We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #171 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

After reading some of the reviews from other travelers, we weren't sure what to expect, but this hotel was overall a GREAT choice! It's not far from the city center, there's an AWESOME running/biking path just a few blocks away that takes you straight into the city if you choose to do so. The breakfast was a nice selection of pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurt and juices, and staff were prompt in requesting your coffee choices each morning. Fabrizio, the owner, was so helpful immediately upon our arrival, helped us chart out places to park and then walk around the city, and overall made is feel at home. The rooms and the grounds were clean, attractive, and definitely made for a pleasant stay. The only drawbacks we saw were the tiny bathrooms and the lack of a mini-fridge in the room. Other than those two things, everything else was great! Thanks to Fabrizio and his staff for a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    85
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
189
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Hotel Castle for 3 nights recently and were extremely happy there. The owner Fabrizio was excellent and was so helpful from the moment we booked our stay. I had a few questions about how to book Sistine Chapel and Colosseum tickets and from the get go gave great information in a timely fashion. I don't think I waited more than half an hour for an email response to my questions. Amazing! When we got there the hotel was immaculate, spotless, looks newly built, good size rooms, great bathroom, aircon worked like a dream, no issues whatsoever. The pool was fantastic, lots of comfy beds to lie on and shaded area with seats and tables in case you wanted it. As the hotel is about 8km from the centre Fabrizio gave us a lift to the station each day so we could start our day nice and easily, this really does make this hotel unbelievably convenient. The train takes about 15 minutes so we were in the centre of Rome very quickly and with the brilliant map we were given on arrival we were able to easily make our way to all the amazing sights. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choices from sweet to savoury, cereals, yoghurt, bread rolls, hams, cheese, fruit, fruit juice etc and we had a lovely cappuccino each morning too, which I believe were complimentary. One night we didn't fancy going back into town for dinner so Fabrizio said if we were happy to wait until 8pm (when he finished his shift) he would drive us to a good restaurant 2kms away, this was most appreciated! And he asked the staff to arrange us a taxi when we had finished our meal. Things felt very simple and comfortable at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it!! I would love to go back to Rome and I'd love to stay here again. I cannot fault this place at all!! This is a family business that started over 30 years ago (maybe even more) and they treat their guests as though they are family too, nothing is too much trouble. Well done Fabrizio and Stefano for making this part of our holiday really amazing, Mark and I are so grateful :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was one of our best experiences with a hotel both in Europe and the United States. We stayed for 5 nights and were very happy with our hotel selection. The hotel is family-run, and everyone is very dedicated to ensuring a pleasant stay. In the morning there is a delicious breakfast of pastries, yogurt, meat, cheese, and cereal along with coffee drinks of your choice (beautiful cappucinos!). The room was very clean, well air-conditioned, and had a large patio. We really liked the personalized and homey experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to our friends.

The only drawback is the location, which is about 9 km from the city center (about 30 minutes by public transit, which can be inconvenient if you wish to return to your room in the middle of the day). We were offered rides to the nearest train station by which we could inexpensively (1.5 Euro) access the Rome city center every morning, which helped quite a bit. The staff really work to make sure you have transportation to access whatever you need.

There isn't much in the area (in terms of places to eat), so we spent pretty much all of our time in city center. The staff were very helpful in recommending things to do and provided us a tourist map that was helpful in getting around Rome.

Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castle hotel over the last weekend, and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were really super clean. Almost looked like new.. i suggest you take the deluxe room.. the price is not very different from the standard room and it seemed recently renovated..
The train station is quite reachable and the hotel owners are very keen on driving you to the station and helping with directions. However we also took a taxi, and we paid only 20 Euro to get to downtown. I suggest you take the train in the morning to go to the city center, and then take a taxi on your way back.. You will be tired, and the trains are quite full of people returning from work in the afternoon..
Over all we were really satisfied with the stay at the hotel, and we loved the clean swimming pool.. I dont write more the details, which you can read in the previous reviews..
I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanaGajtandzievova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Dana,

thank you for your positive review about our Hotel Castle.

We are glad to see you had an enjoyable time in Rome.

It is very rewarding for us to read the feedbacks from our satisfied guests.

We are glad you enjoyed our swimming pool, where you can relax, sunbath and sip a nice drink on the sun!

Thank you also for the nice words about the room, we are sure future travelers will find it useful.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and we invite you to contact us directly for any further inquiry or information.

Regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at hotel castle for three nights and loved our choice. We knew that we were going to stay outside the city since we hired a car and knew we would be using public transport to see Rome. We chose this hotel for a couple of different reasons and we were not disappointed. The first thing you are struck with is how friendly and accommodating the staff are. As many have said, it is a family run hotel and you can tell in how much pride they all take in ensuring it is a great stay. On our way to the city on the first day, the two sons ensured that we knew exactly where we were going, provided us with all the information and maps and even drove us to the train station. The commute was simple, easy and relatively quick. Coming back after long days to the pool was especially refreshing. The hotel is clean, spacious and newly renovated. A great stay!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a 5 night stay at the end of June after reading the reviews on trip advisor. it was a lot cheaper than the city centre hotels (under £100 per night) and had a swimming pool, which you would struggle to get in the centre of Rome. The hotel itself is a small family run place. We booked a standard room which wasn't a bad size, had a safe, small tv, hair dryer, and was well stocked with bathroom toiletries. The room was cleaned daily and the towels were also changed daily. The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast served in a small breakfast room. The hotel also had a small bar, and you could also order from a pasta menu if you didn't want to venture out for dinner. The swimming pool was very nice with comfortable loungers and was very clean. The location of the hotel isn't perfect. Its right by the ring road which you can hear whilst laying by the pool, although we couldn't hear anything from inside our room. There is also not much around the hotel in the way of bars, restaurants or shops. However, getting into Rome isnt too difficult. There is a bus stop about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the buses (which are fairly frequent) take 5 minutes to get to Saxa Rubra train station. However the hotel manager actually drove us to the train station each day so we only needed to get the bus home. From the train station, the train to Flaminio at the north end of the city takes about 15 minutes. From there you are in waking distance of many of the sites and also Flaminio has a metro (tube) station where you can catch tubes easily to other sites such as the Colloseum or Vatican. We found the public transport to be very cheap. A single train ticket cost 1.50 euros which also gets you on any metro or bus and is valid for 100 minutes. We also booked transfers recommended through the hotel from the airport to the hotel which cost 40 euros each way. Good service, much cheaper than a taxi. We used public transport for the rest of the time getting into Rome. Didn't need a taxi once. Door to door, if we timed it right we could be from our hotel room to the centre of Rome in half an hour. If we had to wait for a train etc the longest it took was about 50 minutes. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager even drove my husband to the local police station and helped translate after my husband was pick pocketed on the metro. I doubt many hotel staff in Rome would be so helpful. So all in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want good service, a nice pool to come back to after a day's site-seeing, if you don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation, and if you don't mind the commute into the centre of Rome. If you want everything on your door step and don't like public transport, then this is probably not the place for you. I however, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskimousegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here in May, 2012 on a family vacation for 3 nights. We wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced, had free parking for our rental car, and was near enough to Rome and public transportation that it would take 30 min or less to get to the city center. All of these things were true about the Hotel Castle, and the family who runs the hotel was very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating, even driving us to the train station in the morning to pick up the train to Rome. Breakfast was simple, but good and the coffee was very good. The rooms were quite clean and the bathrooms were kept up well. In these respects I would rate it 4 tripadvisor circles.
However, the location was noisy. The pool is adjacent to a high wall, on the other side is the major highway circling Rome. The walls in the hotel were thin, and we could hear late night phone calls, TV sets, and people talking in the adjacent rooms. The hallways echo, no carpeting and everytime someone went into their room, it was noisy and woke us up. The mattresses were pretty hard. These are the reasons for the 3 circle rating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#115 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Monteverde
Le Fate Apartments
Le Fate Apartments
#141 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccolo Borgo
#294 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#211 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#41 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing