We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,432 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2012

... just upstairs from one of the best bars I've ever been in. Also, it's in my favourite part of Rome, Trastevere, with loads of great restaurants. You get your breakfast in the aforementioned bar as well (a traditional café and cornetto) alongside the the loquacious locals. Fortunately the thick windows stop any noise from the bar drifting upstairs. Nice large bedrooms. Pretty building as well. Only minus was the small toilet with a ceiling in the shower that was little over 1 metre 85 cms high (6 feet for those in the English speaking world). Overall, well recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

Like others have mentioned we booked Calisto 6 but on arrival we were met and taken across the square down a cobbled street to our own little house! Our room was beautiful with exposed beams and a wooden floor but very modern decor. The bathroom was dated but spotlessly clean. Couldn't have been happier with the location plenty of bars and restaurants for nightime but still walking distance to all the major sights. Had a great time in rome and will definately be recommending they book this apartment from the owners of Calisto 6.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the apartment instead of the main B&B
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Condie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

"Hotel" we stayed, separated and shared bathroom. Great location, very close to everything we need!
It was fine until the management demanded us to apologize to the other guests because we were confused by our shared bathroom and the other guests private-bathroom.
The bathrooms were lined up on one side of the "hotel". I walked into one guest who was about to take a shower, thinking the bathroom she was about to use was "our shared bathroom". I was about to wait for my turn after she was done taking a shower, and she told me the bathroom was supposed to be private, for her room only. I was quite confused and we had a whole discussion about it. My friend emailed the management, while doing so, I realized that I confused the private bathroom with our shared-bathroom next door. After we emailed the management about our misunderstanding, it told us in email to APOLOGIZE to the other guest. What makes the management think they have the right to tell their guests doing such thing?

I never stepped a foot in the bathroom, and there was a lock on the other guest's private-bathroom that neither could anyone walk in. The bottum line is, it is terrible attitude the management has toward its guest since it was only an innocent misunderstanding. The girl who gave us the keys to the room was really nice and friendly, but clearly she was not the one wrote the email to us since she has no idea about the incident. The management needs to be re-trained.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstfallingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a double room with bathroom. Both were of a good size. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was across the hall and had to be kept locked which was a slight drawback. Everything was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was a coffee and pastry from the lively bar downstairs. It can be noisy at night but we enjoyed the vibe and joined in the fun. Earplugs are provided on the bedside tables! and they were very effective. Very friendly proprietors, but be aware that there are times of the day and night when no-one is on duty. Highly recommended if you want to get a feel for the Trastevere neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBJParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent 5 nights here, in the heart of the relaxed Trastevere district. Though I generally prefer accommodations with a kitchenette or at least a small fridge, the room was very nice: Comfy bed, tasteful decor, clean, nice touches like shower gel and shampoo that didn't look boringly "industrial". Beds were made up daily. And the location is practically unbeatable.

But if you're the type of person that needs a lot of quiet to sleep, this is not the place for you. The Calisto 6 is located directly above a busy cafe that morphs into a very popular bar with unbeatable prices. Personally, I find the hum of happy people soothing, so this was not an issue.
The shutters are pretty effective, they do provide earplugs, and luckily, they don't play music at the bar.

I absolutely loved it and would gladly stay there again. Late April in Rome was a wonderful experience! <3

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SemiSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Just came back from Rome and stayed in B & B for the first time. Great ! Will do it again in a heart beat. Location is FANTASTIC 1 minute walk from a great Piazza. Trastevere is amazing, been to Rome many times but my first stay there. It is very authentic and has a wonderfull ambiance ! Many young people. We slept at the first floor ringt above the Calist bar and saturday night there is a lot of noice but we found it charming - felt like a part of the package. Room was VERY clean. We had a private bathroom which is the only negative thing I have to say about this place. It was on the other side of the hallway so you have to get dressed if you don't sleep 8 hours in a row :-) AND it is SO small, so using the shower is not easy - but very clean. YOu are completely on your own, but we have no problems with that. Breakast in the bar below included int he rate cannot be recommended - go to another nice bar in the opposite way bar Baylon - great coffee and cakes :-) We really enjoyed the stay and had a super nice fromthe owner mr. Andrea (mail correspondance) even though we did not see him, but wife helped us with our luggage while we were out seeing the city before departure - very nice people !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeistHelsinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed at Calisto 6 B& B with my 2 teenagers for 3 nights in September. The Trastevere neighbourhood is so classic and full of life day and night with so many restaurants to choose from . All the reviews are true about the bar downstairs, it rages all night every night , but we loved the atmosphere and closed the shutters and windows, switched on the air con and had a great night sleep every night. We ate the included breakfast in the bar and they made the best coffees that we had in Italy. We were allocated the blue room which had lots of charm and character, was very clean and spacious . The bathroom was not ventillated and was like a cupboard but we really didn't mind as everything else was perfect.We got the dates wrong and were greeted by the owners at midnight after I telephoned from the airport. They were so kind and walked all over the area and found us a place to stay as they were full. Get a Roma pass for bus travel and museums, brave the public transport and stay away from glossy restaurants with waiters in black tie as the best food is in the smaller places with characterWe all had a ball in Rome .Enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for the blue room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genevievess s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte
Villa della Fonte
#536 of 1,267 in Rome
163 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#515 of 1,267 in Rome
262 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#772 of 3,709 in Rome
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#139 of 1,131 in Rome
44 reviews
Trastevere
In Trastevere House
In Trastevere House
#938 of 3,709 in Rome
67 reviews
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#162 of 3,709 in Rome
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast

Address: Piazza di San Calisto 6 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,432 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is located on the first floor of an ancient building of the 15th century, in the heart of Rione Trastevere, very close to Santa Maria in Trastevere square. 'Calisto 6' B&B is the perfect place to experience daily life in a typical Roman setting. The bedrooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated with tall ceilings, large windows and some rooms have antique fresco wall paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calisto 6 Bed And Breakfast
Calisto 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing