We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Ranked #184 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The hotel is only 100 meters from the Terimni Station, which is central for almost everything except maybe the Vatican which is a good 40 minute walk away - we got the metro line. The hotel itself is quite ok, free continental breakfast in the morning is basic, but it will set you up for the day. The issue I had with the hotel was the location, there were a lot of homeless people around, and at night in the dark, it was quite intimidating. We were two single girls, and it was a bit nerve wracking at times. The hotel is very good value for money, and the rooms while small, are very clean. The shower is great, really powerful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishLouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel
Yes it has just been refitted and is very clean and tidy.
The rooms a very small as is the bathroom.
However the Buffet breakfast is possibly the worst I have ever had in over thirty years of travel.
For this room rate you can do a lot better for your dollar elsewhere.
Four star it's not, no room service bar not part of the hotel so no charge back just small things but the value is just not there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripaholics57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This hotel isn't fancy, if you're expecting a five star hotel type place, go else where. This hotel is located blocks from the Termini Station which is convenient coming from Fumicino Airport as well as the numerous subways. The Colloseum isn't too far of a walk either, as well as the Spanish Steps.

If you're looking to save some money and stay at a clean, decent hotel, this is it. Besides, who spends all day inside a hotel when you're visiting Europe? You're out all the time enjoying the country!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Disclosure: We travel with two small children, so I'm generally looking for a four-person room, which isn't easy to find at a good price. This hotel offered a good price for a four-person room in Rome, but its location is what sold me. And the maps didn't lie.

This hotel--even with two small children in tow--is truly only two minutes from the Termini metro station. An additional minute gets you into the Termini building itself. Why is this useful? 1) Rome's two metro lines only cross here. And 2) there is a taxi stop and a bus station hub at Termini.

Let me also join the fray in heartily agreeing with everyone that this is a solid 3-star, not a 4-star, but with modest 3-star pricing, were you really expecting a 4-star?

As for the breakfast, I have to say that the breakfast should be evaluated by European standards. This is a European hotel, after all. In the breakfast room, you'll hear many Italians, a LOT of Spaniards, some French-speakers and Eastern Europeans and only a smattering of English-speakers. You'll notice that the Europeans seem to be enjoying their breakfast just fine. They understand that to get a latte, they have to mix the very thick almost syrupy black coffee with the milk (conveniently kept hot for you in a boiler) in a carafe and take it to their table. Also, why would you expect your bacon to be cooked American style (crispy) at a non-American hotel? *Tip*: If the coffee bothers you that much and you don't want to make your own latte, you can nicely ask the breakfast-room attendant to make you a cappuccino at the professional coffee machine in the bar, as at least one Spanish family did every morning. ;o) But if you ask her for a latte, she'll just point you to the coffee and milk dispensers.

What you get at this hotel:
* Perfect location--quiet--and less than 5 minutes to Termini. This is also a l10-minute walk from Santa Maria Maggiore, one of the major churches of Rome. You could also walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum in 20 minutes or so, but the metro is so convenient and inexpensive. There are also oodles of excellent restaurants in the adjacent street--Via Principe.
* A quiet room, with walls that are padded and fabric-lined, making for a peaceful night.
* Breakfast included. Although some reviewers were less pleased with this feature, our four-person family found something to eat every morning. And if you set your standards to a European Continental breakfast, you'll find many choices.
* Friendly staff.
* A minibar that you can use to keep something small cold if you move things around.
* A safe in your room.

What you will NOT get:
* Free Internet access--in fact, a 1-hour access code will cost you 5 euro.
* A business center with a printer. Although there is a single terminal for which you can purchase access.
* An in-house restaurant for lunch or dinner.
* A gym.
* A pool.
* Easy parking--at least not that I could see. But this is the hotel for a group intending to make full use of the public transport system, which is not as extensive as some other European cities' but certainly one of the most affordable.

Overall, the location is tough to beat. Especially with small children who don't want to walk long to the metro or to dinner. And the price was tough to top in that neighborhood as well. Especially for a family of four that requires a quad room. If you adjust your expectations to a 3-star and need a decently priced room close to Termini, this hotel might just fit the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haolepino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

stayed here for 3 nights in march, found the hotel excellent value, rooms were good size, modern an very clean, only thing was shower head was broke so that was awkward but not a magor deal, hotel is in a good location if u dont mind walking,only place not within walking distance is the vatican but you can get the no 40 from the bus termi up the road,take a right outside hotel cost only a euro. enjoy your trip...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Great, well priced hotel. We stayed for 7 nights. Rooms were very free from noise from other rooms but we did get some traffic noise from the street. Italians LOVE to blow their horns! The hotel made reservations for us at the Borghese gallery and the staff were very nice to us (unlike what others have posted). Maybe they are not used to the Italian culture. The only downside would be no free wireless access. I think they would please a lot more people if they just added a few euro to the room cost and gave everyone free internet. OK breakfast. Room and bath are a typical size by European standards. I was impressed that our room was always cleaned by time we arrived back (Even when we came back after a late start and were only gone a few hours) and housekeeping never knocked on our door and woke us up even when we slept in late (unlike other places I have stayed). The bed was firm but not too firm that it hurt your joints. The location CANNOT be beat. We were a three minute walk from the metro, busses and the train station. Rome involves a lot of walking but using public transport helps to save your feet! Go to the restaurant Babbo's on the street behind the Baths of Diocletian. The best steak and well priced at 17 euro! This hotel had nice toiletries, towel warmer (to dry clothes on!) and nice big towels. The restaurant and bar are not that great so do not expect to have a great time there but why stay in your hotel with other tourists when you have all of Rome and its people to explore? We were extremely pleased with our choice and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biology44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We realy enjoyed our stay in Augusta, the location is perfect, we had a inside view room, I recomend for silence obsessed like us, breakfast is lets say 3*, but everything else compensate for this.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinaSibiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#168 of 1,268 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,268 in Rome
1,317 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#100 of 1,268 in Rome
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#134 of 1,268 in Rome
325 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#310 of 1,268 in Rome
949 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#98 of 1,268 in Rome
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Lucilla Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lucilla Palace

Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 24, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#184 Family Hotel in Rome
#246 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £75 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Lucilla Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Augusta Lucilla Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Lucilla Palace Rome
Augusta Lucilla Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing