We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of Rome”
Review of Palazzo Olivia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Olivia
Ranked #40 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Center of Rome”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

You cannot pick a better location in old Rome. At the foot of the Piz. Navonna, 3 minutes to the Pantheon and Piz. del Fiore, 20 minute walk to the Vatican, 15 to Castell d'Angelo, 20 minutes to the Spanish Steps and Trevi. via del Leutari intersects with via Governo Vecchio, one of the nicest streets in Rome, but best of all, you are 50 yards from the best pizza in rome, da Baffetto. Carla is great, helpful, apartments are more than adequate, i stayed in both a one bedroom and two bedroom. Sky TV, wi-fi, kitchenette, large bedrooms, i will always stay here when i travel to rome. Plus, its a gerat value. rick pierchalski

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickie610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    109
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
91
138
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Just returned from Italy & we stayed at Palazzo Olivia (Apt Basilio) for 5 nights. The location was fantastic...close to Piazza Navona & Campo De Fiori. It's 30 feet from Corso Vittorio Emmanuele where you will find atm machines, taxi stands, bus stops, internet point, etc. While it's so close to a major street, Palazzo Olivia is on a small side-street which meant that there was no street noise at night. Plus, our bedroom was located away from the window so we didn't hear any night noise. We liked the fact that the apartment building had an elevator because otherwise it would have been very difficult to haul all of our luggage up to the 3rd floor. The apartment also is equipped with A/C which worked very efficiently & quietly. We used the A/C just in the late afternoon when we returned home for a few hours & then turned it off and used our ceiling fan at night. The apartment was very comfortable and clean & the location couldn't have worked out better. The only thing that I personally didn't like was that the bed is very hard but that seems to be the standard all over Italy (every hotel we stayed at had firm mattresses). Husband liked the firm mattress while I did not but after a long day of sight-seeing and walking, I slept like a baby. I would not hesitate to stay at Palazzo Olivia again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccmsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed in the Basilio on the what we in the USA would call the 4th floor. It was quite spacious and it was nice to have a modified kitchen to cook some of our meals. The apt is near the Campo de’ Fiori where we daily purchased fruits, vegetables and pastas for our meals.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and 2 kids and I stayed here for the first 2 nights of an almost month long European holiday. We were keen to stay here after reading about it on tripadvisor, but the only room available was " Berta", the smallest room. When we booked, Carla made it very clear that the room was usually only for 2 people. I insisted it would be ok. On arrival, my first reaction was that the room was tiny and I immediately set my mind to getting something bigger.
The room itself was very nice. My wife explained that all rooms in Europe are small, but by the second day I called the manager Carla and asked for a bigger room, but they were all full. Later that day, Carla called me and offered to not only release me from my 5 night booking, but to find me another, larger apartment.
She found one, just around the corner, bigger, more money but bigger.
Long story short..... it wasn't worth all the hassle. By the end of our trip, we were staying in rooms much smaller than the one we had at Palazzo Olivia. My kids were unhappy we moved too, because Palazzo Olivia was the only place we stayed in in Europe that had a good selection of cable T.V. for kids i.e. Disney Channel.
In summary, for the price, it was excellent, in a perfect location. And Carla will apparently do anything to make sure you're happy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The apartment we stayed in was clean and cool (pefect to get back to in the mid-day heat for a short rest). Carla the manager made us feel very welcome when we arrived very early on a Sunday morning and she helped us with any questions we had about where to do laundry, buy food, etc. The sofa bed was comfortable (not all are) and there was Sky TV with Disney Channel, BBC, Discovery and various other stations (if you really need it!) The location was ideal as the street Palazzo Olivia is on is between Corso Vittorio Emanuele, with public buses to many locations around Rome and Via de Governo Vecchio which has a number of clothing boutiques, excellent restaurants, cafes and a small supermarket which had a good deli and bread section. Many other places like Campo de Fiori and Piazza Navona are in walking distance and if you bring good walking shoes you can walk around most of central Rome and hop on and off public transport even with school-aged children (as we did). When we come back to Rome we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Recommended restaurants within walking distance from apartment:
La Taverna di Martin on Via Dei Coronari (basement restaurant, friendly staff, delicious food)
Cul de Sac (1 min from apartment on Governo Vecchio, good food, wide selection of very good wines)
PIzzeria Baffetto (2 mins from apartment on Governo Vecchio, delicious pizza, rude staff though)
Trattoria del Pallaro (10 min walk on Largo del Pallaro, no menu but 25 Euro for very home made 3 course Italian meal with wine and water included).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfamSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Olivia. Carla and Stefano work hard to make sure you are comfortable. We had a minor problem with the electricity in our apartment one day and Stefano drove all the way across town to check it out, showing genuine concern. Turned out to be something minor and was remedied quickly. How many places have you been that you receive that kind of service from the managers?

The proximity to Piaza Navona and Campo dei Feori was great. Actually discovered Campo dei Feori by accident one morning. What an incredible surprise!

The building is ideally located for walking. We walked EVERYWHERE and loved it.

I would highly recommend Palazzo Olivia and hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gresmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We have stayed at Palazzo Olivia twice and both stays have been excellent! Carla and Stefano were very helpful and the location was exceptional, near Piazza Navona. We walked almost everywhere and this location was perfect for seeing the many streets of Rome. We have stayed with kids both trips and found the amenities perfect for both young children and teenagers. The location allowed us to get food at the local markets, visit local attractions very easy- it was central to getting around Rome. It was also was very quiet , despite being located off a major street, and gave great access to day-to-day Rome. Definitely better than staying in a hotel. We have recommended this property to others and would definitely stay again and again!

  • Liked — Location, amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MMShinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#424 of 1,256 in Rome
240 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Bollo Apartments
Bollo Apartments
#83 of 1,093 in Rome
358 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Mama's Home Rome
Mama's Home Rome
#283 of 3,643 in Rome
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Theatre Hotel
Navona Theatre Hotel
#360 of 3,643 in Rome
95 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Four Rivers Suites
Four Rivers Suites
#296 of 3,643 in Rome
209 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Tower Relais
Navona Tower Relais
#24 of 1,093 in Rome
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Olivia

Property: Palazzo Olivia
Address: Via Dei Leutari 15, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Olivia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Olivia is a newly restored 17th-century building located in the historic centre of Rome, between Campo de' Fiori and Piazza Navona. Palazzo Olivia offers one and two bedroom apartment for short stays. It's the ideal accommodation for a family holiday, romantic vacation or a business trip. If you decide to visit the eternal city, we will offer you the opportunity to experience the typical atmosphere of local life and enjoy the marvels of Rome all around you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Olivia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Olivia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing