We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home straight away”

il giardino di albino
Reserve with
il giardino di albino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #278 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Colonna
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Felt like home straight away”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We wandered into this one at Sunday lunchtime, simply because it happened to be right next door to where we were staying and the menu looked more interesting than most of the standard offerings at the other places round about. Immediate impressions were very good – friendly welcome, comfortably tacky decor, the impression of being a place where locals eat, and eat regularly, which turned out to be the case.

This is one of the increasing number of restaurants in Rome run by Sardinians – the menu is a mixture of Sardinian specialties and the usual Roman standards which I suppose are what most of the market wants. We stuck to the Sardinian ones, and found them very much to our liking. The plates of cold cuts are excellent (you get to have a good look at their salumi on your way in, and I can report that they are very fresh and of the best quality) and their seafood dishes are good too – some of the seafood is admittedly frozen, but at least they let you know. The wine list is relatively small but well chosen and matched to the food; I particularly recommend their Cannonau.

The thing we liked most about it was the atmosphere. The staff were lovely, and once they accepted that we spoke a reasonable amount of Italian and were determined to speak it, they opened up really well. (Note, this doesn't always happen in Italy these days.) We were treated as regulars right from our second visit.

Possibly not worth a long detour, but provided you're staying anywhere in between the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, you'll be glad you tried it – always supposing you aren't the kind of tourist who gets upset when you find they don't serve Hawaiian pizza.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    233
    76
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real, Authentic Italian Food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from our holiday in Italy. Other venues we visited whilst we were there will be reviewed elsewhere so this one is about our quest for some real, authentic Italian cuisine in Rome. I am of Italian Canadian origin and am quite used to great, homemade Italian food at home. After experiencing some dreadful fare in restaurants which came highly recommended to us by hotel staff and Trip Advisor reviews in Venice and Florence and on our first night in Rome, we stumbled upon this restaurant on a small cobble stoned street (almost an alley) by pure chance while walking about Rome after a day of shopping, wrote down the name of it and then researched some reviews back at the hotel. We decided to give this place a shot after our first night in Rome where we ate at a highly recommended place in the Via Veneto vicinity where we were staying and where the food was horrible and overpriced (my husband had the Osso Bucco which was pure rubber). The food at Il Giardino di Albino is real Italian food, all homemade and great value for the dollar. I speak fluent Italian and conveyed our disappointment with the food we had experienced in several restaurants while on our trip and the restaurant staff including Luca, the owner's son and Manager, assured us we would not be left wanting here. He was right! We ate there every night after our first visit. The only night we did not eat there was when we visited some of my relatives outside Rome...the cuisine was that good! We had several excellent dishes such as the antipasto della casa and the seafood antipasto. The gnocchi was excellent as was the rabbit, veal with Portobello mushroom, veal a la romana, and their tiramisu is exquisite.

If you are looking for great authentic and homemade Italian food with outstanding service, then you must eat at this restaurant whilst in Rome! Keep in mind many of the "authentic, where the locals eat" restaurants that come so highly recommended such as in the Travestere and elsewhere throughout Rome are packed with foreign tourists where the only locals present are the ones that work there. Il Giardino di Albino is gem where you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were a group of ten who were accommodated with a smile on both of the evenings we dined at Giardino di Albino. Wait staff were delightful, food and wine were wonderful. The ambiance is most inviting. I will certainly dine here again when visiting Rome and highly recommend it to anyone. The Limoncello after dinner was a perfect ending!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very charming, very good food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were referred here by our hotel desk clerk. So glad we took his advice. My husband became a big fan of gnocchi after eating here. The rabbit, veal and sausage sauce was awesome. Our waiter was an older gentleman who spoke little or no English and we spoke little or no Italian but we struggled through and he had a great sense of humor and patience since we wanted to share everything. The house white wine was very good and the highlight of the evening was a guitar player who played quietly during our dinner. It ended up being the most romantic evening we had in Rome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good and inexpensive”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here, with good service. 2 courses, a bootle of wine and coffee fir less than 60 Euro. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iain831
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed il giardino di albino also viewed

 

Been to il giardino di albino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing