We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, no breakfast, no personal privacy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2,445 of 3,794 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A bed, a kitchen with no amenities but a fridge that was checked and shared by staff regularly. A shower with a door too narrow to get through. Staff that raided personal property in bags to check for alcohol (even in gift boxes) that were confiscated and opened. "Breakfast" available at 8am (biscuits, juice and coffee), but not ready at 8:15, and no way to get it early when we had an early start. Demands of passports and payment in full up front. Staff rude and inconsiderate. A sad way to finish our wonderful holiday in Rome.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this one, unless you are just after a bed, and nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcoelaura, General Manager at Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimo ospite,
Grazie per la sua recensione.
Penso che il problema si sia creato per le bottiglie di alcolici portate in camera a nostra insaputa.
Come ben specificato nel regolamento della struttura, inviato all’atto della prenotazione, e come specificato dietro la porta delle camere, non è consentito l’uso degli alcolici nelle camere.
L’utilizzo del frigorifero non è consentito perché non è previsto l’uso della cucina.
Questo vale per tutti gli ospiti e per LEGGE non si possono conservare cibi personali: non abbiamo infatti la manipolazione di cibo e tutto quello che entra deve essere confezionato regolarmente.

Purtroppo il nostro personale si è trovato in grossa difficoltà con voi, quando è stato aggredito verbalmente solo perché aveva rimosso le bottiglie dalle camere (restituite poi al momento del check out).
Grazie mille per l’attenzione.

Lo staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

14 - 20 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

The customer service people are extremely unprofessional and careless. Specially a lady named Laura. I booked my reservation with them in Rome. My flight was arriving in Rome at 8:30 pm and they told me that I couldn't check in that late. They do not let people check in after 6 on. Noone tells you this when you book your reservation. Then thy suggested you to they their cab transportation because this will be the only way for them to give you the keys. They forsed you to spend am extra €50.
My experience wih them is horrible. I i secosed to camcel my reservation a day nefore and even thought this is theirbolivu theu didnt want to accept my camcelaion. I decided not to stay there becaise i was not gong to be able to sleep but they went ahead and charged my card anyways. I do not recommend this place! There are so many places in italy where people are happy to take you at any time and are very nice and polite! Do not stay There!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colombia_1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

North of the Vatican City walls you will find a small B&B - Marco e Laura.

Its contained on the ground floor of a resisdential block of condos.

It has parking infront which is pleantiful.

The rooms are clean and adequate as a place to sleep only. If you are looking to spend any time in the room, there is nothing for you other than a 40" tv. The rooms are comfortable and have heating and aircon which is controlled by the room user. The bathroom is lovely and has a shower with good pressure and heat.

As the name suggests, this is a B&B... However, do not expect breakfast... Not even continental. What you are served is a packet of toast.. Yes you read correctly. With marmalade only. If thats your sort of cuisine then knock yourself out, as there was loads of it left as no one eats it. However, coffee is freshly made and was lovely.
"Breakfast" served 8am - 10am.

Location was okay. It is right outsidethe Vatican city walls. However, about 3/4mile from the actual entrance. It is the wrong side of the River Tiber if you plan of visiting the Collosem or Trevvi etc. however is has the benefit of good transport links to all Piazzas both sides of the Tiber.
Bus 46 - Piazza Venecia (colleseum, Trevvi etc)
Bus 49 - Vatican City and Piazza San Pietro.

I enjoyed my stay would i return..? Yes. As i am a keen walker and didnt mind the mileage. However if your not mobile or dont fancy using public transport (which is excellent and safe) find yourself somewhere more central.

- grand hotel
- hotel orange
- Palladium

2  Thank welsh105
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The room was clean and spacious, air conditioned, Wi-Fi, bathroom perfectly equipped, friendly staff.
Good connection to the airport if you take a commuter train line FR3 from the nearby Valle Aurelia to Roma Trastevere (3 stations, cost 1 euro) and then FR1 to Fiumicino (which is nearly twice as cheap as Leonardo Express). Trains come every 15 min., check time-table on the Trenitalia website.
It is not really a walkable distance to the city center, at least I didn't try it, but fairly speaking there was no need to as the buses did their job, and the bus stop is a few steps away from the door. Buses follow no time-table and sometimes make you wait, especially on Sundays, but I gather this is the problem of the Italian buses in general, not of the hotel. It was allright for us since we'd spent all day in the city and would come back only to sleep. Bus lines are 49 for Vatican museums, 46 and N5 (night bus) for the city center.
Breakfast could really be improved by replacing the dry biscuits with a fresh croissant.
Rooms sometimes can be rather noisy because of the heavy traffic in the street below and the walls a bit too thin. The first issue could be solved by wearing ourselves out during the day, closing the windows that are rather well sound proof and turning the air condition on. As to the second, we were lucky enough to have heard our neighbours only once, when they were making some phone call in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anglotourismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stay here for 2 nights 3 days and the rooms where good but that was it, we had breakfast included but it's toast with jam and coffee.
And there is only one bus a front of the B&B and they told us it's every 5 minutes but it was every 15 a 20 minutes in 90 degrees or hotter,and no place for shadow so you have to by lucky.
The distance with the bus was 5 minutes to Vaticaan city and 10 a15 minutes towards Rome downtown.Rooms have wifi and airco and where nice and big, but no English service and no warm welcome

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryL358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Laura was away during our stay so maybe the attention to detail is better when she is around. The welcome and service wasn't bad but it wasn't warm and friendly. The 2 staff we had contact with didn't seem particularly interested in us and the lady who did the breakfast had a mobile phone permanently attached to her ear. Guests coming in to breakfast looked vaguely uncomfortable and unsure of what to do & the hostess was always distracted on the phone.
On one day our room wasn't cleaned at all + I had to ask for toilet paper. On one night I was woken by the entryphone - some poor guests had arrived late to find a note telling them that the key to their room was in the bar next door. But the bar was closed. I don't know where they spent the night as I could only let them in to the block not in to their room.
It's very convenient for buses, 5 minutes from the Metro and only a 20-minute walk from the Vatican.
With a little bit of effort this B&B could go from "nothing special" to "wonderful" but that needs the staff to feel committed to giving their guests a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Hello, I'm Laura, the owner of B&B.
Thanks a lot for your feedback but I want to explain what happened last week:
I was in holiday and we had a big problem with air conditioned in some rooms.
So Antonella staied at telephone with me trying to solve this problem.
Antonella is very responsible woman, all people love her, she loves too mutch her work.
As regards the guest arriving in the late evening, we have check in time till 6 p.m.
We tried to contact clients before arrival in order to advise us their arrival time but nobody infomed us.
So we left the keys at the near bar hoping they arrive within 8 p.m. then the bar closed.
But this is not our fault, we always do our best contacting guest bofore arrival in order to advise of all our rules and giving them all informations.
But we also need tour operators and guest help to do our best.
And sometime it doesn't happen.
Thanks a lot for choosing us, I hope to see you soon in Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It is a nice and well-kept place, we appreciated the spacious bathroom and nice furniture in the room. It's very close to the metro station Valle Aurelia, from where it's a short ride to Vatican or the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#101 of 1,273 in Rome
497 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#385 of 1,273 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Sorelle Lumiere
#297 of 3,794 in Rome
110 reviews
Rome ApartHotel
#478 of 3,794 in Rome
103 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,591 of 3,794 in Rome
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Aurelia 232, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,445 of 3,794 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast is the nearest bed & breakfast in the Saint Peter’s Basil, with cheap prices permits you to pass beautiful days in the charming City of Rome.Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast has been entirely renovated to offer to customers the maximum possible comfort and an high professionalism, that mixed to a scrupulous care will make you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco e Laura Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco e Laura Hotel Rome
Marco e Laura Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing