We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local hideaway in the heart of the Vatican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Benito e Gilberto al Falco

Da Benito e Gilberto al Falco
Ranked #919 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local hideaway in the heart of the Vatican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is my second visit to Benito e Gilberto over a ten year period. Family run, in a small hosteria with no more than ten tables. An inconspicuous entrance makes this a phenomenal hideaway in a highly touristy area of Rome. Extremely fresh fish is the highlight, served both as classic dishes or as tasty originals (the pasta con fagioli e vongole is to die for). But the winning detail is that I never saw a menu - the staff (mother & daughter) simply figured out what we were in the mood for and brought a selection of fresh appetizers and mains to follow. Simpler dishes for the kids, more adventurous for the adult. Fantastic experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    99
    34
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, warm atmosphere, small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Alone, I ate too much fish, all of it very good. The turbot was a little swimming in its own sauce, but the marinated salmon, oysters and baby calamari were excellent. A couple of glasses of reasonable Friulano to wash it down. The bill was a little over the top, €90, and the service rushed me out of there. Go for the second sitting at 9.30pm so you can relax. On the first sitting they are in a hurry and you tend to eat too quickly. Despite this, recommended.

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent small family run fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have now read the other reviews, and perhaps if I had read them before choosing this restaurant I would not had gone. Well I'm glad I did not read them. Yes it was expensive but the food was great. Four of us went in the evening, found the staff lovely, friendly and helpful. This small fish restaurant makes and cooks everything just for you! No food made hours before and warmed up just before serving it to you. We were not given a menu but asked what we liked, we started with a selection of fish carpaccio, tuna, salmon, sea bass and minced fish balls, then oysters, prawns, clams and other shell fish, (still raw) next a bowl of mussels and clams in a delicious sauce followed by a small bowl of pasta with clams. We were then asked what main course we would like, we all picked our fish from the chilled cabinet, and were asked how we would like it cooked. It was delicious, a very good experience and worth the money for freshly cooked great food. The wines were also very good. You need to book as the restaurant is full of Romans who know good food!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Waiting for the Tourists!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Have been going to Rome for 25 years and never had an experience like this lunch.. We went in expecting good fish, saw through the window.. When we got the menu, we realized it was a pricey place. That would be fine but we were very disappointed. We ordered only pasta since it was later in the afternoon. The menu was quite expensive, 22 Euro for a grilled fish, pastas 14 euro. Last year we had fabulous grilled fish in the Jewish area and it was 16 euro.!.. We all ordered pasta ala pescatore( pasta with fish.} When it came, the portion was small and a small amount of calamari, and 1 small shrimp. Normally, there mussels or clams but nothing like that. Also, I know fish doesn't need cheese, but if a customer asks for cheese with the pasta, it should be available and allowed. He said they didn't have any,, don't believe that to be true.
When we asked for the bill, we waited till the waitress ate some food near the kitchen.. Then, she brought the bill.All in all, plenty of other places to go for much less price and more and better food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank italiandutchmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scam tourists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We went to this place expecting a good place to eat some fresh fish and seafood.
As starter we ordered a carpaccio to share and then as second dish one fish cooked in the oven to share and a bottle of wine.
We eat well and fish was ok, but our surprise arrived when we ask for the bill, 136 Euros!! that goes as it follows:
4 euros for eating utensils (normal price for Rome)
9 Euros for bottle of white wine (very good price)
30 Euros for the carpaccio (price it's starting to increase but I still can find it reasonable)
90 Euros for just one fish (at this moment we started to think that something was wrong..)
3 Euros for one shot of Limoncello.

So when we saw the price of 90 Euros we claim to the waiter about it and the explanation was that it was because of the weight of the fish, so I asked him to show us the menu, in order to control the price of each kg. He came with the menu and show us the price of a fish that was 50 Euros for each Kg and retired quickly the menu, so I couldn't see if that was the fish that we had eaten...

Then we asked him about the weight of the fish, and he said that he was going to ask to his boss, well the weight was 1,4 kg. I buy fish each week and I can tell you that the fish couldn't weight that, but let's accept that it weight that, if you multiply 1.4 x 50 Euros, the price should be 70 Euros, not 90!!!!!!!

Finally, as we were maiking noise with our claims and the other clients started to look to see what was happening they modified the bill to 130 Euros...

We went out there feeling as if somebody had stolen us and scammed us. It was our worst experience in Rome, so I wouldn't recommend it to any one, except for locals, I'm sure that price is different for them...(And we are a couple that travels a lot and eat in a lot of restaurants....)

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank tokio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Benito e Gilberto al Falco also viewed

 

Been to Da Benito e Gilberto al Falco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing