We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a really good experience”
Review of Cesare Balbo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cesare Balbo Inn
Ranked #395 of 3,691 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nancy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a really good experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we arrived for our first night, Lucas told us that there was an electricity problem with our room and he asked his employee to bring us to another B&B (which also belongs to him: B&B Roma). The room was very small, the walls were dirty and damaged and it was VERY noisy.
They refused to give us a discount for our first night.

We spent the other nights in Cesare Balbo Inn which is better than B&B Roma. It is also noisy because you can hear the conversation of people in the other rooms but the street is calm.
The breakfast consists in a tea or a coffe, an orange juice and some packed bread and cornetto.
The location is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CESAREBALBOINN, Direttore at Cesare Balbo Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Customer,

by the first, after several weeks of rain in Rome, many places have suffered damages same as us.
In the day of the check in we were unable to give you the room due to a water leaking in the electrical panel ( problem solved quickly with a cost of more then 400 euro to avoid any further inconvenience to any other customer ).
So we have properly reserved a room at the closest available place, with same rate and same category. We are sorry you disliked the other b&b but you can't write a bad review about us if your bad feedback was referred to another guesthouse! You're welcome to go to the tripadvisor review space of the other b&b and drop your bad review.
You are more then welcome to do this because it is a right you have to clarify to all other travellers what was wrong with them.
This would be a proper and polite way to treat your inconvenience ( solved from us in the best way we were able to do ).
Finally we want to undermark you that at the check out you have asked for a compensation of the first night that i was not able to give you straight away because i was not there and my fellow was not allowed to do it.
that's why. as soon as knew your bad feeling, as a manager, i immediately called you yesterday to offer a full refund but you refused...
Do you want to damage us in such way? We are not hostages of Tripadvisor reviews. Tripadvisor it is a very good instrument but it is not the holy bible, please keep it in mind, next time you want to compromise the reputation of someone among us, the hosts and the guesthouses.

So, We have promptly informed Tripadvisor about your improper and incorrect review and we thereby ask to the direction of Tripadvisor to cxl immediately your review.

We are famous in the whole district for our kindness and reliability. And we always made our best to give a 5 stars hotel service, with prices of an hostel ( you paid a net rate to us of e. 45,00 for two people , for a double room with free wi-fi, tv, safe, hairdryer and private bathroom ) and we are keeping successfully on this right way because we love all our customers and our job.

Regards
Luca Loprete,Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    79
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really enjoyed my time at this Inn. First and foremost, it was in a great location. Not only was it walking distance to the Colosseum and other attractions, but it was in a lively neighborhood with lots of shops and great restaurants- but without being "touristy". Also, there was a small market close by so we could pick up water and other snacks. Another plus was that the staff was friendly and accommodating, they went above and beyond by giving us advice on places to go and even bring our (free) breakfast in the afternoon because we woke up late! Another important factor was the value. It is obviously not a four star hotel, but for what we paid it was above and beyond my expectations. Clean, cute, and we didn't have to share a bathroom with other guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great location 10 minute. Walk to major attractions, Luca and Glenn super friendly, full of great advice. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast whilst pre packaged was sufficient with freshly made coffee bought to your room each morning. My family were made to feel extremely comfortable for which I am grateful. I totally recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at Cesare Balbo for 4 nights in October. They checked in to confirm our arrival etc prior to getting there and were really helpful all the time. The hotel is only a few rooms which are clean and basic and all you really need. You can come and go with a key to the main entrance to the building. Breakfast is not great but there are plenty of places nearby to sample the cafe culture anyway and it is just enough with coffee to set you up for the day. The Coliseum is walkable as well as lots of trendy bars and restaurants so location brilliant all round. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed 13 night in the hotel. Really good service and only 10-15 minutes to Collosseo or Trevi Fountain and other historical places of the Eternal City. The staff is very friendly! I would recommend it to everybody who want to visit Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakovFedorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Civitevecchia for a Cruise. The service provided was great and the staff was very helpful in giving us directions to all the attractions we wanted to see. The staff was also very accommodating when our flight was delayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, very close to everything. Glenn and Luca were great hosts, with Glenn providing a lovely breakfast for me and my 2 teenage sons every morning. Both hosts are sincere and friendly and go the extra mile to help. Would stay here again and recommend this a suitable place for anyone if you want to spend most of the day out and about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#427 of 1,261 in Rome
57 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#179 of 3,691 in Rome
311 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,512 of 3,691 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#65 of 3,691 in Rome
257 reviews
Monti
Relais Forus Inn
Relais Forus Inn
#49 of 3,691 in Rome
636 reviews
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#299 of 3,691 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Balbo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Balbo Inn

Property: Cesare Balbo Inn
Address: Via Cesare Balbo 43, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 3,691 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesare Balbo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cesare Balbo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Balbo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing