We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
Review of Hotel Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castle
Ranked #162 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights to visit the sights of Rome. It is a lovely hotel with nice clean rooms and a pool. Although it is a short train ride from the centre the hotel offers a free shuttle service to the train station in the morning and evening, available to take you between set times whenever you are ready. They also have different types of train tickets at the hotel which is useful. We were given a free upgrade to a Deluxe room when we arrived and although it was out of the shuttle service times they offered to take us to the station. There is a good selection of food at breakfast and a restaurant within walking distance. The only down side to the location was that having spent all day in Rome in the heat it would have been nice to have come back to the room to change for dinner but as the shuttle didn't start running again until 7pm we ended up staying and eating before coming back to hotel. However with the hotel being so reasonably priced compared to hotels in the centre and with great service this was only a small negative and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannahmm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    87
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
191
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We only stayed here one night and stayed at another hotel (B&B) for a week. I wish we would have stayed at Hotel Castle the entire time.

The Hotel is north of town, which requires one to take the train into central Rome. However, the Hotel staff made it easy. They drove us from the Hotel (for free) to the train station and were waiting to pick us up when we returned (even though we did not specify a particular time, the driver was there waiting). The service was excellent and, IMO, atypical of Rome.

The rooms were very nice, impeccably clean, and well appointed. The price was a great value compared to other hotels closer to central Rome.

If you want a nice place to stay, and don't mind a few minutes travel on the train to central Rome, Hotel Castle would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed with our family of four (children aged 13 and 7). The rooms were clean and spacious, but more importantly, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to nearest train stop (urban line), which will get you into downtown Rome within 20 mins, plus they sell tickets at the hotel. Internet and breakfast included. Highly recommend for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrod k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great service. Spacious rooms. Fully equipped with all kind of perks and pleasant surprises. Every time we wanted to go to the train station, Fabrizio would drop whatever he was doing to take us to the station. He was fast, friendly and fluid in English. We needed to send out postcards overseas and Fabrizio sold us the stamps and mailed them for us. This hotel is fantastic! Had we known it was going to be so comfortable, we would have chosen it as our place to stay for our entire honeymoon.

Room Tip: If you are in your honeymoon, make sure you let the hotel staff know, they might surprise you with f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupofhotcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Cupofhotc,

thank you for the time you spent in writing the review on your stay at Hotel Castle.
We are very satisfied that you enjoy your stay at Hotel Castle.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
ATTENTION: The shuttle service is available ONLY during the morning and the evening.

However, we invite you to contact the hotel to know the timetable and to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your stay as it depends on the period .

Don't forget to check our official website where you will always find the best offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely little hotel. The staff was very helpful (they bring us when we need to the train station to go to the down town.
Clean room, nice breakfast and cheap this is the perfect deal to visit Rome for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine_0038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Valentine,

thank you for the time you spent in writing the review on your stay at Hotel Castle.
We are delighted to learn that you have had a comfortable stay with us.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
ATTENTION: The shuttle service is available ONLY during the morning and the evening.

However, we invite you to contact the hotel to know the timetable and to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your stay as it depends on the period .

Don't forget to check our official website where you will always find the best offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future,

Best Regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Good hotel, clean, nice rooms and fantastic service. Although 20 mins out of Rome by train, the owners (family run) make it very easy. They couldn't have been more helpful with arranging 3-day unlimited transport tickets, open-top bus tickets and Vatican tour tickets. They also provide transport to the station at the beginning of the day and were always waiting for us when we got off the train at the end of the day - it couldn't have been easier.

Good breakfast with great coffee.

We were glad we availed ourselves of their tame taxi service from Fumicino airport to the hotel - a fair price (EUR45) and money well spent. (The train from the centre 'Terminus' for two people is EUR30 plus Metro and bus)

Nice people and fantastic value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear GandTExet,

thank you for the time you spent in writing the review on your stay at Hotel Castle.
We are delighted to learn that you have had a comfortable stay with us.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
ATTENTION: The shuttle service is available ONLY during the morning and the evening.

However, we invite you to contact the hotel to know the timetable and to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your stay as it depends on the period .

DON'T FORGET to check our official website where you will always find THE BEST offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future,

Best Regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want to be little away from city centre yet close to FCO airport. We flew in and out of Rome so this place was perfect for us. It is 15-20 mins away from city centre and the hotel provides shuttle service to and from the metro station. They also sell metro tickets which came handy for our first time travel to the city centre.

Fabrizio and his family are taking care of the property really well. The room was clean and spacious. It also had complimentary toiletries including a mini sewing kit and slippers. We liked the service at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioVannarelli, Proprietario at Hotel Castle, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Neel3110,

thank you for the time you spent in writing the review on your stay at Hotel Castle.
We are delighted to learn that you have had a comfortable stay with us.

We would like to enhance the fact that our shuttle service is free of charge.
ATTENTION: The shuttle service is available ONLY during the morning and the evening.

However, we invite you to contact the hotel to know the timetable and to make sure that the shuttle service is in function during your stay as it depends on the period .

DON'T FORGET to check our official website where you will always find THE BEST offers possible and also all the informations you need to organize your stay.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future,

Best Regards,
Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#122 of 1,258 in Rome
320 reviews
Eurogarden
#491 of 1,258 in Rome
233 reviews
Piccolo Borgo
#287 of 1,258 in Rome
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A.Roma Lifestyle Hotel
#51 of 1,258 in Rome
3,122 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#259 of 1,258 in Rome
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle

Property: Hotel Castle
Address: Salita di Castel Giubileo 196 | Uscita Castel Giubileo del GRA, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castle 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing