We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Connection Private Tours

Rome Connection Private Tours
Ranked #109 of 756 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live the unforgettable experience of a Private Tour in Rome.Let yourself be led by historical and cultural itineraries that only the Eternal City can offer. Our great expertise and enthusiasm will guide every tour in Rome. Discover all the advantages of choosing a private tour labeled Rome Connection.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Issaquah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

My son wanted to visit Rome as a family before he headed to Spain. With limited time I hoped to let him experience as much of this wonderful city as we could. Gian Lugo was our guide and I confess we had a wonderful time and learned so much. Thanks to Gian Lugo we visited everything we had hoped to and a few gems that he suggested that we would never have known about. Such amazing views from above the Vatican as well as on the Aventine hill. I would not hesitate to book again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JTIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rome Connection in Florence & Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked Rome Connection through their website and left them a credit card number to hold and paid them cash on the day of the tour to avoid the credit card surge charge. We used them for Pisa / Florence and Rome and both tours where great. They pick us up right on time and our group of 8 had a great time at both places. I would highly recommend Rome Connection tours and if I ever get back to either place I will use them again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LorenT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Marco helped us conquer Rome in a day!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

On Wed, June 11th, we stepped off our Disney cruise ship at 7:30 a.m. and Marco was right at the ship's exit door waiting for us. Our group of eight including three kids (8,8 & 5), had a very short walk to Marco's large Mercedes shuttle where we comfortably enjoyed our drive to Rome in style. I would also like to mention he provided water and more importantly the shuttle had Wi-fi which was a huge bonus after having no access on-board the cruise ship.

We had planned a packed itinerary for Marco which did not seem to phase him. First stop was the Coliseum for the Underground Tour. He dropped us off directly in front of the Coliseum and we walked right in as we had already purchase our tickets in advance. To say the drop-off was very convenient would be an understatement as the popular landmark was already extremely crowded (at 9:15 am) and it was also very hot. Marco provided us with a phone when we exited the shuttle and told us to call him as soon as we were done.

Our Colisseum tour did not conclude until a bit after 11 and our Vatican entry was scheduled for 11:30 am. We had no time to lose. We called Marco and voila, there he was waiting for us right in front (again a VERY short walk to the shuttle). He whisked us away over to the Vatican. I'm really not sure how he maneuvers his large Mercedes shuttle in and out of the INSANE Rome traffic, but he does it with ease (maybe from lots of practice). We arrived at the Vatican and he parked about 15 yards away from the main entrance. We felt like rock stars. In we walk without any wait in line. Marco secures our headphones (which are a nominal extra fee) and we're off for a whirlwind tour as we only provided him with 1 1/2 hours before our next scheduled tour.

Marco was thorough and insightful with his knowledge of the Vatican. He's also very good and patient with children. If I remember correctly he has 7 of his own kids so he can definitely tolerate the young very well. He made sure to highlight all of the important relics and paintings prior to entering the Sistine Chapel. He let us explore Sistine Chapel on our own since inside it's mandatory silence. He advised us to head out through the right exit doors from the chapel and he would meet us at the bottom of the stairs. This group exit door drops you off at the entrance to St. Peter's Basilica. So again, no waiting in line and straight into the church. Again, he shared with us the rich history and guided us through all of the important elements of the church.

At 1:15 pm we had booked the underground Scavi tour. Since children are not allowed on this tour, Marco walked us to the entrance of the tour and then took the children and one of the adults in our party to a local restaurant for lunch. When our Scavi tour was complete, we called Marco and he met us right behind St. Peter's square on a side street (again VIP parking and hardly any walking).

From St. Peter's, Marco expertly navigated the traffic and dropped us off right beside the Pantheon. He recommended a great pizza shop for us adults who had yet to eat and then pointed out an amazing Gelato stop for dessert. We had an hour to explore the area before we met him at our drop-off location.

Following the Pantheon, he drove us through the crazy streets of Rome to the Trevi Fountain. Since cars are not allowed anywhere near the fountain, he dropped us off at the entrance of a side street for a very manageable walk. We reached the fountain, threw in our coins for good luck and headed back to the shuttle for the trip back to the cruise ship.

Prior to our day with Marco, we thought for sure he would not be able to accommodate our crazy requests to tour the Colisseum, Vatican, St. Peter's, Scavi, Pantheon and Trevi Fountain especially considering the 1.5 -2 hour each-way drive to and from the port of Civitavecchia. But low and behold, Marco was cool, calm and collected and easily fulfilled our requests. He definitely exceeded our expectations.

Upon returning to the ship, many of the cruisers had booked excursions through the cruise line spending around $250 per person. They had not pre-purchased any tickets so many of them only enjoyed the incredible Roman landmarks from the outside. On the flip side, we hired Rome Connections at a fraction of the price of a cruise excursion (about 100e per person with tip) and had VIP parking and front of the line tickets (which we booked on our own per Marco's advice), everywhere we went.

Booking Rome Excursions was the best decision we made for our visit to Rome!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Niki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a tour in Rome especially with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were on a cruise stop from 7am to 7 pm (back on ship by 6:30 am) on the Liberty of the Seas and wanted our kids to see as many of the sights in Rome as we could. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor and communicating with Marco from Rome Connection via email beforehand I decided to book our tour with them. I was not sorry. They were amazing, It was app. $1,000 (US) in total for our family of 4 (2 kids age 12 and 9), but TOTALLY worth it (comparable to one of the pricier non-private tours for 4 on Royal Caribbean).
Rome Connection has a great suggested itinerary, but I had communicated what itinerary we wanted prior and they were very flexible and accommodating to whatever we wanted.
Our guide Magdi (sp.) was waiting for us for a sign with our name on it right after you exit where the Royal Caribbean tours near the white tents the with a private van that had amazing AC (important for Rome in July lol). The drive from Civitavecchia to Rome was about 1 hour and 15 mins.
We wanted our kids to have a quick tour at each of the famous sites so we opted to spend less time at each stop. It was fabulous not to have to negotiate parking and driving and get "door to door" service at each place. I would definitely recommend this tour for a family with kids or anyone who wants to see the sights comfortably. My husband has back pain so this allowed him to also see everything. This tour kept the kids from getting too exhausted and allowed us all to enjoy the trip together. We wanted to give them a "taste" of Rome and also hold their attention.
We stopped at the Pantheon, Circus Maximus, Vatican City (they had a guide Mikaela who gave us the tour of St. Peter's & the Sistine Chapel -very engaging with our kids-we pre-purchased those tickets and Rome Connection provided the guide at a cost of 120 Euros), Colosseum (Magdi took us to a little known spot to purchase tickets-no guide), Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain & Mouth of Truth. We wanted to do a quick stop for lunch at Tre Scalina at Piazza Navona. The Tartufo dessert was a big hit with our girls.
Magdi from Rome Connection was so knowledgeable and gave us a running commentary of all the sights which we thoroughly enjoyed.He was very passionate and articulate about Rome. The communication via email prior to the trip was wonderful.
I would book with them again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sdp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only way to see Rome in a wheelchair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself, my parents and two of our friends toured Rome with Marco. As I in a large electric wheelchair, Marco had a large wheelchair vehicle with electric lift for our tour. Our driver, Constantino was very professional, safe and such a lovely man. We had so much fun with Marco and Constantino on our tour.
We fitted so much into our tour of Rome, it would be impossible to do if you were travelling on your own. We saw all of the main sites e.g. the Vatican, the Trevi Fountain, Coliseum, Circus Maximus. One of our favourite sites was St Pauls outside the walls, it had all of the beauty of the Vatican but without the crowds.
Marco had a passion for Rome that was contagious and he shared his extensive knowledge of the fascinating history of Rome with us throughout the tour. We were treated like VIPs as we skipped every line and parked as close to every attraction as we could (parking literally at the entrance of the Coliseum in the pedestrian area to make it easier for the wheelchair). Marco also managed to arrange for me to get close to the altar of St Peters basilica, a truly amazing experience.
Touring in Rome on our own would have been an absolute nightmare, however with Marco it was perfect and in my opinion the only way to travel in Rome in a wheelchair (and also if you are not in a wheelchair). Marco ensured that the wheelchair would not be problem. He was always conscious of pointing out the best path for the wheelchair and in crowded areas like the Vatican, Marco simply made way for the wheelchair as if he were parting the red Sea.
We can't to return to Rome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rome Connection Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rome Connection Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing