We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Suite Dreams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suite Dreams
Ranked #106 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2009

A five minute walk from the Central Station in Rome and you arrive at Via Moderna to find Suite Dreams is the first floor of a large building. Good 24 hr access. Quiet road even on New Years Eve! English/American speaking young lady gave us a brief welcome on the 29th, however she seldom raised her head whenever we returned. The rest of the desk staff we saw were very welcoming and helpful. Double Exec room was clean, modern, newly renovated, minimalistic. Bathroom small but good quality sanitaryware. No hairdryer but you can borrow. Extra pillows no problem. Only 2 individual sachets of shower gel per day! Needed to ask for more every day. Shower temperature variable especially in morning but manageable. Can be slippery, no handles. Bed was very hard but sheer exhaustion from sightseeing meant we slept well. Corridor had reception desk, computer for guests use, books and seats. The breakfast room had an amazing chandelier. Very clean room, nicely laid out. Good coffee machine & choice of teabags. Minimal breakfast, sufficient if poor choice e.g. cereal, cornflakes only; bread, only stale square white bread beside toaster. Over 3 mornings only, needed to ask for food and cutlery trays to be refilled and even for milk to be put out. However, although this may seem to be complaining, we felt that the only problem with Suite Dreams is that the staff are not trained properly.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2008

A good solid choice (near the Termini Station) but NOT deserving of #1 spot. Clean, modern/contemporary, but basic. No charm, limited views etc. The breakfast is adequate, but we found it often poorly stocked and limited in selection (4days). Plenty of storage, and a sizeable safe, contrasted by a small, somewhat cramped bathroom w/ shower only (did not stay in the suite--occupied) and limited counter space. The towel warmer did not work.
The staff was fluent in many languages; accomodating and friendly but we did not feel overly pleasant or helpful. There are able to assist with most activities, but we received only modest assistance with city/sight directions and transportation issues. They do offer a list of recommended restaurants, they are mostly above average and worth visiting. Our room was not ready upon arrival (before check-in), they offered to store our luggage, but it is left in the hallway along side the check-in desk, not locked in a storage area. Upon return, our room was not ready at the promised time. (The staffing is minimal and maid service and breakfast room staff are slow--based on the workload.) We were switched to an alternate room. I asked if the room was quiet and was assured it was---it was not. All the floors are wooden and they transmit any movement in the hallways, or adjoining rooms. There is little, if any outside noise. We were in the hallway near the entry door and heard it shut/slam everytime someone was not careful closing it.
The hotel is reasonably priced (they have an upcharge on the weekends) but certainly not a 'value'. You can do much better--price wise-- during low season. The desk clerk did not offer the discount for cash--until reminded about it. We were offered 5% and it is hardly worth the risk of amassing the cash for the savings.
We found this hotel to be a good solid choice, but I am in disagreement with many of the reviews posted suggesting it it more then it is.
You will have a good stay, a fair breakfast, for an OK price, but you will come away wondering why this hotel is remotely close to the #1 spot!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank poopdeckFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

This was really a nice hotel with great service. We were lucky to
spend four nights here. Would recommend it to anyone!
The swedish couple

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pyttanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed for 3 night break to see the sights. Booked the suite as looked good from website and previous reviews. The hotel is tucked away on a side road on the 1st floor of a large old building. Our taxi had a job to find it intially. You go up to the 1st floor in an old fashioned open caged lift. The hotel has been newly renovated and all decor is ultra modern and brand new which was nice if a little cold and stark. The staff were friendly enough and tried their hardest. The suite was very nice, a large two person jacuzzi as you open the door with separate shower and toilet facilities. Jacuzzi was great after a long day sightseeing but does take about 45 minutes to fill due to its size. This worked well for 2 days out of the 3, but the other day the water ran cold after half filling so was unable to use the jets. I guess it must be linked to the other rooms hot water systems. Bed was comfortable and slept really well as the room was very quiet. Good heating/aircon. The flat screen tv was nice but only one english channel (BBC world news), there were a few dvd's available in english to borrow free of charge. Room has usual expensive mini bar but bottled water provided free. Breakfast was ok, buffet style but limiting in choice, ham cheese croisants and sliced bread for toast but no bread or rolls! Overall it was a nice enough place to stay, the location was central so that you could walk to all the popular sights. If you book direct through hotel website and pay in cash there is a 10 percent discount.I would recommend it but it does lack any atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JanetRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We just got back from Italy and already have a plan to go back next year. We stayed 3 nights at Suite Dreams in Rome and couldn't ask for any better place and service. Our luggage was delayed for a couple of days. One of the staff, the lovely Roma called the airline to follow up on it everyday. Everyone at Suite Dreams is very friendly and helpful. The hotel also owns a small restaurant outside the city center called Osteria Chiana. If you have a chance, please try it. It was one of the best meals we had in Rome. Thanks again for the wonderful stay Federico, Pierfrancesco, Frankie, Roma and everyone else who we forgot the names. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Saisawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

My wife and I stayed here on a split stay of 2 nights on the front end and 2 nights on the back end of our vacation to Italy. The owner, Francesco (Piero) is such an incredible individual who has taken the concept of lodging to a whole new level. His entire staff is customer friendly oriented and the customer is really treated like their own family. The rooms are extremely clean with a beautifual modern design. There are soundproof windows, flat screen tv, wood floors, modern tiled shower and bathroom. These are very good size rooms for Rome (actually quite big by Rome standards). The attention to detail in cleanliness and decoration is quite apparent. Also, the entire staff speaks English as well as many other languages. We were provided with a long list of restaurants and went to 2 of them which proved to be incredible. The hotel is within walking distance to Roma Termini ( the main train/subway terminal) of Rome. We actually brought our 3 pieces of luggage and walked from the Termini to Suite Dreams. However, you can also jump on the A line of the metro and go from Termini Metro to the Repubblica ( a one minute ride) and then only walk two blocks to the hotel. The hotel is in a very central and active location in Rome. I think it is safer than near the Vatican. The Vatican area at night is very quite and not much is going on. I would stay here at Suite Dreams again. Breakfast is very delicious with ham and cheesed, fresh fruits, juice, American coffee, Italian espresso, croissants, cookies etc...If you order through the website, they include it in the price. Also, You would be a fool not to stay here if going to Rome!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travelling_man_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

If you’re looking for old world charm, this isn’t the place. But if you’re looking for a super modern and super efficient hotel close to the rail station, look no further than Suite Dreams. The room was great. Internet access was fast and free internet, both wifi for your own laptop or the communal computer in the lobby, The English speaking staff ready to help without being intrusive. Check in took about 90 seconds and check out even less. Note that this is a small hotel occupying the third floor of a large building.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank garyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#99 of 1,271 in Rome
1,317 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
1,033 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#120 of 1,271 in Rome
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Dreams

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Rome
#41 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suite Dreams 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little design boutique hotel at the first floor of a residential building in the heart of Rome.15 minutes walk from Coliseum, 5 minutes walk from the train station, 1 block from Repubblica metro station. 24 hours doorman, breakfast room, free wi-fi internet, free water in the minibar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suite Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suitedreams Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing