We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs perfectly”
Review of Dem Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dem Guesthouse
Ranked #512 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suited our needs perfectly”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We only stayed one night but would have been a perfect place for a longer stay.
Modern, clean, quiet, nice size of room, comfortable bed.
As it is a guest house, not a hotel it is important to coordinate your arrival time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carosultani, Public Relations Manager at Dem Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello Evan!
Thank you so much for the review!
Its always nice to receive compliments!
Hope to guest you next time in Rome :)
Best regards
Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    196
    49
    16
    12
See reviews for
81
233
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A guest’s experience does not start upon check in but at the start of the booking process. After getting the booking confirmation, I was sending numerous emails to this property asking them how to get to the hotel from the airport, nearest landmarks, and the whole nine yards. Rafael and Carolina were very quick, witty, and lovable in their replies which I really appreciate. The room does not have the fussy details of a 5 star hotel but it has the basics for a traveler. The room that I was in though has a wobbly toilet and when I turned on the air-conditioning on my first night, it was full of fibre dust that gave me an allergic cough all throughout my stay. Apart from that, everything was brilliant; breakfast was served on this bustling café nearby.

Tip to my fellow travelers, as soon as you get off the Leonardo Express; take the exit on your left and not on the side where Sisley & United Colors of Benetton is. Since the Central Termini have two exits. Once your out of the Termini you will see a busy street, look for the green newspaper stand on your left and walk inside that street, take the first left and that will be the Filippo Turati street. Please note that they do not have street signs, hence the street names are carved on the corner building at the beginning or end of a specific street. The property will be on your right hand side, as soon as you see Trattoria Giovanni – you are almost there as it is on the same side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrrived and it all started. First the bed broke, as I (160 lb) sat down. Then after 5 minutes of runnning, the air con stopped. Hotel Guy tried to fixed it, the air con died again app. 45 min later, bed broke before. Looked after the bed and saw it was irreparable. Hotel guy came again and "fixed" the aircon again. Lasted this time app. 40 min. Forgot about the air con, tried to sleep and had a bad night. Managers wife next morning tried to convince us, that the thing with the aircon was "normal". Got a little bit loud. Managers wife got louder. Later on the flushing broke and ran permanently. Only one night left! So didn´t ask to fix it. Were glad to check out the following morning 7 am. Drank a nice cafe latte around the corner. Will not come back to DEM guesthouse ever again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carosultani, Front Office Manager at Dem Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Hello Hans,
I remember you so well, you are the most uneducated guest we ever had.
There was a problem with the air conditioner and we make our best to fix it, you were so rude and cant let us make our work. It was impossible to speak with an aggressive person like you, so we let the boy worked and he fix it!
After you there wasn't any other guest with the air conditioner problem!
Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dem for two nights and after staying in hostels for over two weeks, it felt like a 5 star hotel! The beds were comfortable, the bathroom and shower were great, good location (close to many restaurants and Termini metro station), good staff, delicious inclusive breakfast. There is really nothing I can fault about this place. Great value for money!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Location is very good, near train station Termini. A lovely little park is nearby. Staff very friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was not too good, very little choice.
At Dem Fanti is a coffee machine, so you can take coffee any time. I like that.
Breakfast at Dem Taturo was pretty bad. Just got a voucher for having breaktfast in a restaurant, where we were not welcomed to sit down.

Exept of this everything was great!

Room Tip: Dem Fanti has better breakfast fatilities, a kitchen, and a coffee machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank visualnela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very close to Termini station but is located on a quiet street so you are getting the most out of location. I walk from this place to every attraction in Rome including Vatican (my roundtrip has been around 15 km), but for someone who prefers public transport metro and bus routes are close by. Room is very clean, breakfast is regular continental one so don't expect fried eggs and ham :). I was very pleased with the owner, he cares a lot about his property, so overall it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The guest house was lovely. Space and amenities were nice.

Wifi was great which was a huge plus for this visit

Breakfast was self serve and kind of small and lame. It was so nice to have a lavazzaz espresso maker available for free in the lobby all the time.

Upon check in, the staff was present and very helpful. We really never saw staff after that. we paid our bill upon check in even though the staff said we could pay at check out, but no one was there at check out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#252 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#439 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#185 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Esquilino
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#559 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Esquilino
Flowerome
Flowerome
#772 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dem Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dem Guesthouse

Property: Dem Guesthouse
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dem Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dem GuestHouse is an exclusive group of hotel facilities, all of them very recently built . It is composed by 4 "GuestHouse", there is no a main house and annexes, each house is independent from the other. Located in the heart of the city they are all 5 minutes walking to Termini Station. Rome's main public transportation node, where you find national rail, buses terminal, two subway lines and links with both airport of Roma: Fiumicino and Ciampino. For these reasons the Dem GuestHouse results the ideal solutions for both tourist vacation and business travelling the residences are strategically located at the core of the city centre in Via Filippo Turati 48, Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, and Via Rattazzi 22, all 150 meters far from each other, just minutes away from some of Rome's most breathtaking and major history sites like the Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain. The newest Dem Tiburtina GuestHouse of Via Teodorico 22, is located next to Tiburtina station the second main station of Rome, just 4 subway stops from Termini station. All our room's decorated with a modern design combine maximum elegance and comfort, always aiming to guarantee our guest a tranquil and pleasant atmosphere, Each room is equipped with: Air conditioning system, LCD TV set (21/26"), Mini fridge, Wi-Fi and cable internet connection, Electronic safe box - Soundproofed windows. Even the bathroom, in each room, contribute to create an high quality atmosphere, providing: shampoo, bath foam, hygiene courtesy set, towel, slippers, hair dryer machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dem Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dem Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing