We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dem Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dem Guesthouse
Ranked #430 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

lovely hostel, lovely stay. The location was really good and it was close to all sights. Staff was friendly and very helpful with our guestions. Free breakfast was decent for a guesthouse...
recomended

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lora-gbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    195
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
231
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very average guesthouse only. Only plus point is near the termini, and Alessia, one of the employees, is very helpful and friendly. I would not recommend it though if you are picky about breakfast (very limited food and the croissants provided are cold, not fresh), or want a nice environment (the area the hotel is in is rather dodgy, with people loitering around on the streets even late into the night). The staff also mixed up our accomodation date and as a result, we did not get our first choice location even though we booked so much in advance (they had 3 locations but the location they gave us was inferior to the one we originally wanted, which is nearer the termini).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We would highly recommend Turati Guest House. The best thing is the excellent location, all the main tourist attractions are easy to reach by walking. Termini station is just around the corner so the public transportation (bus, train, metro) is also easy to reach. The area itself is very touristic and some of the restaurants in the area are a bit overpriced. Though it is said that Termini area might be a little bit unsafe we (two young woman travellers) did never feel unsafe, there were always lots of people around and also the restaurants in the street were open until midnight (or even later).

The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, well-equipped and spacious enough - we think that more of a hotel quality than a guesthouse. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. At this price you won't find a better place to stay in Rome and we would definitely consider staying here again!

It is quite important to notice that the rooms are in two (or three?) different buildings (ours was in Via Filippo Turati) and the guesthouse also goes by name Dem Guesthouse, so don't get confused.

There is very little to complain, but the Wi-fi signal was quite poor at our room (no 4) and didn't sometimes function at all. Breakfast is quite simple, but with this price ok. The soundproofing between the room and the corridor in our location (Via Filippo Turati) wasn't that good, but it wasn't a big problem since there are only 6 rooms -> very little noice. Windows do block well the noise from the street, so that never was a problem. Anyhow, we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51MariaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

This is a really great place. Everyhting was very clean. It was close to the train station which was good and bad. The area outside didn't feel that safe at night. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was perfect. A croissant and coffee. They have a fridge with juice and milk for cereal if you want as well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

My husband found this place on trip advisor and booked it for 2 nights and it was perfect! Check in was easy. The lady at the reception was lovely and full of information. Because it suited us perfectly we asked for a 3rd night but they had to move us to their sister place, around the corner which we felt was ok. We checked out and moved to their sister place and it wasn't ready for check in. Wish we were told prior as we could have stayed a little longer in our room. I know it is not their fault as the guest prior to us checked out late and they left a huge mess and the cleaning lady had her hands full that very day. I felt for the staff but it kind of messed us around as my husband had the flu and he just wanted to sleep. We had to kill about 2 hours and when we finally checked in, it wasn't the same feeling as the first place we had for 2 days. There was no fridge, safe had to be replaced, no towels and basically you could tell, the staff were trying to do right but in the chaos of the moment, they over looked basic things. The shower drain flooded, so quick showers was the solution as by that stage, I didn't want to ask for help. When we checked out the next morning, we ate dry cereal as they did not top the fridge with any milk like they did at the 1st place. Perhaps 2 days should have been our stay to say Dem Guesthouse was The Best!!! But the 3rd day was not good for us but we do not blame them totally.. Stuff happens but next time, we will book 3 days in one place and NOT move..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at the newly renovated dem guesthouse for 3 nights in july 2012. I think there are 3 diffferent buildings housing this guesthosue and the one we stayed at was newly built and had only 3 rooms im think. The room was very modern and spotlessly cleam, great bathroom with ncie little extras like slippers and shower caps. the included breakfast was only some fresh bakery good every morning and a coffee machine in the office and in the room there was a little hamper with cereal and nutella etc and a bar fridge. The staff were lovely, really friendly and relaxed about check out times etc. They werent there most of the time, as i suppose being new they were staffing 3 seperate buildings and so we were often alone, however they were there at the important times like check in and check out and we actually like the privacy as the whole guesthouse is like a 4 bedded apartment with the office the 4th bedroom and so it felt like a self contained apartment, but with room making services. the area is literally one street down frm the main train station so really good for transfers to other places. The metro around town was on strike when we were there so we had to walk to the bus station 5 mins away or jut walk everywhere. The area itself isnt the nicest, being near the train staion which can be a little dodgy (but we felt very safe), there are alot of average looking restuarants aorund the corner and places to buy water etc everywhere open late. We like the location as it was walking distance to many attractions and we enjoyed strolling around and the easy access to the station with our luggage was a real plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Good BB in a not very charming part of Rome, although very conveniently situated if you need to be close to Termini. Very touristy area with lots of hotels and BBs, many of which can be a bit on the seedy side. This one is not, however. Recently renovated in a modern and simple fashion, it's clean and inviting, with good beds. Dem Guesthouse has BBs in three different buildings in the same block or so, we lived on Piazza Manfredo Fanti, and had no trouble with noise even if the streets might be quite lively late at night. Staff is very forthcoming and service-minded. Breakfast arrangments (at least in our building) is a bit different: coffee machine in the hall, fresh pastry delivered every morning, otherwise everything is in the room: very basic crackers and biscuits with jam, fruit juice in the minibar. Coffee was decent enough. If you are considering this part of Rome, this must be one of the best places around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanteTynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#449 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#304 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#240 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#363 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Esquilino
Flowerome
Flowerome
#704 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Dem Guesthouse Tiburtina
#1,650 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dem Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dem Guesthouse

Property: Dem Guesthouse
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dem Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dem GuestHouse is an exclusive group of hotel facilities, all of them very recently built . It is composed by 4 "GuestHouse", there is no a main house and annexes, each house is independent from the other. Located in the heart of the city they are all 5 minutes walking to Termini Station. Rome's main public transportation node, where you find national rail, buses terminal, two subway lines and links with both airport of Roma: Fiumicino and Ciampino. For these reasons the Dem GuestHouse results the ideal solutions for both tourist vacation and business travelling the residences are strategically located at the core of the city centre in Via Filippo Turati 48, Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, and Via Rattazzi 22, all 150 meters far from each other, just minutes away from some of Rome's most breathtaking and major history sites like the Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain. The newest Dem Tiburtina GuestHouse of Via Teodorico 22, is located next to Tiburtina station the second main station of Rome, just 4 subway stops from Termini station. All our room's decorated with a modern design combine maximum elegance and comfort, always aiming to guarantee our guest a tranquil and pleasant atmosphere, Each room is equipped with: Air conditioning system, LCD TV set (21/26"), Mini fridge, Wi-Fi and cable internet connection, Electronic safe box - Soundproofed windows. Even the bathroom, in each room, contribute to create an high quality atmosphere, providing: shampoo, bath foam, hygiene courtesy set, towel, slippers, hair dryer machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dem Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dem Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing