We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Roman Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Holidays
Ranked #769 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this apartment for four days. It is very conveniently located near the Vatican museums in a quiet location. The apartments are on the top floor of an old building. As with many of the European apartment buildings the elevators are a later addition and as a rule they are quite tiny. Even by that standards the elevator in this apartment are a joke! It can take one person and one small bag, that's it!

The room itself was quite tiny though adequate. The air conditioning in the middle of hot summer was less than effective and the room becomes quite hot.

The manager of this apartment is a lovely girl and was there to receive us when we arrived, arranging our pickup from the airport. However after that we never saw her again! There is usually no one at the front desk to help you with your inquiries at all! You are on your own. Even when we checked out we didn't see anyone at the front desk. We simply left the keys in the room and left.

Definitely recommend it if you are in for a short stay of two or three days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Venu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a B&B rather than a hotel but the staff were very helpful regarding check in arrangements even when we had to change them. The room and ensuite was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The air conditioning was a boon and totally necessary in the heat. The decor is smart but a bit dark. Although it is more to the north of the city, Metro and bus links are excellent and you can walk to places if you want to. Very close to the Vatican and an excellent area for shopping, bars and restaurants which are popular with the locals. We enjoyed going for breakfast to the local cafe. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask if you can choose a room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hilis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a long, hot trek to Rome, we couldn't wait to get to our room and couldn't have been more thrilled when we did. The room was impeccably clean and cool, the lady at reception friendly and the location fantastic. The room was well appointed, with a large spacious bathroom, mini bar and french style balcony.

Overall, the block of rooms was very quiet and the residents of the building extremely polite. I have read people complaining about the elevator, but there is really no need to take the elevator if you don't want to. It is not very many steps up to the block of rooms, and we rarely took the elevator at all.

As it is in a residential area, you will find many shops (even a grocery store!) nearby. The area can be quiet at night, but I would recommend at least one meal at the Jetlag64 cafe nearby - I had the best risotto of the trip there, and the staff is incredibly kind and friendly. Breakfast everyday at Bar Doria was amazing, and the staff there could not do enough to help you. We often went late in the day, after 12:00 pm and were always greeted with a cappuccino, juice and a choice of pastry.

As many have said, the location is walking distance to the Vatican and close to the metro for everything else. Unfortunately, the metro closes at 8 PM (!) so get to know the bus routes for night time travel. We found the 23 bus to and from Trastavere incredibly helpful for getting back to our hotel, as we were often inclined to spend our nights in that lively area.

In general, you could not do better than to stay at Roman Holidays. I hope to do so again some time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great location, just a very short walk to the vatican and the metro. The room was small but clean, everything you need for a short stay, even had ac. The staff were lovely, gave us a map of the area and the sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I can't believe how inexpensive this room was compared to other hotels I have seen. Our room was clean, comfortable, and even had an AC unit. This is very important for American tourists and we would have melted in Rome without it. We also had a small fridge which was nice to have cold drinks.

The location was nice it was just a short walk from the metro stop and was easily accessible. If I came back to Rome I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice inexpensive place in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazyboorad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was one of the nicest hotels we had on our European trip. It seemed to be far away from attractions and that would be the only downside. Also you have to make sure you check in when they are available as there is not 24 hr staff on site. It wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

If you've never been to Rome before, this is definitely the way to experience the best of the city! The guys at Roman Holidays could not have been more helpful. Getting the taxi from the airport is definitely a good move, as it isn't the easiest location to find. What it is, though, is the perfect place to explore the city from. You can see the walls of the Vatican from the end of the block and everything is close at hand - restaurants, cafes, buses, the Metro. Even the fact that the room comes with a token for a coffee, croissant and orange juice at a nearby café puts you straight into the local scene before you've started exploring this magical city. Well kept rooms in a residential block may not be everyone's scene, but if you're going to spend all day out and about, you just want somewhere clean and spacious to crash out at the end of the day. The recommendation for somewhere local to eat was also a winner. Just 100M away was an "Osteria" where for 25 Euros you can really get stuffed! There are also more reasonably priced places close at hand and just as good. Will definitely use Roman Holidays again - such good value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#254 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#97 of 1,269 in Rome
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Holidays

Address: Via Bu Meliana 12, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #769 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Holidays 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roman Holidays of the Vatican Planet Chain is a comfortable B&B which consist of two brand new structures both situated in the historical Prati area and it is only a few steps away from the Vatican Museums and St. Peter Cathedral.In a few minutes, it is possible to reach some of the principal historical sites as the Vatican Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roman Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Holidays Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing