We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #127 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was one of our best experiences with a hotel both in Europe and the United States. We stayed for 5 nights and were very happy with our hotel selection. The hotel is family-run, and everyone is very dedicated to ensuring a pleasant stay. In the morning there is a delicious breakfast of pastries, yogurt, meat, cheese, and cereal along with coffee drinks of your choice (beautiful cappucinos!). The room was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a large patio. We really liked the personalized and homey experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to our friends.

The only drawback is the location, which is about 9 km from the city center (about 30 minutes by public transit, which can be inconvenient if you wish to return to your room in the middle of the day). We were offered rides to the nearest train station by which we could inexpensively (1.5 Euro) access the Rome city center every morning, which helped quite a bit. The staff really work to make sure you have transportation to access whatever you need.

There isn't much in the area (in terms of places to eat), so we spent pretty much all of our time in city center. The staff were very helpful in recommending things to do and provided us a tourist map that was helpful in getting around Rome.

Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    86
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
190
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castle hotel over the last weekend, and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were really super clean. Almost looked like new.. i suggest you take the deluxe room.. the price is not very different from the standard room and it seemed recently renovated..
The train station is quite reachable and the hotel owners are very keen on driving you to the station and helping with directions. However we also took a taxi, and we paid only 20 Euro to get to downtown. I suggest you take the train in the morning to go to the city center, and then take a taxi on your way back.. You will be tired, and the trains are quite full of people returning from work in the afternoon..
Over all we were really satisfied with the stay at the hotel, and we loved the clean swimming pool.. I dont write more the details, which you can read in the previous reviews..
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanaGajtandzievova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Dana,

thank you for your positive review about our Hotel Castle.

We are glad to see you had an enjoyable time in Rome.

It is very rewarding for us to read the feedbacks from our satisfied guests.

We are glad you enjoyed our swimming pool, where you can relax, sunbath and sip a nice drink on the sun!

Thank you also for the nice words about the room, we are sure future travelers will find it useful.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and we invite you to contact us directly for any further inquiry or information.

Regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at hotel castle for three nights and loved our choice. We knew that we were going to stay outside the city since we hired a car and knew we would be using public transport to see Rome. We chose this hotel for a couple of different reasons and we were not disappointed. The first thing you are struck with is how friendly and accommodating the staff are. As many have said, it is a family run hotel and you can tell in how much pride they all take in ensuring it is a great stay. On our way to the city on the first day, the two sons ensured that we knew exactly where we were going, provided us with all the information and maps and even drove us to the train station. The commute was simple, easy and relatively quick. Coming back after long days to the pool was especially refreshing. The hotel is clean, spacious and newly renovated. A great stay!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a 5 night stay at the end of June after reading the reviews on trip advisor. it was a lot cheaper than the city centre hotels (under £100 per night) and had a swimming pool, which you would struggle to get in the centre of Rome. The hotel itself is a small family run place. We booked a standard room which wasn't a bad size, had a safe, small tv, hair dryer, and was well stocked with bathroom toiletries. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were also changed daily. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast served in a small breakfast room. The hotel also had a small bar, and you could also order from a pasta menu if you didn't want to venture out for dinner. The swimming pool was very nice with comfortable loungers and was very clean. The location of the hotel isn't perfect. Its right by the ring road which you can hear whilst laying by the pool, although we couldn't hear anything from inside our room. There is also not much around the hotel in the way of bars, restaurants or shops. However, getting into Rome isnt too difficult. There is a bus stop about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the buses (which are fairly frequent) take 5 minutes to get to Saxa Rubra train station. However the hotel manager actually drove us to the train station each day so we only needed to get the bus home. From the train station, the train to Flaminio at the north end of the city takes about 15 minutes. From there you are in waking distance of many of the sites and also Flaminio has a metro (tube) station where you can catch tubes easily to other sites such as the Colloseum or Vatican. We found the public transport to be very cheap. A single train ticket cost 1.50 euros which also gets you on any metro or bus and is valid for 100 minutes. We also booked transfers recommended through the hotel from the airport to the hotel which cost 40 euros each way. Good service, much cheaper than a taxi. We used public transport for the rest of the time getting into Rome. Didn't need a taxi once. Door to door, if we timed it right we could be from our hotel room to the centre of Rome in half an hour. If we had to wait for a train etc the longest it took was about 50 minutes. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager even drove my husband to the local police station and helped translate after my husband was pick pocketed on the metro. I doubt many hotel staff in Rome would be so helpful. So all in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want good service, a nice pool to come back to after a day's site-seeing, if you don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation, and if you don't mind the commute into the centre of Rome. If you want everything on your door step and don't like public transport, then this is probably not the place for you. I however, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskimousegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here in May, 2012 on a family vacation for 3 nights. We wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced, had free parking for our rental car, and was near enough to Rome and public transportation that it would take 30 min or less to get to the city center. All of these things were true about the Hotel Castle, and the family who runs the hotel was very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating, even driving us to the train station in the morning to pick up the train to Rome. Breakfast was simple, but good and the coffee was very good. The rooms were quite clean and the bathrooms were kept up well. In these respects I would rate it 4 tripadvisor circles.
However, the location was noisy. The pool is adjacent to a high wall, on the other side is the major highway circling Rome. The walls in the hotel were thin, and we could hear late night phone calls, TV sets, and people talking in the adjacent rooms. The hallways echo, no carpeting and everytime someone went into their room, it was noisy and woke us up. The mattresses were pretty hard. These are the reasons for the 3 circle rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We are just back from staying at the Hotel Castle and I can honestly say we had a wonderful stay. I was with my grown up daughter and we had single rooms, they were the same size as double with a large king sized bed and masses of wardrobe space. The en-suite shower room was excellent and power shower was great. Everything was spotlessly clean. Being slightly out of the centre was a bonus for us as the swimming pool and loungers were fantastic and one of the reasons we chose this hotel. We didn’t find the trip into centre of Rome difficult at all, the public transport was very quick and easy, but be aware that the bus back stops right outside the train station (the road before the taxi stance). If you don’t mind a train journey into centre of Rome then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bourezgui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed for few days during a trip to Italy. I chose the hotel has it was
handy for my business meeting , but other than that the location is not very good,
especially if you want to have an easy ride into the city: in fact it is close to
the highway and to get to the city public transport is terrible in Rome so it took
ages to get there!
The hotel was quite nice, rooms were pretty big , in modern style and above all clean.
Breakfast was quite poor and not many choices but staff was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amal928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#134 of 1,256 in Rome
308 reviews
Piccolo Borgo
#282 of 1,256 in Rome
813 reviews
Eurogarden
#503 of 1,256 in Rome
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#50 of 1,256 in Rome
3,013 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#234 of 1,256 in Rome
649 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#149 of 1,256 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing