We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay. best hosting. great location. don't hesitate to book!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE )
Ranked #422 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

spent wonderfull four night at bilbo inn.
before booking we were a bit worried of the other reviews claimed there is a lot of noise at rooms, it was not noisy at all!! i have no idea why other people said it.
this place is the perfect stay in rome. we highly recomend to visit and stay.
luka was very patient and helpfull, helped us to plan our trip.
glen was the best host, gave us wonderfull breakfast at time every morning and gave us a lot of attention.
very claen (they cleaned the rooms every day!)
nice and worm (hot water all day long and room heating at nights)
best location! (closeto everything you wish in rome)
close to the supermarket if you need
a great resturant very near by (la carbonera)- cheep and good!

dont hesitate, come and see for your self:)

Room Tip: all rooms are good. room 1 is near the entrence. room 2 is near the coffee machine....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I Booked Cesare Balbo as a surprise for my husbands 30th birthday after seeing the fantastic reviews on here!

When we arrived Luca was so helpful in using a map to tell us the best places to eat, locations to see and the wifi etc. Hands on friendly approach made us feel so at home straight away in a new city to us!

Breakfast in bed was a bargain and a lovely homely touch and the best way to start your day in Rome! Glenn had our coffees ready each morning and we asked for breakfast at 8.30 each morning :) however one morning we didn't set out alarms and he knocked and when he didn't get a response he left us to sleep :) when we woke up and opened the door out breakfast an fresh coffees wee ready in minutes with a warm good morning from Glenn as usual!

The location is really amazing! We stayed from Sunday to Friday and walked everywhere!!! No need for public transport perfect location would stay again just for this alone however this quaint hotel has everything people who appreciate travel need!

We packed the wrong adapter and when I text Luca asking where I could purchase one from he helpfully offered to lend us one for our trip to save us some money :)

Overall this hotel was the highlight of our trip and we will miss glen and Luca! Thank you for us Hills for everything this week and we hope you enjoy the little bottle of bubbles we left you which you both more than deserve for your hospitality :)

Thank you!! Bobbie and Andy

England

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbieperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Perfect location.... easy walking distance from Termini station but in a non touristy, quiet area ... great eating places and bars nearby. Walking distance of all major sites ... Luca and Glen absolutely fantastic...really warm welcome, very helpful ... made our stay fun. Basic, comfortable and clean rooms. Small and simple breakfast but can't beat a breakfast tray with fresh coffee in bed in the mornings! Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we arrived for our first night, Lucas told us that there was an electricity problem with our room and he asked his employee to bring us to another B&B (which also belongs to him: B&B Roma). The room was very small, the walls were dirty and damaged and it was VERY noisy.
They refused to give us a discount for our first night.

We spent the other nights in Cesare Balbo Inn which is better than B&B Roma. It is also noisy because you can hear the conversation of people in the other rooms but the street is calm.
The breakfast consists in a tea or a coffe, an orange juice and some packed bread and cornetto.
The location is good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CESAREBALBOINN, Direttore at Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE ), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Customer,

by the first, after several weeks of rain in Rome, many places have suffered damages same as us.
In the day of the check in we were unable to give you the room due to a water leaking in the electrical panel ( problem solved quickly with a cost of more then 400 euro to avoid any further inconvenience to any other customer ).
So we have properly reserved a room at the closest available place, with same rate and same category. We are sorry you disliked the other b&b but you can't write a bad review about us if your bad feedback was referred to another guesthouse! You're welcome to go to the tripadvisor review space of the other b&b and drop your bad review.
You are more then welcome to do this because it is a right you have to clarify to all other travellers what was wrong with them.
This would be a proper and polite way to treat your inconvenience ( solved from us in the best way we were able to do ).
Finally we want to undermark you that at the check out you have asked for a compensation of the first night that i was not able to give you straight away because i was not there and my fellow was not allowed to do it.
that's why. as soon as knew your bad feeling, as a manager, i immediately called you yesterday to offer a full refund but you refused...
Do you want to damage us in such way? We are not hostages of Tripadvisor reviews. Tripadvisor it is a very good instrument but it is not the holy bible, please keep it in mind, next time you want to compromise the reputation of someone among us, the hosts and the guesthouses.

So, We have promptly informed Tripadvisor about your improper and incorrect review and we thereby ask to the direction of Tripadvisor to cxl immediately your review.

We are famous in the whole district for our kindness and reliability. And we always made our best to give a 5 stars hotel service, with prices of an hostel ( you paid a net rate to us of e. 45,00 for two people , for a double room with free wi-fi, tv, safe, hairdryer and private bathroom ) and we are keeping successfully on this right way because we love all our customers and our job.

Regards
Luca Loprete,Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I really enjoyed my time at this Inn. First and foremost, it was in a great location. Not only was it walking distance to the Colosseum and other attractions, but it was in a lively neighborhood with lots of shops and great restaurants- but without being "touristy". Also, there was a small market close by so we could pick up water and other snacks. Another plus was that the staff was friendly and accommodating, they went above and beyond by giving us advice on places to go and even bring our (free) breakfast in the afternoon because we woke up late! Another important factor was the value. It is obviously not a four star hotel, but for what we paid it was above and beyond my expectations. Clean, cute, and we didn't have to share a bathroom with other guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location 10 minute. Walk to major attractions, Luca and Glenn super friendly, full of great advice. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast whilst pre packaged was sufficient with freshly made coffee bought to your room each morning. My family were made to feel extremely comfortable for which I am grateful. I totally recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at Cesare Balbo for 4 nights in October. They checked in to confirm our arrival etc prior to getting there and were really helpful all the time. The hotel is only a few rooms which are clean and basic and all you really need. You can come and go with a key to the main entrance to the building. Breakfast is not great but there are plenty of places nearby to sample the cafe culture anyway and it is just enough with coffee to set you up for the day. The Coliseum is walkable as well as lots of trendy bars and restaurants so location brilliant all round. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#660 of 1,271 in Rome
75 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#164 of 1,271 in Rome
425 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#70 of 3,739 in Rome
570 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE )

Address: Via Cesare Balbo 43, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE ) 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grazioso affittacamere situato presso lo storico Rione Monti. Nelle vicinanze si trovano molti luoghi di interesse storico , culturale o legati alla via notturna. Non mancano a pochi metri presso Via Urbana nuovi locali di tendenza e un pò "bohemiennne" . Venite a trovarci per scoprire un angolo di Roma che vi sorprenderà! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cesare Balbo Inn ( AFFITTACAMERE ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Balbo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing