each day as promised. My only downfalls would be the continental breakfast, which is awful, the only thing i could tolerate was tea. Thank goodness for mcds around the corner. The poor sound proof walls, you can hear the staff and people walking about outside which is annoying but didn't effect my sleep. The hotel is actually shared with other hotels in a big apartment, which is quite odd but it seems like most hotels in Rome are like this. I would recommend this hotel for small groups but not families. The staff are incredibly friendly and helped us find out way around the city.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank orignalct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelax, Responsabile reception at SuiteDreams Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear orignalct,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not fulfill yout expectations about breakfast but on the other hand as you mentioned our hotel has very spacious rooms and our staff tries their best for our clients to feel as comfortable as possible.

We hope to see you soon and if so contact us directly through our website for any special requests.

Kind Regards,
Laura Mattana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    439
    60
    11
    7
See reviews for
265
838
63
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a fabulous hotel, brilliant location and staff to make your holiday in the beautiful city a pleasure.
We loved our staff and the only down side was having to leave. When I come back to Rome one day I will definitely rebook this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pelax, Responsabile reception at SuiteDreams Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear micned,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to hear that we have reached your expectations and we would be thrilled to have you as our guest again. For any future reference we kindly invite to check our website to see all of our special offers for any future bookings.

Kind Regards,
Laura Mattana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
217 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights, and we could not have been more pleased with our selection. Centrally located within walking distance from the train station and many of the typical sites tourists would want to see, this hotel was ideal for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering up a map with main attractions circled and routes shown. The breakfast room is wonderfully stocked with many selections including daily super fresh pastries (oh do try the chocolate filled croissants, they are to die for and are even warm!). The rooms, while not large, are typical for Europe and sufficient for your needs. Super clean and tidy, there is a small refrigerator and safe for your convenience, they even provide you with two bottles of still water each day, which was greatly appreciated.
Benefits:
*Close to both train (Stazione Termini) and metro stations (walking distance from train station, 15 minutes, metro station is about 3 minutes!)
*Scads of restaurants just moments from the front door (many of which you'll find right here on Trip Advisor)
*Lovely breakfast supplied daily
*Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and Palentine Hill, Santa Maria Maggiore church is, literally, just down the street!
*Free WiFi

We made the mistake of printing off a Google map from the train station to the hotel, and while it got us in the general direction, it was difficult to follow. If walking, I'd suggest that you exit the train station..depending on which door you use, you may be on a smaller but busy side street or or if out the main entrance, you'll see the bus yard in front. Get to the bus yard, then find the cardinal statue out front (see my photos). Put your back to the statue and look down the street, and locate the traffic circle with a fountain in the middle (this is Piazza della Repubblica). Head toward that fountain. As you approach the circle, stay to the left. This will be Via Nationale (street signs are on the buildings, so keep a sharp eye out) and head left on Nationale. The first street you come to is Via Torino, go right. The first street you come to is Via Modena, go left. The hotel is at 5, Via Modena, however the numbering is confusing. If you see a bookstore, the hotel is right next door with a beautiful marble portico. SuiteDreams is on the first floor (floors in Italy start at zero, so this would be the American second floor). If it is late at night, you will have to push the buzzer located in the portico. There is an ancient lift that is super tiny, but convenient if you have heavy luggage. Off the elevator, the office will be through the door on the right. (Go left and you'll see the breakfast room).

Suggestion: If you flew into Rome, you can take a taxi for €48 or a more reasonable option is to take the train right from the airport to Stazione Termini for €14. The train ride takes about 30 minutes. There are kiosks at the airport and easy enough to figure out...hit the British flag symbol and you'll hear the instructions in English, and you can use your credit card. So many people speak English and were so wonderfully helpful. BE WARY of people trying to "help" you use the kiosk! They expect pay and you truly can do this yourself, plus they could also be pickpockets, which prey on confused tourists.

Another suggestion: Do visit the Santa Maria Maggiore church just down Via Torino, it is like a 5 minute walk and such a lovely site, even has a small gift shop run by nuns and has a restroom that won't cost you (which most public restrooms WILL cost you!)

Room Tip: We were in the White Room (second floor the rooms are color names, the first floor, they are number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hugs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

First off we tried to amend our hotel booking, however the cancellation policy is 40 hours. The person we spoke to advised we could cancel one of the three nights for 40 euros instead of 69, however when we called back an hour later this was retracted saying he was giving us an example and we'd misunderstood?!?

We amended the reservation anyway and were sent a cancellation email for all three nights! When we called up we were advised it hadn't been cancelled, but just rebooked for the two nights. We had to request the confirmation for the two nights to be sent to us.

The hotel is tricky to find at first but it's in a good location for walking to places. The rooms are by no means soundproof, the people in the next room sounded like they were in our room. You could easily hear noise upstairs and we expected noise from being near a main road, however we hadn't expected the air con to be set to winter mode, which cannot be changed, so with 20 degree weather in March and only heat coming from the air con, we had to leave the window open.

The rooms are clean and tidy, however there are no tea/ coffee facilities. They will charge 2.50 euros to bring you a coffee though. Breakfast was the best part of the hotel, although we were left standing for 5-10 minutes on the first morning as there weren't enough tables. We went much earlier the second morning to miss this, and the woman working that morning was really nice.

The wifi as mentioned is great, but this is available in most places in Rome.

Upon checking out, my card payment was declined twice. So having to check my bank details to pay with another card I found the wifi is different depending on which floor you're on. When I asked politely for the password, I received a curt response to say it's the same as the second floor- the password is not that memorable! Anyway once sorted, that card was declined so the hotelier said it may be his machine. Turns out with a different machine my original card worked fine, but there was no apology for this and it took more than half an hour to sort out as he dealt with other guests in the meantime.

I hate being one of those people to moan about a hotel, as not all people have the same criteria but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsta426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We could not have been more happy with our stay. The location was great. Not too far of a walk to most of the major sites. Plenty of great restaurants and shops located not too far away. The staff was very polite and helpful when trying to find good food. The room was a good size and very clean. We would strongly consider staying here again if we're able to come back to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiliamo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We just came back from our break in Rome and we miss it already.We had a great time! Rome is a beautiful city and SuiteDreams is a beautiful hotel.
We stayed in the red room on the second floor. The room was big and there is a minibar,which is refillled with 2 bottles of water every day without extra cost.Nice linen and very comfortable pillows.Bathroom is spacious,full set of towels which are changed everyday if you wish.Hot water all the time.Wi-fi in the room is very good,maybe because our room was next to the router,but it worked for us.
Breakfast was served at the breakfast room and it was very good.When we are at home usually you don't that much!
Staff was very polite and helpful,thankyou.
The hotel is very close to everything.You can walk wherever you want to go.You really get to know a place only if you walk it.Near our hotel,on the via Torino, 1minute walk, is a small cafe which serves very nice coffee and very good price,1euro.Unortunately we discover it the very last day.
We defenetly recomend it and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katsilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a very basic hotel in a great location, with very pleasant staff always ready to help. The hotel can only be described as basic, the price paid would have got you something a little better elsewhere. It is, however, located very close to the Rome metro for ease of exploring the city, but that said we tended to walk to such places as the Trevi, Spanish steps and the Colosseum as it was probably only 2 or 3 km's from the furthest attraction.
Inside the rooms, the biggest issue was the shower! Between 8 - 9am the pressure fluctuated and the temperature varied, so be warned. The room in its self was very basic and on the opposite side of the building to where breakfast was served, but, it wasn't an issue. There is plenty on offer at the self serve buffet style breakfast (continental) to keep you going whilst venturing around Rome.
The bed was harder than we are used to, but this didn't seem to be an issue and slept ok (could have been a little more comfortable). If you are to have a cup of tea or coffee in the room, probably a good idea to use bottled water to avoid the floating scum I experienced.

Room Tip: We was located in room 5, very quite and no noise from the outside world of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#31 of 1,256 in Rome
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,256 in Rome
2,437 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,256 in Rome
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SuiteDreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SuiteDreams Hotel

Property: SuiteDreams Hotel
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Rome
#41 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Family Hotel in Rome
#106 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SuiteDreams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little design boutique hotel at the first floor of a residential building in the heart of Rome.15 minutes walk from Coliseum, 5 minutes walk from the train station, 1 block from Repubblica metro station. 24 hours doorman, breakfast room, free wi-fi internet, free water in the minibar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SuiteDreams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitedreams Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing