We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of PapavistaRelais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PapavistaRelais
Ranked #133 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First, the location is wonderful. Steps away from the Vatican; a few blocks away from the Metro and bus stops. Good room with space and good decor and view. Staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast in the room and was very good. Elevator. Good restaurants nearby, recommended by staff. (we were looking for seafood and went to Piacere Molise one night and II Bar Sotto ll Mare 2) Staff arranged transfer to airport and this was a private taxi and very efficient and quick and charged 45 euros. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    81
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
252
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Papavista is in an excellent location. The rooms appear newly renovated, offering plenty of room. Cleanliness, top notch. Breakfast completely satisfying, although American's may find it simple.The staff offered friendly, personal assistance. The attentive service was greater than 5 stars. All staff were helpful, thou for some the english langauge was a slight barrier (yet my Italian is nonexistance, so not quite fair to complain). David is outstanding, he was able to tweak are planned walking adventure in Rome to include places we would not have visited other wise. Also very helpful with short cuts using public transportation. Needed to get to cruise port and rather than use Metro to commuter train, told us how to easily get to commuter train. I give Papavista my highest recommendation and will certainly book there when I reture to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaKnerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was a great hotel in Rome. It actually didn't feel like a hotel but a bed and breakfast or your own small apartment. The room was spacious. The breakfast in the morning was diverse and good with local pastries. The location couldn't be beat. It was literally steps from the Vatican. Dining in this area was so-so. We found better restaurants further in the city by the Trevi fountain. The restaurants in this area were expensive and just not that great. DO NOT eat next door. Overprice and horrible service and quality. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmlutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Ideally located this B&B this was excellent value for money. The room was of a high standard and spotless. For me though, having experienced the impersonality of 5 star hotels on business trips for years, the clincher was the unfailing courtesy of David, Marita and the rest of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I thank Marita for helping me with my plane ticket, working out my bus routes and recommending an excellent local fish restaurant nearby. I really enjoyed my conversations on life, music and everything under the sun with David. I will certainly return on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place was recommended by another person. Since it was the weekend in Rome we decided to venture out and stay here. We were very delighted to find this place. The rooms were immaculate the staff friendly and nice and it's in a great location. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and places of interest restaurants etc. we were warmly welcomed by David whose English was superior! They offer breakfast and a bar which is open until 10 PM. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyGR619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This small B&B is three storeys up (with a lift and stairs) in a discreet building north of the Vatican. It's in a busy and very 'local' quarter of Rome. We were a party of 5 enjoying our 10th yearly trip abroad so we know a thing or two about hotels! We have different budgetary requirements and so it's a delicate balance between comfort and cost. The Papavista turned out to be a real find. The initial 'this seems a bit quirky' gives way to 'this is really special and different'. Our portal to the establishment was through David whose level of service was exemplary. He arranged restaurants, airport transfers and baggage storage and had a perfect command of English. He was at once friendly and professional. We had three rooms and they were all comfortable and clean although if I were to be picky the single beds were a little small. That said there was air conditioning, lovely bathrooms, TV and minibar. Breakfast was low-key but nice with continental fayre. There are some wonderful local restaurants within walking distance, frequented by Romans giving us the flavour (no pun intended) we were after. So overall the Papavista is great value for money and a good base to explore from.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Vatican. 304 is a double room - spacious and with a Vatican view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKJTREBOUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This small but convenient Bed and Breakfast was ideal for our 10 day trip to Rome. From the first airport transfer (Mercedes) to the cooked breakfasts,to local dinner recommendations and convenient room services, everything was exceptional.The staff (David,Alessandra,Stephania) at PapaVista goes to a different level of commitment compared to most full service hotels, at a fraction of the cost. Although the hotel is small and hidden, the rooms are spacious and offer all one needs for a wonderful travel experience! We will return here in the future, as we cannot duplicate the fantastic service we received anywhere else.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.Seems like a safe neighborhood,just next to the Vatican. The rooms are coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 350Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#233 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Alba sul Vaticano
#216 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Impero Vaticano B&B
#145 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
B&B Vatican Point Break
#77 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PapavistaRelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PapavistaRelais

Property: PapavistaRelais
Address: Via Tunisi 3, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PapavistaRelais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PapavistaRelais is an elegant guest house recently opened, and able to accommodate any kind of customer. From pilgrims visiting the Vatican City, to tourists interested in the monuments of the historic center of Rome. Six unique rooms, decorated with taste and attention to detail with an excellent position: quality, convenience and comfort guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your PapavistaRelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papavistarelais Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing