We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of Friends Hostel

Friends Hostel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friends Hostel
Ranked #883 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the hottest week I have ever experienced...40 something degrees everyday. The hostel has no air con but every effort was made with fans etc to keep it cool. The staff were super friendly and helpful and we were only a minute away from the hop on hop off stop. And a 5 minute walk to the train station/metro. I would definitely stay here again although light sleepers should bring airplugs as the tram goes right past.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very close to central train station, is a very safe place to stay, we had a private room for our group of four.
There was staff was there and nice at the time of our arrival and showed us everything we needed to see in Rome.
They also gave us tips on restaurants to go. Since there is only a very small kitchen with a microwave.

Room Tip: Won't be able to cook.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nomuradanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Its like an apartment that you have your own room and share a bathroom with the people that are in the other room (probably a couple). The room is small but it was always clean and warm (in the case of winter). The staff were very helpful, always trying to help, we have a breakfast ticket that give us the right to eat a crossaint in some kind of bakery near the hostel (very good!). Its a good choice for someone who wants cheap, clean and nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Not really a hostel because you are only sharing with maybe one other couple in the apartment. More like a B&B or self-contained apartment that your sharing. No front desk - you meet up with owner at the other accommodation place and they'll take you there. You go up a very small elevator to the top floor of a tall old building. Lots character in the stairwell - elevator area (big doors - large windows).

Apartment itself - is nice with an area to look over the rooftops of Rome around the Termini area. Nice kitchen and bathroom set up. We did the twin bed room - but found the beds very childlike. The other room looked a lot better. Not sure about the free internet with laundry deal they had - seemed a bit strange. Lots of internet places around the place anyway. Free breakfast is before 10am and we missed it.

  • Liked — Close to Termani and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Not really a hostel to talk to people
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#368 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,221 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hostel

Property: Friends Hostel
Address: Via Filippo Turati No. 107, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #883 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Number of rooms: 240

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing