We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #171 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Hotel Castle is a quiet hotel but very well looked after! Rooms were lovely and clean. Booked a taxi from Ciampino airport to hotel with the hotels recommended taxi service! Very nice man (more of a chauffeur than a taxi driver) Arrived at hotel about 10:30 am and wasnt supposed to check in until 12:30 but they let us in as soon as it was ready! Spacious rooms, decent bathroom. Shame about the out-dated hairdryer which according to my girlfriend took ages to dry hair. Dropped our luggage off and went to head for Rome centre. Got stopped by i think it was the owners brother who gave us maps and directions to bus stop and train station etc, then actually took us to Saxa Rubra station showing where in future we had to catch the bus. Bus takes around 5 minutes from around the corner of the hotel til Saxa Rubra station then the train takes around 15 minutes to get the Piazza Del Popolo which is near the top of the city centre! You have to buy bus tickets before getting on the bus and these are available from the news stand opposite the bus stop but beware, the news stand has very weird opening hours and you may find he has shut up shop and gone home in the day! We paid for a 3 days transport pass from the station which was brilliant! Use it on all buses, trains and the metro in Rome centre. Trains back from Rome to the station stop at around 22:30 so dont leave it too late! Back in the rooms the mini bar is very well priced and in reception they sell bottle of beer and chocolate etc! Breakfast is a continental buffet with cold meats and cheeses etc. Pool is very clean and modern. Only problem seemed to be that there were only 4 sunloungers, but didnt think the hotel was that busy for them to get used. Seemed to be more of a businessman stop over hotel but suits the tourist type of holiday well! Rooms are cleaned and fresh towels put in everyday! Would definately stay again, only downside would be the distance to the centre but not too far!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hotel Castle is a quiet, nice hotel in a park-like spot. Very friendly en obliging personal. Big, comfortable room. Everything is very clean. The owner takes you by car to the trainstation with direct connection to the Center of Rome (Piazza del Populo): the hotel is very suitable for a city-trip. Only disadvantage I can think of is the poor quality of public transport from and to the Airport Fiumicino.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a nice experience here. Everything was extremely clean (including the pool) and the breakfast was good. Great value overall. It is located just outside the main city and is accessible through public transportation. However, be absolutely clear on how to get there before heading into town because it can be confusing and public transportation closes at some point during the night. The staff were very helpful in helping us figure out how to transport ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Clean and affordable. Great family run establishment with easy access to city centre. Must admit we were hessitant of the distance to downtown at first, but fabrizio and his family made it so easy. Would 100% recommend and stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKCanada6553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Together with my boyfriend we arrived on Saturday Morning in Rome. We had some extremely bad experience at the airport and we spent there 8 hours- from 7 am till 2 pm. Finally, exhausted and a bit desperate we solved our problem, we took a rent-a-car and we drove directly to the hotel.
The position of the hotel is great- very easily reachable from the airport, very close to the city center, but in the same time in a quite and peaceful area full of trees and flowers. The first thing we saw was the big gate of the Castle surrounded with green leaves. As we saw this view we somehow forgot our problems. At the reception of the hotel we were warmly welcomed by the owner of the hotel- Fabrizio. He offered us refreshments as a compensation for the bad first experience in Rome. He did not charged us for the refreshments. He was very friendly!
We were fascinated by the room- very stylish, comfortable, spacious and relaxing room. In the bathroom we had all necessary articles. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and from the opened window a fresh air full of flowers aroma was entering in the room.
The staff is extremely friendly, all the time at disposal. It was pleasure to start our days with their smiles! Very good people! After I booked the room some days ago, Fabrizio sent me an e-mail confirmation. He was very kind- he asked at which airport we are lending and whether we need a transportation from there to the airport. He gave us directions how to find the hotel and he said we can call any time in case of questions and/ or issues.
The breakfast was delicious- do not miss the hot croissants together with your coffee
There is Wi-Fi in entire hotel.
We had an amazing stay in Hotel Castle
I highly recommend Hotel Castle not only for Family Holidays, but also for Business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yuliana_T_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Yuliana,

thank you very much for your nice review!

It is very rewarding for us to see that we have provided an excellent service to our guests and you were fully satisfied.

Thank you for the nice words you used to describe the dedication and helpfullness of our staff, we much appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you soon and for any furture inquiry do not hesitate to contact us directly, we would be happy to assist you personally and guarantee you another plesant stay with us.

Regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just landed back in the uk and had to mention what a great stay me and my partner just had at hotel castle. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and i will definatelty return during my next stay in rome. The price was also one of the most compettitive in rome with a quality breakfast included. The pool was clean and inviting (so much so i finally learned to swim after 26 years there!) and our room was more than acceptable even with it being the lowest priced room.

Great advice on transport from the staff and I was actually in central rome within 20 mins using the bus and metro which is also really cheap.

Thanks for a great weekend guys and we will see you again very soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stavske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We had toddlers with us and they even enjoyed the hotel. The commute was not that bad at all, very easy with the instruction you can get at the front desk. We love the ambience, comfort and cleanliness of the whole facility. We definitely recommend this hotel. We are planning to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Effyelle,

thank you for the time you spent in writing the review on your stay at Hotel Castle.

We are very satisfied that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Castle.

Don't forget to check our official website where you will always find the best offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards,

Fabrizio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#119 of 1,270 in Rome
369 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#199 of 1,270 in Rome
695 reviews
Eurogarden
#515 of 1,270 in Rome
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolo Borgo
#312 of 1,270 in Rome
848 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing