We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rome's Residenzia”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Chigi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Relais Chigi
Ranked #1,042 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Manaus-AM
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Rome's Residenzia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

It’s not really a Hotel, it’s RESIDENZIA, because there’s no lobby with a gate to the street, and no sign outside to locate the hotel, but the room is very spacios and clean, totally renovated with satelite LCD TV and Fast Internet free. The bath is big and havea great shower and hair drier. The location is best near Fontana de Trevi and there’s a Metro station 700m and a bus station a few step outside. There’s a lot of Italian Cafe on the neighboorhood and it’s close to famous Via Del Corso. Safe plase to stay and walk at night. The best way to come from the airport is by a shuttle an you stopin front of Ciro Restauranton Largo Chigi and the owner contact the hotel lobby. everything you need if o looking for a place to sleep after a day walking for Rome.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopetruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

I enjoyed my stay at the Relais Chigi, the rooms were spacious, and it was conveniently located to one of the main bus routes. The Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and 2 metro stations were within walking distance, making the location pretty convenient. The room was quite spacious and had a mini-fridge, desk, television, large bed, and armoire. The Relais Chigi shares the building with some other occupants, so the front door/signage is pretty nondescript, I think I passed by the building the first time when I was looking for it. I would recommend staying at the Relais Chigi, I found it a good value, and conveniently located to the major sights that I wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blustar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is a small boutique hotel with only a handful of rooms, but the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location is great too. Walking distance to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. A very nice bar located on the street below the building that houses the hotel. Great place to grab a quick espresso before heading out to see the sites. Only complaint, if there is one, in the heat of the Rome summer, the air conditioning in the rooms just barely kept up, but still comfortable enough.
You definitely need to know the address on this hotel, because there's no sign on the outside indicating its location. The elevator is pretty small to get up to the lobby, but it was hardly an inconvenience. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermontta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

The hotel was very hard to find, and when we found it, and went in, there was no reception at all. We walked around and finaly had to call, then some guy came and showed us our room. The room was ok, clean, beautiful, great view from the bathroom. The strange thing was that we didn't see anyone during our stay. There was no one at the reception, and we didn't see any other guests. It was like we were there all alone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinsessenboontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

This is a great B&B if you are visiting Rome and need a central location with modern/clean accommodations. The building is a bit of a non descriptive office building in which two floors have been converted into hotel rooms. The rooms are Ikea type furniture, laminate flooring, very modern style bathrooms. Over all the place is VERY clean and very well maintained. The manager, Ronnie, was amazing and extremely friendly and helped us with whatever we needed.

The location cannot be beat (especially for the price we paid). In the heart of the city and close to all the historic sites. You're given vouchers for breakfast at the cafe located next door -- voucher entitles you to a coffee/drink and a pastry.

The B&B does not have any other frills -- ie no pool, fitness room, etc. There is a local gym within walking distance that I used, called Linea Fitness (http://www.lineafitnessclub.it) but be warned, it was expensive ($20 Euro per visit). For those obsessed with working out, this is a viable option and can be a justified expense given the savings of staying at the Relais Chigi! :)

Back to the room itself, we were lucky to have the only balcony in the building which was great for people watching. The only issues we had were: 1. We ran out of hot water a couple of times but we were told that the tank would reheat within 30 minutes; 2. The A/C was a bit of an old unit and wasn't very powerful -- although it was positioned to blow on the beds so sleeping was comfortable (if not freezing) but during the day the unit wasn't amazing to cool the whole room.

In summary, over all, a great location, great hotel, good value (we paid $140 Euro/Night), and clean place to stay while in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

This little hotel/inn was absolutely great! The rooms are huge and have been recently renovated.The place is spotlessly clean and the service is excellent.

No breakfast facilities but the hotel does give you vouchers for a coffee and croissant for the coffee shop right next door.

The location was fabulous. We were right in the heart of Rome and within walking distance to all major sights. We didnt need to take any public transportation and did the whole of Rome on foot!

There is a taxi stand just across the street so getting to and from the airport was very simple (40 euros flat rate to FCO).

I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to really enjoy Rome!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no breakfast facilities
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank azraa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#353 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#90 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#227 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#233 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Trevi
Harry's Bar Trevi Hotel & Restaurant
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Chigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Chigi

Property: Relais Chigi
Address: Largo Chigi, 5, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,042 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 278

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing