We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, shame about the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Tre Scalini

Bar Tre Scalini
Ranked #356 of 779 Dessert in Rome
Price range: US$15 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice view, shame about the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

On first view the menu looks ok, a bit like every other Italian restaurant with one or two variations. What makes Tre Scalini different is the prices and their inability to deliver anywhere near what it should be given the exorbitant cost. Yes the view is nice, the service OK but there it endeth! Give it a miss.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    351
    166
    97
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Maybe just for a Dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

As we entered the square next to this place we thought we would give it a go but wasn't impressed with the food at all.... We had squid for starters (which was average) and a steak for main. The steak was ordered raw but it was more like a medium/well, it was cut into thin slices and the pepercorn sauce was hardly peppery either.

Got to give credit where it is due, they have a large selection of Desserts and the strawberry cheese cake we ordered was very good!


Overall found them over priced, a large beer (1ltr) was €17 and our bill came to €140 for a starter to share, mains, dessert to share and 2 drinks. For that price i expect the food to be a lot better!!

Helpful?
Thank Epicurean80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had our afternoon coffee at Tre Scalini, and we enjoyed it. Of course it is expensive, I guess all cafes at Piazza Navona are expensive, but the coffee was really good and the staff very friendly, however a bit slow. Nevertheless, I recommend it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaglyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tartufo is good, but get it to go and pay half”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We took our tartufo to go and ate them in the piazza. Tasty, but nothing to rave about. Great location, so if you want to sit and relax, do so but expect to pay for it. Otherwise, approach the counter and get yours to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danie77379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great! But It Had Better Be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A terrific location (in the center of the Piazza Navona) and a wonderful menu... but be prepared to get a second on your house. This place is good - and they charge you for it! WAY expensive!!! Stay a long time to people watch, take a long rest, and amortize the price you're paying to do so...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Tre Scalini also viewed

 

Been to Bar Tre Scalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing