We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Ranked #178 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“avoid”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked here a standard room for three nights. Location is good, close to train station and main city tourist attractions. Room was small and bathroom with shower. Air conditioning was not on even it was very warm during night. Room was made up every day. However there is a lack of cleaning routines as some areas were never touched. Furniture and walls were dirty. Bed was new and nice with massage function. Breakfast is not too good. Max 3 star hotel. I will definitely choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David30e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    775
    218
    55
    25
See reviews for
371
856
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Close to the Termini station, restaurants and transport Hub for the city tours, the hotel itself provided very few amenities i would associate with an equally starred hotel in most major cities.
Where the staff were friendly and the rooms comfortable if a little compact, the bar was unfortunately understocked and closed very early, there was no room service, and the breakfast buffet was the worst i have ever eaten of!
No internal food available and undercooked food at breakfast along with overcrowding meant it was easier to go out to a local cafe before starting off on touring the city.
The room was a delux double, with enough room to barely pass my partner going to the bathroom, which had no bath and the smallest cubicle for showering ever.
No telephone signal in the room and intermittant wifi was a problem, but not a spoiler for us.
Open the curtains and look at the kitchen and fire escape, but again, this is common in inner city hotels.
No, i've stayed in Hostels with better services, though it was very clean, so if i go back to Rome, it's another hotel for me i should say.

Room Tip: All the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel. The room was very large for European hotel standards. This was a triple room with a sofa bed. That was what sold me on booking the hotel. They had massage beds like many others have stated and it was nice to have after a long day of walking in Rome.

The included breakfast was only okay. Same thing everyday (We stayed for 3 nights) and the selection wasn't much. No fresh fruit, not sure if that is how it is in Italy in general. Still it is nice to have breakfast ready in the morning.

Location was good being right next to the Roma Termini. That helped upon arrival and leaving on our train to Florence. That said around Roma Termini was very much a tourist area so the restaurants there were tourist traps.

If I were to go back to Rome I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallisellen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In general we were satisfied with the hotel, the room was clean and service perfect. The bed can be adjusted electically and has a massage feature. Breakfast was ok. What was really bad, was the WLAN support. Most of the time it was not working. In the lobby hall and the restaurant we were not able to connect to the WLAN though the signal was good. In the room, we had to reconnect everytime when we came to the room and most of the time after connection. We still had no internet. If I hadn't bought a roaming package for my smartphone, we had a real problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwildu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location is closed to Termini probably the only pros for this hotel. Room is small and toilet is smelly. No Kettle in room. Wifi is not working normal and the daily breakfast is horrible.
Not worth for the room charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had 4 nights with breakfast. Staff was friendly but not everything was what we would have liked.
Dissapointing to have 2beds put together instead of one whole bed for 2 persons. For a romantic trip to Rome that was a big disapointment. The promised to do something about it but nothing changeer after we returned from a long day playing tourist. One day we came back and we didn't have pillow covers. Breakfast was always the same. Boring. But it was included so we endured it. Airco also did not work well. One day the power went on and of in the morning and we didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First of all the hotel staff are extremely polite and friendly. Look up their website and email them regarding a taxi transfer. A private taxi driver arranged by the hotel will meet you and will cost you 55euros from Fiumancino. These are each way prices. If there are 4 of you this is the quickest and best way to get from the airport. The train I believe is about 15euro each and the bus is about 6 euros each, but we couldn't be bothered with the hassle of queing for the bus and then walking (albeit a short walk from the bus terminal). Hotel is perfectly placed to see everything. Close to the bus/train terminal. Close to the Basillica de Santa Maria and the Kings Palace, both very impressive. The rooms are small but clean and have everything you need for a short stay including free wifi, mini bar and hairdryers. THE BEDS ARE FABULOUS, ADJUSTABLE WITH MASSAGE and MEMORY FOAM MATTRESSES AND PILLOWS - SPOTLESS! Rooms have aircon and use this rather than an open window at night as being in the centre the traffic noise is loud, window closed blocks this out completely though. Perfect location for loads of good restaurants nearby. Breakfast was continental, toast, crossants, pastrys, fruit, cereal, juices, meats, cheese, scramble eggs, bacon, basic but adequate. Book an open top bus tour to see everything quickly the hop on hop off one for 3 days was 30 euros each but its a great way to see everything. You can walk to the Colosseum from hotel about 20 mins, get a guide, we did a night guide for 20 euros each, it was fantastic, would like to do a day visit next time. The walks to most of the major sights were 20-30 mins. The Vatican a little further. The hop on hop off bus drops you near each of the sights though, we used City tours. Taxi's to the Vatican from the hotel about 10 euros. Agree the price up front. We got in a cab from the Colosseum back to the hotel and he wanted to charge us 18 euros so we all got back out again, a man watching us said he had just done the same thing with the same driver so check the price and don't get ripped off. Colosseum back to the hotel again about 8-10 euros. If you can afford it, it is a MUST to get a guided tour at the vatican, as it avoids a 2-3 hour queue and give you information you would never have known. Its 48euros and the company we used were fab What a Life Tours. After the tour, You must sit down and have a rest and then climb to the top of the dome on top of the vatican for fabulous views of the whole of Rome its 7 euros, lift for first 200 steps then walk 320 steps, difficult but well worth it! Trevi fountain a must, free to see apart from your coin you will want to flip in, its very busy around that area, great restaurants around there, Pantheon a must and is free. Beware the roman gladiators you see dressed up are there to charge you 5 euros each for a picture, if there are 2 of them they charge you 5 euros each! don't get ripped off. Some only charge 2 euros. All the churches are fabulous and free to enter but like a donation. Spanish Steps free to see. For something a little fabulous for your evening meal location wise - Try the roof garden restaurant and terrace at the hotel forum. Expensive but lovely, especially the corner table, you will need to book though and they don't open Sundays, sadly we couldn't get booked in but looked great will do next time. If you have 3 days 4 nights you will get to see most things, if you pack in your day and are prepared to do loads of walking, comfy shoes a must. If you have longer you will find time to leisurely walk down all the fabulous side streets and enjoy the ambience of Rome, little tucked away bars and restaurant and little gems. Saturday evening the areas surrounding the hotel are buzzing with people sitting outside by fountains drinking and chatting. You can eat on a budget with pizza's and pasta from about 9 euros, House wine is generally 12-14 euros a bottle. However if you want to go our drinking then be prepared to spend alot of money. Rome we loved you and we would definetely go back and would be more than happy to stay at this hotel. Only one complaint about Rome and that is the amount of "looky looky" men selling stuff. Why would we want to go to Rome and buy and African carving or dish from Somalians! In Africa yes. Although I have to say I liked the look of many of the fake designer bags that were being sold by the street traders (sadly I can't afford the real thing) although I didn't buy any as had no luggage space, however did watch and listen alot and again if you do buy, haggle and don't take first price, I reckon you can get these for about 15/20euros each. Loads of beggars, watch them before you give money, they hunch over and pretend they can't walk and then once they have the money they straighten up and walk away perfectly well. Also watch your pockets, money and possessions, like any major city pick pockets everywhere. As city breaks go, this is now one of my favourites. We had fab weather with just one night and morning of rain, I would imagine a weekend of rain could have dampened our spirits but you can't account for the weather. LOVE ROME HOPE YOU DO TOO

Room Tip: We had 305 and 306, tiny but fine and right by the stairs and lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#105 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#129 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Lucilla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lucilla Palace

Property: Augusta Lucilla Palace
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#184 Family Hotel in Rome
#246 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Lucilla Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Augusta Lucilla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Lucilla Palace Rome
Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing