We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cesare Balbo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cesare Balbo Inn
Ranked #337 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved the Balbo Inn. There were 4 of us in a room ( incl 2 teenage boys) and there was plenty of room. The free wifi was a bonus and we never ran out of hot water. Glen is an amazing host with heaps of tips about getting around Rome. Price was great and location is excellent, walking distance from Termini station, Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, basically anywhere you want to go. Very secure building which made us feel very safe. Our room (#1 right at front of inn) was a bit noisy as people came in and out, talking and banging doors so if you are a light sleeper maybe ask for another room. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend to anyone going to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    76
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
79
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in this hostel. We had a brilliant time. It is within easy walking distance of the Colosseum and there are loads of bars and pizzerias nearby. The area is full of narrow interesting streets with some lovely buildings and a daily market. The hotel owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The family room was basic, clean and had free wi fi. I can highly recommend the Cesare Balbo as a fantastic place to stay for a short break in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for one night only, which my husband and I kinda regret. How we wish we stayed few more days. The trip was just a stop-over for the goal of just visiting St. Peter's Cathedral. I didn't expect Rome to be beautiful, specially if you're staying in a nice place like this. Our one day Rome experience couldn't have been better. Thanks to Luca and Glenn, both were really helpful and accommodating. Not just that, the location is really ideal. Walking distance to almost all of the 'tourist' places. I also am surprised how clean the room was. If ever we'll come back to Rome I wouldn't think twice on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyMumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

spent wonderfull four night at bilbo inn.
before booking we were a bit worried of the other reviews claimed there is a lot of noise at rooms, it was not noisy at all!! i have no idea why other people said it.
this place is the perfect stay in rome. we highly recomend to visit and stay.
luka was very patient and helpfull, helped us to plan our trip.
glen was the best host, gave us wonderfull breakfast at time every morning and gave us a lot of attention.
very claen (they cleaned the rooms every day!)
nice and worm (hot water all day long and room heating at nights)
best location! (closeto everything you wish in rome)
close to the supermarket if you need
a great resturant very near by (la carbonera)- cheep and good!

dont hesitate, come and see for your self:)

Room Tip: all rooms are good. room 1 is near the entrence. room 2 is near the coffee machine....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I Booked Cesare Balbo as a surprise for my husbands 30th birthday after seeing the fantastic reviews on here!

When we arrived Luca was so helpful in using a map to tell us the best places to eat, locations to see and the wifi etc. Hands on friendly approach made us feel so at home straight away in a new city to us!

Breakfast in bed was a bargain and a lovely homely touch and the best way to start your day in Rome! Glenn had our coffees ready each morning and we asked for breakfast at 8.30 each morning :) however one morning we didn't set out alarms and he knocked and when he didn't get a response he left us to sleep :) when we woke up and opened the door out breakfast an fresh coffees wee ready in minutes with a warm good morning from Glenn as usual!

The location is really amazing! We stayed from Sunday to Friday and walked everywhere!!! No need for public transport perfect location would stay again just for this alone however this quaint hotel has everything people who appreciate travel need!

We packed the wrong adapter and when I text Luca asking where I could purchase one from he helpfully offered to lend us one for our trip to save us some money :)

Overall this hotel was the highlight of our trip and we will miss glen and Luca! Thank you for us Hills for everything this week and we hope you enjoy the little bottle of bubbles we left you which you both more than deserve for your hospitality :)

Thank you!! Bobbie and Andy

England

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbieperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Perfect location.... easy walking distance from Termini station but in a non touristy, quiet area ... great eating places and bars nearby. Walking distance of all major sites ... Luca and Glen absolutely fantastic...really warm welcome, very helpful ... made our stay fun. Basic, comfortable and clean rooms. Small and simple breakfast but can't beat a breakfast tray with fresh coffee in bed in the mornings! Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we arrived for our first night, Lucas told us that there was an electricity problem with our room and he asked his employee to bring us to another B&B (which also belongs to him: B&B Roma). The room was very small, the walls were dirty and damaged and it was VERY noisy.
They refused to give us a discount for our first night.

We spent the other nights in Cesare Balbo Inn which is better than B&B Roma. It is also noisy because you can hear the conversation of people in the other rooms but the street is calm.
The breakfast consists in a tea or a coffe, an orange juice and some packed bread and cornetto.
The location is good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CESAREBALBOINN, Direttore at Cesare Balbo Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Customer,

by the first, after several weeks of rain in Rome, many places have suffered damages same as us.
In the day of the check in we were unable to give you the room due to a water leaking in the electrical panel ( problem solved quickly with a cost of more then 400 euro to avoid any further inconvenience to any other customer ).
So we have properly reserved a room at the closest available place, with same rate and same category. We are sorry you disliked the other b&b but you can't write a bad review about us if your bad feedback was referred to another guesthouse! You're welcome to go to the tripadvisor review space of the other b&b and drop your bad review.
You are more then welcome to do this because it is a right you have to clarify to all other travellers what was wrong with them.
This would be a proper and polite way to treat your inconvenience ( solved from us in the best way we were able to do ).
Finally we want to undermark you that at the check out you have asked for a compensation of the first night that i was not able to give you straight away because i was not there and my fellow was not allowed to do it.
that's why. as soon as knew your bad feeling, as a manager, i immediately called you yesterday to offer a full refund but you refused...
Do you want to damage us in such way? We are not hostages of Tripadvisor reviews. Tripadvisor it is a very good instrument but it is not the holy bible, please keep it in mind, next time you want to compromise the reputation of someone among us, the hosts and the guesthouses.

So, We have promptly informed Tripadvisor about your improper and incorrect review and we thereby ask to the direction of Tripadvisor to cxl immediately your review.

We are famous in the whole district for our kindness and reliability. And we always made our best to give a 5 stars hotel service, with prices of an hostel ( you paid a net rate to us of e. 45,00 for two people , for a double room with free wi-fi, tv, safe, hairdryer and private bathroom ) and we are keeping successfully on this right way because we love all our customers and our job.

Regards
Luca Loprete,Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
I Capocci
I Capocci
#106 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Monti
La Scalinatella B&B
La Scalinatella B&B
#358 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Monti
Roma Central Guest House
Roma Central Guest House
#179 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Caracalla
Domus Caracalla
#231 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Monti
Quality in Rome
Quality in Rome
#290 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#98 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Balbo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Balbo Inn

Property: Cesare Balbo Inn
Address: Via Cesare Balbo 43, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesare Balbo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cesare Balbo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Balbo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing