We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Clean & Friendly!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperium Suite Navona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperium Suite Navona
Ranked #581 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location, Clean & Friendly!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

SUMMARY: It was a brilliant city break, hotel was in a great location 2 minutes from Piazza Navona and was very clean which is what we wanted. We would stay here again and we slept very well because we were so tired everyday! We were probably the last ones in most night as we only heard the door bell one night. It did rain every day we were there but it would be sunny until about 5/6pm and then there would be a down pour and it would clear again leaving the sun shining until about 8.30. The last day we were allowed to leave our luggage after checking out as our flight wasn’t until 10.00pm. They also let us use the facilities across the road to freshen up. They have some rooms in the apartment block across the road and they are newly decorated rooms. There was a taxi rank just before the Piazza Navona square and we paid 30 euros to the airport.

Taxi From Airport to Hotel: When my husband and I arrived in Rome we went to the Taxi stand outside the Ciampino airport (white taxi’s). We had read that it is a flat fee of 30 euros and told the taxi man where we wanted to go and said “will it be 30 euros?” he replied, “no, it will be 50 euros”. At this point we were concerned about getting ripped-off. Then he went onto say that “there is a marathon on at the moment and all traffic has been diverted around the city”. We were still unhappy about this. He then told us to wait and there were 3 other ladies that also joined the queue, he then asked them where they were going and then suggested we could all share the taxi and pay 30 euros each. The taxi man was using his Sat Nav to get us to the hotel and he managed to get us as close as possible. But he could not take his car down to the hotel so we had to walk to the hotel, which was fine because it wasn’t far.

Hotel: The hotel is quite difficult to find but fortunately we had read the previous reviews and had a look on Google maps. It was basically a green door to this apartment block and the hotel is on the first floor of this apartment. There is a lift and we used it because we had a suitcase and a trolley, it was bit of a squeeze for the both of us and our luggage, and we are both of slim built! The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. We arrived at about 11ish and were worried about arriving earlier than the check-in time, the lady said that it was fine and that we could check in early! Bonus! We could start the site seeing straight-away!! We were given a key to our room but not a key to the front door. You had to press the bell to be let in but this was manned 24 hours.

Room: We stayed in the room that was in the lobby area but further away from the reception desk it was called Navona. The room was nice and comfortable but not that spacious. The first thing we checked was the safe as we had read in a previous review ‘the safe was not attached to the wall’ – luckily it was. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi that did not work but we couldn’t be bothered to complain about this and just used the shower and had a bath. The bathroom window had a hazardous handle and my husband scrapped against it on the way to the toilet in the middle of the night! Beware of the window handle! The room was quite dark with little light – although this was because our room faced into the courtyard. The walls are very thin and we could hear the people in the next room and we could also hear people downstairs in the courtyard. Because our room was in the reception area we could hear the noise from the lobby too, although having the TV on drowned out all the noise. There are a few English channels but we only had it on as background noise and to check the news. Breakfast was served in our room and you would have to pre-order what you wanted the night before – we were very happy with breakfast. I didn’t like the orange or pineapple juice and we had the bread, scrambled eggs, bacon, croissants and tea.

Itinerary: We went for 4 days and as soon as we checked in and freshened up – we went to grab a bite to eat on the go. Headed toward Piazza Navona and just before you cross the road into the square there is a pizzeria on the corner. Day 1: Headed to look at the Panthon, Trevi Fountain, towards the Spanish Steps along via Condotti & via Del Corso (main shopping road) and finally to Piazza del Popolo. Had Dinner @ Cafe Barocco, good food. Day 2: Colosseum, Palatine Hill, Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia (ate at some cafe was overpriced and it was raining), Monument to Victor Emmanuel II, Sant Maria Del Popolo & Pincio Gardens (amazing views). Dinner was near the Pantheon @ Trattoria Al Pantheon-Acquisto Cartasi, good food but service could be better. Day 3: St Peter’s Basilica, Vatican Museums & Sistine Chapel and lunch @ pizzeria in the Museum. Dinner & drinks were at Campo del’ Fiori first restaurant on the left as you enter the square from Piazza Navona. The food was not very good and I would recommend this square for drinks and hanging out late into the night also there are clubs near too but we were too tired to check them out. Also the clubs are not all in one location either. Day 4: Went to the Vatican as heard the Pope was here today, Castel Sant’Angelo and explored Piazza Navona. Dinner @ Anima Sapori, food was good but portions was small but adequate. It was on the side street next to Tre Scalani on Piazza Navona.

Room Tip: Request a room furtherest fro the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flava3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    147
    52
    26
    35
See reviews for
48
315
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We had absolutely a lovely stay. Enjoyed the location and we felt part of a REAL Roman experience. A tastefull luxery. We had two different rooms in two days and preferred the colourfull-room even more than the neo-barokroom.
Good reception,

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor_AMSTERAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel is in an apartment building, having just one floor. When you arrive at the building, all you will see in the name of the hotel among a list of others. You have to be buzzed in to the building.

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. They happily made dining suggestions and reservations. They also served breakfast in your room daily, most likely due to the lack of space, but it was very convenient.

My only complaint would be the noise level in the building, but beyond that, I would happily stay at Imperium Suites Navona again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbleOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Just took my first trip to Rome, and this somehow out of the way yet centrally located B&B a stone's throw from Piazza Navona was the perfect place to stay. The room was comfortable (even if the bathroom was set up a bit strangely) and the staff was amazing. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The daily breakfast delivery was also a nice perk.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel is situated down a safe, quiet, virtually pedestrianized side alley in the centre of Rome. This is one of the most important selling points for this hotel because central Rome can be very noisy, indeed a lot of it is. This meant we slept well every night. This was particularly welcomed by girlfriend, who a few weeks prior had stayed elsewhere (Hotel Adriano) in the centre of Rome and hardly slept a wink due to the noise of traffic on cobblestones and drain hole covers throughout the night.

It is a short 5-10 minute walk to the Pantheon from the hotel. The Spanish Steps are about a 15-20 minute walk away and this is where the nearest Metro station is (Spagna). The Vatican City is a pleasant 20-25 minute walk away, mainly along the Tiber. Overall, the location of this hotel is excellent.

We were checked into one of the new rooms in the building across the street from the main hotel building. The room was beautifully decorated in a contemporary style (see my video and photos). There is a 32” flat-screen TV that rises from within the desk, with one or two English-spoken channels (BBC World, SkyNews). Also, there is a small fridge/mini-bar and tea/coffee making facilities. Slippers are provided too. The room is airy and lets in lots of natural light and the shutters really black the room out at night, which is excellent. The bathroom was excellent too. There was a bidet, large drench shower, toilet and oversized sink. The only issues with the room were that the air-conditioning did not work, the shower leaked onto the floor and there was only ever enough hot water in the morning for one of us to take a hot shower. I suspect these are just teething problems because the room we were in had just been opened. In fairness, the hotel management did try to fix the air-conditioning and we only noticed the shower leak on the day of departure. Hopefully the hot water issue can be fixed by just adjusting the boiler. Given that the management are so welcoming, pleasant and helpful, then I am sure they will have rectified these issues by now. All in all, the room is better than what I have stayed in at some 4 and 5 star hotels across Europe.

However, unlike a real 4/5* hotel, there is no restaurant. Breakfast is brought up to your room each morning at a time you can specify. Personally I would prefer a breakfast buffet but breakfast in the room is a novelty for a lot of people. The downside of this is that the small portions of scrambled eggs and bacon were cold by the time they reached the room. We also had to eat the breakfast on the only table in the room, which also had the TV on it, so we felt a bit cramped eating. It would have been useful if another smaller table was located in the room to eat from.

Like other reviewers have said, this is not really a hotel, but a couple of apartments that have been converted into ensuite hotel rooms, so make sure you are comfortable with this before booking. For us, this was not a problem and we would definitely stay here again if we visited Rome again. Also, the hotel is extremely good value for Rome – we paid around £140 for a double room per night in April, which is generally at least £60 less per night than most other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

My fiancé and I just went to Rome for the first time and stayed in this charming hotel. The service was excellent, our choice of breakfast was served promptly at a time we chose every morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent as it was on a quieter street that was within walking distance to all of the major sites we wanted to see in Rome, the Vatican, the colosseum, the pantheon, the Trevi fountain, etc. Also, if you are staying at this hotel, they recommended a restaurant just down from the hotel, L'Orso 80, that was delicious. We went there a few times during our stay. Overall, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allieb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We arrived back last night after 4 days of staying at the imperium, and really can't express how lovely this hotel is. Yes it is small and you can hear quite a bit of what goes on outside of your room, but to be honest it really didn't matter. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, the rooms were very clean, the breakfast was lovely and best of all you are only a stones throw away from the piazza Navona, which anyone that has every been to Rome will know, is central to all the main attractions....word of advice for anyone that hasn't been to rome before, don't eat in the Piazzas as the food isn't that great and very overpriced, instead try the restaurants in the backstreets, the Piazza however is nice to have a drink and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleyDavis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#226 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#468 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#484 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Arenula
Hotel Arenula
#686 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperium Suite Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperium Suite Navona

Property: Imperium Suite Navona
Address: Vicolo della Palomba 19, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#287 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperium Suite Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperium Suite Navona is a nice art-apartment-style hotel in the historical center of Rome, providing completely renovated and fully equipped accommodations. The property features a welcoming and familiar atmosphere combined with the best hospitality of the Italian tradition. Each room is finely furnished and provided with all amenities to satisfy any requirements you might have. Breakfast buffet is served every morning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your Imperium Suite Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperium Suite Navona Rome
Imperium Suite Navona Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing