We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant apartment in the best location!”
Review of Romeo al Babuino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romeo al Babuino
Ranked #1,075 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
West Dunbartonshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment in the best location!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent Easter in Rome and stayed at the Romeo al Babuino- best decision ever! The location is superb-right in the heart of everything- around 3-4 minutes stroll from the Spanish steps-can also take a leisurely 25-30min walk to the Vatican via the left hand exit from Piazza del Popolo. Plenty of lovely restaurants and shops a stones throw away, whilst facilities in the Monica suite were excellent , with a small kitchen area if you want to cook a simple meal. (there is a small supermarket just a few minutes walk) Spacious, comfortable bedroom and living area, very nicely decorated. Elena took great care of us, nothing too much trouble and such a very pleasant person to deal with. We will definitely return to the Romeo al Babuino on our next visit to Rome, and don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone spending time there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockanory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
61
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a very small hotel located a few floors up with just 3 or 4 rooms I believe. It is really more like an apartment rental than a hotel. No real reception or amenities etc. Having said that, the location is great -- between the Piazza de Popolo and the Spanish steps. The rooms themselves are very large and spacious, more like large suites, very clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms modern. All in all, considering what you get, this is an excellent choice for Rome and a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHCWESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Spanish Steps are my favorite area. Close enough to everything with so many food and shopping options. We stayed here over Christmas and found it to be just perfect. 2 or 3 metro stops from Vatican City but in the heart of a tourist area while still being quiet at night. We have been traveling Europe for 8 months with lots of places to compare. This was an actual comfortable double bed with a seating area and a wonderful bathroom. The owner was helpful and accommodating, even had cab services called for us so we wouldn't be cheated by scams and the room was great from location and even had great tea choices and a Nespresso machine! I would highly recommend this option to any visitors heading to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuageNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There were no table. Just two chairs on each side of where there definitly had been a table.
We therefore had no place to put our coffecups when relaxing or watching TV.
We also went there in may 2013.At that time we had another room where the conditions were
perfect.We expected the same this time but were disappointed.
The location of the appartment is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimaldi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viaggisaggi, Direttore at Romeo al Babuino, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Grimaldi52,
many of our guests are coming back to Romeo al Babuino each time they return to Rome, and send their friends and relatives, thus contributing to create a friendly and warm atmosphere in the place, and I am happy to know that you were satisfied with us during your first visit last May and decided to come back. I am quite surprised about your negative comment, that it seems mainly due to the lack of a table in your room. Due to the nature of our structure, each one of our rooms is different (in size, furniture, shape, price) although maintaining e similar style and design and also a different name, so the guest is able to book exactly the kind of room he wants. The room you chose In your last visit didn't have the table simply because there is not a table in that room (and never has been...). I'd have much appreciated if you had mentioned your request during your stay: we'd have provided you the room that could be more suitable to you. For your next visit to Rome I hope to have you again as our guest: in that case please inform me in advance of any of your requests so we can offer you the most enjoyable experience.
Kind regards
Giulio Monaco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila burbs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked this hotel after another hotel by the Trevi fountain cancelled our reservation 1 week prior to our arrival. THANK GOD we found this B and B. We stayed in the Armada Suite and it was gorgeous. We had never been to Europe and wanted US/Caribbean room standards ie: big nice bed, modern decor and fabulous bathroom without the "Hotel hassler" price tag! Romeo al Babuino certainly fit the bill, there was a flat screen, white sofa and comfy king size bed, it was very spacious and PERFECTLY located. There is a very small lift, but at least they have one and the owners were very gracious, we only wish we could have stayed longer! OH, and we also booked the airport transfer with them for 48 Euro (same price as a cab), but our flight was 2 hours late AND we had to deal with a lost bag before we could leave for yet an additional hour but low and behold when we came out of customs there was our driver, standing there with our name card! Bless you :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Would be happy to recommend to any of our family and friends. We loved our most recent stay in Rome. Having been to Rome many times, staying in hotels, this was the first time booking an apartment. Superb location, modern, spacious and above all, absolutely spotlessly clean. The mother and daughter owners were very kind, efficient and willing to help with anything we asked of them. Another massive plus was that it was no trouble allowing us to stay in our apartment until 6pm right up until our taxi arrived to take us to the airport. The Nespresso machine was another added little perk! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamonP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My family and I just returned from a 7-day stay. While I have been to Rome many times for both work and pleasure, I have to say this was definitely the most comfortable and convenient place I have stayed at. The location is perfect -- minutes from the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo, and all of the other major landmarks (Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de Fiori, Colloseum, Palazzo Venezia, ...) are within a 20 minute walking-distance radius -- but at the same time, the room is quiet and was perfect for us for a relatively longer-term stay. A number of really nice casual eateries and restaurants are close by, and the best luxury shopping in Rome (Via Condotti and Al Babuino) is at your doorsteps. We stayed in the Armanda Suite, which is spacious, well-appointed, has a lot of natural light (all rooms do) and features a large and comfortable bathroom. Being a huge coffee fanatic, the apartament-hotel has a complimentary 24-hour Nespresso machine in the lobby, which came in very handy. The staff is great, super-helpful, and very accommodating. Elena -- who greeted us when we arrived and took on the role of concierge (and our go-to person for any help) -- was wonderful. Think of this as having your own private apartment in one of the best areas of Rome. The "hotel" has only 3 rooms, which adds to the charm and the ambience of exclusivity. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in a great/convenient location and prefers a quiet, exclusive property over a bustling 100-room hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#243 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 79
Babuino 79
#119 of 1,070 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Episcopo Lipinsky B&B
Episcopo Lipinsky B&B
#1,447 of 3,620 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Campo Marzio
Babuino 127 Rooms
Babuino 127 Rooms
#267 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Campo Marzio
Relais Babuino 124
Relais Babuino 124
#1,073 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo al Babuino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo al Babuino

Property: Romeo al Babuino
Address: Via del Babuino 46, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,075 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Romeo al Babuino 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, Romeo al Babuino is the ideal place to stay while on a business trip or enjoying your holiday. Our recently refurbished suites are located in a small ancient mansion in the centre of Rome. Each suite is equipped with broadband wireless access, flat screen satellite television, air-conditioning, and a private bathroom. The distinctive features of our proposal: The Location. Located at via del Babuino, Romeo al Babuino, is right in the centre of Rome, between the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo, close to all relevant places. The quality. Large and spacious suites featuring the amenities of a luxury hotel. The personality. Located in an ancient building, Romeo al Babuino is stylistically typical of the neighbourhood but has recently been completely renovated and upgraded to the highest contemporary standards. Each room has its own unique personality and style. The generous size and design of Romeo al Babuino's Suites allow you to enjoy the comforts of home, while at the same time allowing us to pay personal attention to your special requirements. The affordable luxury. An exceptional boutique residence unequalled among even the best hotels in the city at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romeo al Babuino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Al Babuino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing