We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosaic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mosaic Hostel
Ranked #52 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location & clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

In a very handy to location to access sites on foot. Clean rooms, no lock out, only thing is breakfast is a bit average.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    112
    49
    16
    5
See reviews for
17
34
99
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

A well located hostel short walk to train station and sites in Rome within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights last April.
Great location - the hostel is located a short walking distance from the central station (Termini) and you can also reach on foot to all of the main attractions.
Refurbished and comfortable rooms - 4 people in a room with shower and bathroom. Wireless internet (in reception area) and a nice breakfast.

Excellent staff extremely helpful with any questions and gives excellent recommendations.

The only downside - a relatively small common area making it difficult to meet other travelers (whoever it is important to him) - beyond that, great hostel - recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hostel is awesome. A lot nicer than a few of the hotels I've been to. It is located just a short walk away from the central train station so if you are backpacking or Rome is one of the many stops on your trip it is extremely easy to see the city and then find your way back to the station. The staff was extremely helpful and provided information for sites, museums, and also places to go and eat. They even suggested a restaurant that gave us a 10% discount on our meal! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessacanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a small hostel located close to Termini station. As we had never visited Rome before, I wasn't sure what to expect as I had read that the area around Termini station is sketchy. It's true that it isn't postcard Rome, but I never felt unsafe. If you want the postcard Rome, I'm not sure why you would be looking at hostels anyway. And this is a hostel, NOT a hotel. As a hostel, it's perfectly adequate: clean, modern, free breakfast, very helpful staff, a small common room, free wi-fi, shared washroom (although I think there are rooms with ensuite). My recommendation would be to pay the extra for the ensuite if you have the option, as it was just a single washroom/shower for the floor - made mornings annoying. I've uploaded some photos so you can judge for yourself, but I would have no problem staying here again and would recommend it to others. And for those who say that it's too far from the tourist attractions to walk - what are you doing backpacking? We had no problem. But if you do want to take the bus, luckily you are close to Termini.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Reasons why The Mosaic Hostel is spectacular:
- Very Friendly Staff
- Gave us directions to local landmarks, restaurants, bars
- Answered my language questions
- Gave us tips on how to get back to the Airport
- Great Location
- 5 minute walk to Termini Station
- 5 minute walk to other Metro spots
- 5 minute walk to University area bars
- 1 minute walk to great pizza and wine
- Clean Rooms
- My brother and I shared a 2 bed private. The beds were small, but super comfortable. I'm not one for sleeping when I'm on vacation, but I slept 8-10 hours each night!
- The shower was clean and the water was hot!
- Free Breakfast
- Free Wifi

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I am 33-years-old and thought I was too old for a hostel but was pleased to see there were a whole range of people staying there.

The hostel was cheap, very clean and friendly staff who were available to help 24-hours a day and it is very secure.

Next time I go to Rome I will stay here again, and next time I will bring my wife!!!

Room Tip: Get one with an en-suite bathroom - either way I was impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#34 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mosaic Central
Mosaic Central
#49 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#42 of 1,067 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic Hostel

Property: Mosaic Hostel
Address: Via Cernaia 39B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,067 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Mosaic Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Mosaic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing